We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place Right on the Water”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach House
Ranked #6 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights and I echo fellow reviewers who said the only bad thing was having to leave. My room was comfortable, I enjoyed walking to the beach each morning, the complimentary bikes were useful for a quick jaunt into town, the staff was welcoming, and the breakfast buffet was simple, wholesome and delicious. The wine and cheese hour and the coffee that was available all day were very nice touches. I stayed mid-week during June so it was tranquil and calm. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here with my friend during our roadtrip through New England. We absolutely loved this place. It was right on the water and a short drive or bike ride to Kennebunkport and a swimming beach. Very quaint, but a good option to a B&B as you have your own bathroom in your room. The staff were extremely helpful and kind. We particularly liked the brandy and port with cheese and crackers in the afternoon. We would sit on the porch and watch the water while having our snack. If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing getaway in Maine, I highly recommend visiting Kennebunk and staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tinakris220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is my second summer spending the weekend at The Beach House Inn and my boyfriend and I decided we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

We arrived on a Saturday night just in team for the wine, cheese and a sunset on the porch ! When I had made the reservation the confirmation letter suggested to make a reservation at Stripers for dinner, I'm easily persuaded so I did. (the review isn't about Stripers but if it were, I'd say go for drinks and the view.. don't bother spending the money on the food. Big bucks for moderate food and service. The hostess told us to pick a table and the waiter told me "good work!" When I finished my meal) the front desk staff at BHI was nice enough to call and arrange to have a cab pick us up and called up to the room to confirm the arrival of the cab.


The breakfast at the BHI is AWESOME.. You can't beat it. You can make your own waffles, there's fresh muffins, juice etc. and everyone that was working in the kitchen was exceptionally nice as well.


After we got back from dinner at Tia's we decided to go sit out by the firepit and we met a really nice couple from Virgina! The woman whose family was staying in the cottage kept complaining we were too loud but if you ask me between her yelling at us and banging on her window for us to be quiet I think she was making more noise. It was 11 pm and we weren't being rowdy, just having conversation. Anyways, my boyfriend and his brother had to move the fire pit because of her.


You can't fault the Inn because they had a crabby guest.. This is the only place to stay when visiting Kennebunk!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kbrunini32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We made the voyage up to Maine in the search of a great lobster dinner. We came with no reservations and no plans. Using the Hotel Tonight app we found The Beach House listed. We booked the room at what seems to be a very appropriate rate. When we had a delayed flight and had the thought we would not make the check-in hours we called and left a voicemail, which was promptly returned and quelled our concerns. Check in was quick and easy, and it was great to be led to the room and given restaurant recommendations. Our room was on a corner and had the most spectacular view. We quickly changed and headed to dinner, which was fantastic! We enjoyed the drive back and then relaxed in our room and about the property while enjoying the sight of the Supermoon. It was a beautiful evening and we slept with the windows open and a refreshing sea breeze.

We were awoken the next morning by a number of ducks playing in the bay, how wonderful. We got ready and headed down to the complimentary breakfast. While the room it was in was small the guests were all accommodating and we did enjoy a nice breakfast. Checkout was just as easy and we pledged to come back.

As for the room, very nice for the building it's in. The bed, bedding and pillows were very comfortable and we are hard to please. The bathroom was spacious enough and everything was functional. We loved our room and enjoyed looking over the courtyard and people watching on Beach Ave.

I will say that if you are looking for super luxe this isn't the place. If you are looking for a very charming B&B with an amazing atmosphere, with a boutique feel, and views that rival the best in the world... book your room now, and don't think twice.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the 3rd floor on the front corner, I believe it was 312. Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank shevais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It was a very crowded Saturday the last weekend in June, but we found a lovely room at the Beach House. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch having cheese and port wine at 5:00 pm, provided by the staff.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank h-burg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to take my sister on a surprise night away in the Kennebunkport area because its one of those places that's pretty close to perfect. We went June 7th for one night. We decided on the Beach House Inn and we were pleasantly surprised how nice the inn is! The outside is fine but the interior is beautiful! And the ocean is directly across the street. If location is high on your priority list then you'll love this property! Room was spotless and cozy. Service was great along with a nice continental breakfast on the front porch watching the waves from the ocean. Also a fact not known to us but were pleasantly surprised to find out is that this property is a sister property of the White Barn Inn! Enough said there! We definitely recommend the Beach House Inn and will be back someday.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We are repeat customers. Our third time. Love the place. Love room 201 and the common areas are wonderful with their panoramic views of the rocky coast and the nearness to the sounds and views of the ocean. Unbeatable. 24 hour coffee and tea, cookies in the afternoon and brandy and port and cheese from 4:30 to 6:00 pm. Truly a great venue. During our two previous stays the staff and breakfast were wonderful, dedicated hospitality people, friendly, knowledgable and ready to help. This year some staff weren't up to Beach House standards but Ruby showed up on Friday and all was put back in order. Thanks Ruby...good luck in the donut business but don't give up on hospitality....you are the best.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
1.1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
529 reviews
1.2 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
291 reviews
1 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
678 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,804 reviews
3.6 mi away
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: 211 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7556
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: £88 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel Kennebunk
The Beach House Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing