We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location , below average rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Franciscan Guest House
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good location , below average rooms.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We just returned home from a weekend stay at the Franciscan guesthouse. The location is great it is just a 15 min walk in to town where the shops are a 15 minute walk to the beach. The grounds are very nice with paths that take you around to different statues or out to the river, it is a very peaceful place. The rooms are not so great though. They are just like staying in an old dorm room. Wood paneling on all the walls , small. Tv and old mattresses. The rooms were clean though I was freaked out when I got out of the car by the room and noticed rat traps around the building. Breakfast was o.k nothing special. It cost us $170 a night for a room with a queen bed which was too expensive for the accommodations. If they spent some money on renovations to update the rooms they would have a special place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    58
    22
    11
    12
See reviews for
40
50
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

While the property is prime location, within walking distance to town and the beaches, the Franciscan Guest House has a lot to be desired. You feel like you are living in a dorm room all over again, but this time the rooms are musty, outdated, and in desperate need of new mattresses. I was aware that this was not a jaw dropping resort nor was it going to have the frills of a hotel. Parking is poor at the guest house, and with three little kids in tow, trying to park and carry in luggage was quite a chore. The continental breakfast is nothing to rave about. You are better off bringing cold cereal for your room.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dream530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kennebunk hotels

Greenfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I can't believe the good reviews this place has received. I stayed there June, 2012 and I could barely breath the room was so musty. This was on the second floor of the main house. I asked the worker to come smell my room and she said she couldn't smell anything as she was used to working there. She said they had a lot of rain and a leaky roof. Evidently they are not doing necessary maintenance and repairs. They changed my room and the new room was barely any better. The place is run down and depressing. I was totally skeeved out. I would rather stay home anyday than stay there. To be fair I will say the cook made some excellent soups. That's about the only good part.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jean480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My friend and I stayed last week at the Franciscn Retreat House the place was clean and the Lithuanian culture of wonderful foods was just the best. The staff was helpful and the food they made was all home made like back in time with wonderful breads, and pastries. If you sign up for dinner the food extends the whole table of wonderful choices to make. It is so serene and your soul feels restored. The saltwater pool is divine.Very nice and inexpensive includes the continental breakfast which is great. I am telling all my friends to experience it. I can't wait to go there again. Jeannie R.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

It was pure serendipity to come upon the Franciscan Guest House. Incredible history of the Monastery , it's beautiful sculptures, and shrines. Lithuanian culture abounds in food, displays and language. Truly serene, welcoming, restful. But also with all that Kennebunk and Kennebunkport has to offer within walking distance or a short drive. The ocean and beaches are magnificent. The local seafood is amazing. The Bush ocean estate is a 5 minute drive.
The rooms are large, modestly decorated, very clean, and pleasant. Views of the estate grounds are everywhere . The walking paths through the monastery grounds, old forest to a point overlooking Kennebunk are at once inspiring and calming. i will return with more times family and friends.

Room Tip: rooms facing the Monastery are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Very nice, inexpensive. Includes continental breakfast. Close to Kennebunk beach (about a. Half a mile). Also, close to downtown. The guest house has beautiful grounds including a salt water pool. Downside: no elevator to second floor, you make your own bed, get sheets etc. on first floor, also drop used towels and get clean ones.

All in all it was great for the price and location.

Room Tip: Room on first floor at the guest house. They have several cottages but i do not know much about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLGArlingtonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I just returned after a one night visit on a whim from an Internet search. The room was spartan and dated, but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and had a tub for a hot bath at the end of the day! The grounds are beautiful and serene. The people were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was homemade, generous, and delicious. It is very convenient to the beach and downtown. The beach parking pass was nice, only asked for a $5 donation. They also ask for a $3 donation for the hot foods at breakfast. We were happy to pay. The whole experience was refreshing. We have a great memory of our time in Kennebunk. We would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main guest house. It was quiet when we were there. I would like to try one of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,654 reviews
3.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Guest House

Property: Franciscan Guest House
Address: 26 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable option for the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area. The hotel offers simple, plain, comfortable guest rooms for young families, seniors and anyone on a budget. Located next to the beautiful St. Anthony's Monastery Grounds with 44 acres of trees, rolling lawns, picnic tables, riverside walking path, shrines and wildlife. Only 15 minute walk to the beach. Or if you wish to drive, parking permits are available for a small fee. The continental buffet included with your room, with an upgrade to hot breakfast available for a small fee. Amenities include outdoor saltwater pool, free parking, A/C's, mini-refrigerator in all rooms. Supper by our Lithuanian cooks available in peak season. The hotel is a little oasis of peace and tranquility between Docks Square and the Kennebunk beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Franciscan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franciscan Guest House Hotel Kennebunk
Franciscan Hotel Kennebunk
Franciscan Guest House Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing