We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Ritz, but not a dump either”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family had a nearly free stay at a posh resort in Wells Beach fall through at the last minute(literally the day before we were traveling), so I quickly looked for a cheap hotel. Most were pretty scary to look at the reviews( a turd in the toilet upon arrival, bedbugs...), so I was concerned what this would be like at $58 per night. We arrived and the appearance of the outside was nice enough and when we entered our room, it was dated, but clean and quite comfortable. I would say the room is average to slightly under for overall size, with a smaller than usual but adequate bathroom. A word of caution on the bathrooms the water comes out scalding hot. It is easily adjusted to perfect temperature, but if you travel and are used to lukewarm hotel water be prepared and stay outside until you adjust it to your liking. The TV was small and old and not a flat screen, but it works fine and we weren't there to watch TV except just before bed. There is a hump in the floor where it has settled, but it did not bother us at all. The beds and pillows are nice and comfortable. Outside there is a wooden swing set with a slide, two swings, and a pair of rings. My almost 3 year old son loved to slide down the slide which was fast and he would land on his feet and pitch forward so I squatted there and caught him after each slide which made him laugh. There is also a pool, however, it is not heated and the days we were there it was not warm enough for us to go in further than knee deep. It was a much nicer pool and pool area than I expected. The hotel also has free Wifi. They ask you upfront how many computers you have because each device needs a separate access code. I should have gotten a second one for my laptop, but I thought I could use my iphone and laptop on the same code. Not a big deal in my book. Oh, and there is a fridge in the room, and grills and picnic tables out back of each of the cabins, although we did not use either. A great value and a great clean safe hotel for families.

Pros: Price, Pool, Comfort, Atmosphere
Cons: Dated TV, Bump in the floor

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tibetanmastiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here at the end of the season which was very nice. The cottages are small and the shower smaller, but for a couple on a little getaway this can't be beat! Very nice grounds with a grill to BBQ and a pool for swimming. For the price it is one of the nicest places in the area, and with a cottage there are no noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed there 2 nights. We wanted to be near Kennebunk. This was a perfect location – near restaurants, shops and highways. We initially had a small problem with the cottage, however, it was rectified immediately. Cottage was very nice – 2 bedrooms, kitchen and small livingroom area with a parking spot right outside our deck door. We ate at Maine Diner down the road - scrumptious crabcakes and pumpkin cake.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were on our way to Portland and decided to stay in the cottages for a few days. We were given a 2 bed room cottage that had a kitchen with a sink, stove, fridge and microwave. There was also a closed in veranda and bbq that we can use. Overall the place was clean and comfortable. The price was great at $58 a night . It is in a convenient location only 1/2 hour for portland or 1 1/2 from Boston. Perfect for a couple with kids as the one room has a queen bed and the other has 2 double beds for the kids. There is a pool that you can use but we did not go in so.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jstewart18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

It is our 10th year staying at kennebunk cottages and as always we had a wonderful stay. The property is well kept and it is nice to have the pool and a BBQ . Kathy and John are always warm and welcoming the house suits our big group and it is like coming home.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank tinashulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent two nights here and was pleasantly surprised by how large our cabin was as we choose the smallest of them. Much more than we thought and the property is so relaxing a quiet. No complaints as the cabin was clean, had a lot of features: fridge, hotplate, microwave, couch, coffee table, table and chairs and a nice sliding door and deck overlooking the pool which was very clean and refreshing. The proprietors were very nice and friendly and truly seemed to care that our stay was a pleasant one--and it was. In a very rich area--this is a gem of a place to stay on a budget!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed in a 2-bedroom cottage (number one) on a Tuesday night in July and we loved it. We weren't sure what we were getting into with the mixed reviews, but were pleasantly surprised. I called ahead to inform that we would be arriving late, and they left the room key on the office door for me. The cottage was quaint, charming, clean, and inviting. It is perfect for two couples, we enjoyed sitting around the living room late into the evening but then had two separate rooms to retire to. It was a chilly night so the air conditioning complaints of some previous reviews didn't come into play, but it seemed to me that the window unit in the living room would be ample to cool the entire cottage. We had every window open and were perfectly comfortable, both bedrooms had ceiling fans. Everyone slept well, and in the morning the shower was great. I also loved the fact that the bathroom had a loud, powerful ceiling blower fan (something most modern hotels don't seem to have anymore). Didn't use any of the kitchen stuff, but there was a microwave and small fridge that would come in handy had we stayed longer.
In the morning we discovered how convenient to town the place is (about a mile or less) when two of us made a coffee run while the other two were still getting ready. Coming in from the south late at night the road seemed very desolate, but just to the north is the cute little downtown of Kennebunk.
We all agreed that we would happily stay here again if we're ever back up. Can't speak on any of the other cottages or the motel part, but cottage number one is awesome!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RutherfordtheBrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
3.9 mi away
Franciscan Guest House
Franciscan Guest House
#8 of 8 in Kennebunk
150 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
3.7 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
4.9 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
206 reviews
4.6 mi away
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages

Address: 65 York St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7153
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range: £43 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunk Gallery Motel And Cottages Hotel Kennebunk
Kennebunk Gallery Hotel
Kennebunk Gallery Motel And Cottages Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing