We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mom and Pop type Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2007

My son and I stayed at this lovely little motel on one of our stops during our New England fall foilage trip. I had booked this motel about a week in advance, because Columbus Day weekend is apparently a busy time in Maine due to the "Leaf Peepers". This motel was available, affordable, and was about the only place that would allow us to stay for one night only, on a Saturday night.

The property consists of a "Motel" portion which had about 5 or 6 rooms, and the housekeeping cottages which seem to be very popular in this area. We stayed in one of the motel rooms. Admittedly, the outside of the motel looks slightly old and a bit run down, but you can tell they take pains to keep it up as best they can and keep it clean. If you are looking for a super elegant, upscale place to stay, this probably isn't the place for you. I could really care less about modern decor and frou-frou - I was looking for a decent and reasonable place to stay, and I got it :)

I wasn't sure what to expect from our room, and I was pleasantly surprised. The furnishings and decor were older, but the room was clean and spacious. I actually thought the room had a lot of character compared to other motel rooms I've stayed in. The double beds were comfortable with clean-smelling sheets, and the bathroom was actually pretty large. There was not a full bath, just a shower stall.

The office staff was the gentleman who owns the motel, who was very friendly and helpful. He was from NJ, like I, and it was nice to talk to someone from home. He laughed when I asked how much it cost to get on the beach - apparently paying for beaches is a NJ thing that I did not even realize.

He directed me to a casual dining seafood restaurant nearby called "The Bull and Claw", which was amazing! I had a surf and turf dinner for only $25!!!

Our stay at Kennebunk Gallery Motel was great. I am a female who was traveling alone with my son, and my first concern is always safety. There were no worries at all in that department, I actually did not hear a peep from any other guests at the hotel. I definitely recommend this motel if you are looking for something decent and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Kramberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2006

When looking for a family-friendly, clean, reasonably-priced place to stay in Kennebunk, look no further than the Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages. Innkeepers Katherine and John Toth treat each guest as family and offer fairly large cabin accommodations at prices you would usually pay for a basic hotel room. Our cabin, which rented for about $100 including all taxes, had a living room with fold out sofa and kitchenette area (stocked with dishes and utensils), a separate bedroom with a queen size bed, and a bathroom with a separate shower stall and a commode stall. There was cable TV, AC in the living room, and the innkeepers provided us with a fan to circulate the cool air around the entire cottage. The grounds include a large pool, and one can use a beach parking pass for a refundable $10 deposit.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jmkraemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank K2Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eli1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennebunkcottages, Owner at Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
3.9 mi away
Franciscan Guest House
Franciscan Guest House
#8 of 8 in Kennebunk
156 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
4.9 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#5 of 8 in Kennebunk
288 reviews
4.6 mi away
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
4.3 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages

Address: 65 York St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7153
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range: £44 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunk Gallery Motel And Cottages Hotel Kennebunk
Kennebunk Gallery Hotel
Kennebunk Gallery Motel And Cottages Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing