We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a Grand Hotel!”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
“Truly a Grand Hotel!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great location right downtown. Everything is within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The staff was amazingly helpful and kind. They supply free bikes for you take around at first come first serve. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peeriyamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Peeriyamay,
Thank you for the kind words about our staff. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will return to visit again soon.
Sincerely,
The Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    48
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
236
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Complimentary chocolates on arrival - always a good start. Our room was a very good size with a lovely en-suite. The hotel was in easy walking distance of the shops, amenities and boat trips. It was our favourite hotel of 8 we stayed in during our holiday in New England.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Mark C,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Isn't it great that once your car is parked you are able to walk everywhere. We are within a few steps to great shopping and restaurants, which makes it very convenient to explore Kennebunk and Kennebunkport. We hope that the next time you decide to travel across the pond that you will consider staying with us again!
We look forward to see you again.
Sincerely,
The Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

The Grand is located right in downtown Kennebunk which is really nice because downtown is right outside of your door. The room was clean and decorated very well. The staff couldn't have been kinder. They greeted us with nice box of chocolates to help celebrate our anniversary and sent us off with a bag of goodies before we got on the road. We will definitely be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliePLakeGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We came to Kennebunkport for a wedding and booked 3 rooms with family members. We all got 3rd floor king suites (305, 306 & 308). Many of the other wedding guests decided to stay on the water but we wanted to be in town. This hotel was absolutely perfect for our interests. We loved being within walking distance of EVERYTHING. No parking issues, no stress of getting around. We are runners so we were able to do a 4-6 mile run each day down to Beach Ave and around back to Western Ave or an out and back. If you're runners you will LOVE the run. The hotel had cruiser bikes that we didn't get a chance to ride but friends did and reallye enjoyed touring the neighborhoods and exploring the other areas (they told us they did walk some hills). I would, without a doubt, come back here if I didn't have my kids. My only complaint was that we paid the same rate in 305 as my family members did for 306 & 308. I would HIGHLY suggest trying for 306 - it is a huge room with double closets and plenty of space. Room 308 (and I saw 307 as it was getting cleaned) were equally as spacious but not as spacious as 306. Our room was TINY. It was a bit of a disappointment, but not one that would deter us. The soaps, showers, heated floors, etc. were excellent quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLCmom2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel was in a great location. We were able to walk everywhere but they even had bikes you could borrow. The hotel was also super clean and very nicely decorated. The staff was super nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

For our first Maine/Kennebunk experience, we could not be more delighted with our choice of the Grand Hotel. What a perfect spot for use as a base for a 4 day stay. You are spoiled by the beauty of the area and all Kennebunkport has to offer during daily excursions and continue being spoiled when returning to the Grand. It is the perfect location with easy walks to the village for restaurant and shops or just gawking at the beauty of the area. In addition to accommodations being a great value, the staff at the Grand add to the experience. Providing suggestions and options for sight seeing, food, shopping and the overall southern coastal Maine experience were invaluable. You don't get that everywhere and based on our experience, the Grand will be the spot we come to when we schedule our next visit. In addition, our daughter wanted to provide us with an early anniversary gift during our stay. Marlene was instrumental in helping the daughter arrange the surprise we discovered when returning to our room. Thank you for a great experience!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THNC711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Clean, comfortable, good value, great service and a wonderful location (so many things very easily walkable) made this the best birthday weekend ever. There was a lot of attention to detail and it shows. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
4.4 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0.0 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,654 reviews
3.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 1 Chase Hill Rd, Lower Village, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7666
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Kennebunkport Resort Collection of luxury Kennebunkport accommodations, the Grand Hotel sits prominently on Chase Hill, with some guestrooms offering views of the Kennebunk River and bustling Dock Square. Featuring classic New England architecture and elegantly appointed rooms, the Grand Hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy your Kennebunkport, Maine vacation. With an onsite art gallery, you can indulge yourself in artistic delights. Our boutique hotel on the edge of Kennebunkport has something for everyone! Steps away from the Grand, you'll find exceptional restaurants, diverse art galleries, and charming boutiques. Kennebunkport also offers several beautiful beaches, perfect for soaking up some rays, shell seeking or a family day at the beach. Paddle a kayak and check out the River, or explore Maine's coast. Hop on a bike or scooter and explore Kennebunkport's winding back roads, or enjoy one of our scenic tours on a classic schooner, lobster boat or whale watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing