We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Voted best by locals???”
Review of Bartley's Dockside Dining - CLOSED

Bartley's Dockside Dining
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Kennebunk's longest licensed restaurantwith the same family ownership . . . .100 seat YEAR ROUND restaurantemploying local people, 37 years 3 generations
Level Contributor
167 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Voted best by locals???”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The sign outdoors boast "voted best lobster rolls by locals". I have to wonder what the crowing is about. Honestly. It was recommended by a local so we stopped in expecting something special. The place itself is forlorn looking. Unkept. In need of some tidying, cleaning and straightening. It looked like the beaten stepchild

Our waiter was very friendly but that enthusiasm could not make up for the long wait and more disappointing, an expensive lobster roll that was tasteless. I can say is the clam chowder was delicious, but even our other entree, a Reuben , was less than desirable. The cheese wasn't melted and the bread wasn't rye. It was big though!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Davidson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    53
    22
    31
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Lobster Bisque & Lobster Rolls”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Don't bother going anywhere else for lobster bisque or lobster rolls or haddock. And wash it all down with the delicious homemade blueberry pie. This place is fantastic, locally owned and operated by the charming and effusive Mrs. Bartley. We were cared for by lovely Teresa who said "I promise you're going to love everything" and she was absolutely right. Sit outside in the warm kennebunkport sunshine and enjoy the views while you enjoy the fresh, beautifully prepared food. Simple, casual and delicious. We will be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great meal , great location, great service.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Great Maine experience. We sat on the patio with our dog and had the BEST waitress ever - Theresa! The food was great and the service was unbeatable. It was nice to be able to have our pup. Totally recommend this perfectly located business. Make sure Theresa is your waitress to complete the perfect dining experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ASHLEY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So many ways to enjoy lobster”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Dad said the lobster roll was one of the best he's had. Mom loved the lazy man's lobster... served out of the shell with a choice of potatoes and vegetable. I liked the lobster stew that had almost a whole lobster in sherry and butter. Delicious. Service from Steven was friendly and attentive. Atmosphere was pleasant.

Helpful?
2 Thank PCHDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Pie in Town!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My family and I had a great meal during our brief stay in Kennebunkport! Juli was an awesome waitress and was great with our two small children. We will definitely come back the next time we are in town!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mckinl356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KportMainer, General Manager at Bartley's Dockside Dining, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear mckinl356:

Thank you for your kind review! We enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you next year!

Have a great summer!

Sincerely,

Brian Bartley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bartley's Dockside Dining also viewed

 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing