We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven CT
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very clean”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Clean, smells great....like a spa. Good quality linens, Spacious well designed rooms, nice balcony overlooking downtown/art gallery. Bag of goodies at checkout. No negatives that I can see. There are really no services to speak of although the front desk person was very helpful. Everything you could possibly want is right outside the door, very short walk to harbor .

Room Tip: The Grand rooms are spacious and have a nice balcony with seating. The other rooms seem to have tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snodgrass999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Snodgrass999,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and the hotel. Being within walking distance to everything is wonderful. You are right in the heart of everything when you stay at the Grand Hotel with the feel of being in a quiet residential neighborhood. I hope that the next time you are in the area you will come back to stay with us.
Sincerely,
Mindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    48
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
236
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

If your're thinking of visiting Kennebunkport and want to stay in a reasonably priced boutique hotel, look no father. The Grand is located within easy reach of everything: restaurants, the harbor, shops. In addition, the property is new, spotless and the staff is amazingly attentive. The hotel manager Mindy even took a personal interest in our satisfaction. I felt like royalty.

Room Tip: There is no pool, but who cares.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paladin169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Paladin169,
Thank you for your great review! I am so trilled that you enjoyed your stay. Our housekeeping team takes great pride in their work and I will be sure to share your kind words with them. Thank you for staying with us again and I hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Mindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked this trip on living social. I was so very surprised when I arrived to discover this brand new hotel with a very attractive facade. When I approached the front desk I was greeted with a warm hello. The clerk offered me a coupon for two drinks at an establishment in town; a very short walk away. The coupon had no expiration date on it so I can use it on a second visit if I choose. The room was warm and very comfortable. The bed was plush and the bed linens had a sweet scent to them. A 42 inch flat scene was easy to view from the bed or chair in the room. Instead of a window in the room they had a 6 foot sliding door; thus allowing plenty of fresh air into the room. The bathroom was large and the shower was a small room in size. In the morning a bag with orange juice and a muffin awaited . When I checked out; I was given another bag with 2 waters and 2 chocolate chip cookies for the journey home.

Room Tip: i liked 307 great shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romangladiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you Romangladiator for such a great review! Our bedding is wonderful, isn't it? I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and are already thinking about your next trip. The promotion that we offered through Living Social was truly a great value. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of it.
I hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Mindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadyville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wonderful hotel, walking distance to great little shops and restaurants. They thought of everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. They put little gift bags each morning at your doorstep with muffins and juice and also a gift bag when leaving of cookies and bottled water. The little extras are wonderful.

Room Tip: Front side rooms have a view otherwise looking at parking lot behind and back of businesses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Dawn L,

Thank you for writing a great review! We take pride in being able to offer little extra touches like the cookies and water for your trip home. We are now offering room service to order breakfast from HB Provisions across the street. Our guests can call and order and they bring it right over. It is a great service that we are excited to offer.

I hope that you will come back and stay with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
Mindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in May for 2 nights - room 201, second floor overlooking the street. Room was very comfortable, clean and appealing.
Breakfast is bun and drink of juice in a bag left outside your room each morning. Its far better to step immediately across the street to the deli and take breakfast there. There are also a couple of other places in town to find breakfast too.
We used the hotel bicycles to explore the area. If you like to cycle then bring your own bikes and take time to really explore the area, it's worth it.
Best restaurant we found was David's (owned by the same group) You can't book, which is a pain, but they have a waiting system or you may get in at the bar.
Only annoying thing was the ice maker outside room 201, its makes a loud running water sound during the night, as well as ice making noises. Perhaps there's a better spot to put it, or swap it for a quiet one!
Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay and found the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear badgb21,
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. The bikes are a great added amenity. We offer them on a first come first served basis. They are beach cruisers and they do not have gears but they are not intended for long distances or for mountain biking. If you are an avid biker than bringing your own bike or renting one from a local shop might be more of what you are looking for. If you are looking to cruise around town then our bikes should work out for you.
Thank you for staying with us. I hope you will join us again soon.
Sincerely,
Mindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lovely small hotel in Kennebunk, Me. Walk across bridge into Kennebunkport. Many eating places in walking distance. Hotel room fairly small, but we didn't spend lots of time there other than for sleep. Only draw back we found was no refrigerator. Large ice machine available to keep our stuff cold. K cup coffee machine in room and juice and muffins delivered to room each of 3 mornings

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Lynda P,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! We have happy to offer complimentary in room coffee and teas, and I am also happy that you were able to enjoy it. As of the first of the month we are now able to offer room service though a partnership with HB Provisions across the street. You give them a call to order and we will bring it up to you. It gives us the opportunity to offer our guests more variety than muffins and juice.
I hope the next time you are in the area you will consider us your home away from home.
Sincerely,
Mindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, gorgeous decor and beautiful colors. All the persons at the hotel were very helpful and kind. So clean and comfortable. Great location. It was thru Living Social that I saw the hotel and purchased the deal. It was a great value, I hope they do it again. We prefer to go off season and during the week,(not as crowded) makes it easier to enjoy the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Michelle T,
I am happy that you were able to enjoy our hotel with the Living Social promotion. It was a great promotion and we were happy to offer our rooms to our guests for such a great price. You are right, the off season is a great time to enjoy Kennebunk and Kennebunkport. Even though we love peak season and all of the hustle and bustle of the Summer time, a lot of our guests really enjoy coming in the off season. I hope that you will stop by and stay with us again soon.
Sincerely,
Mindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
4.4 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0.0 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,654 reviews
3.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 1 Chase Hill Rd, Lower Village, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7666
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Kennebunkport Resort Collection of luxury Kennebunkport accommodations, the Grand Hotel sits prominently on Chase Hill, with some guestrooms offering views of the Kennebunk River and bustling Dock Square. Featuring classic New England architecture and elegantly appointed rooms, the Grand Hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy your Kennebunkport, Maine vacation. With an onsite art gallery, you can indulge yourself in artistic delights. Our boutique hotel on the edge of Kennebunkport has something for everyone! Steps away from the Grand, you'll find exceptional restaurants, diverse art galleries, and charming boutiques. Kennebunkport also offers several beautiful beaches, perfect for soaking up some rays, shell seeking or a family day at the beach. Paddle a kayak and check out the River, or explore Maine's coast. Hop on a bike or scooter and explore Kennebunkport's winding back roads, or enjoy one of our scenic tours on a classic schooner, lobster boat or whale watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing