We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bufflehead Cove Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Ever!”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We just came back from two amazing nights at Bufflehead Cove Inn. Everything was absolutely perfect - the house and grounds were beautiful, our room (we stayed in the Cove Room) was so comfortable, and the breakfasts and afternoon wine and cheese were delicious!! Erin was so helpful with everything - he gave us great recommendations for dinner and made reservations for us, set us up with bikes so we could go on a bike ride, offered us a flashlight for our walk back from dinner, etc.... just little details that make the difference between a good visit and a GREAT visit. A lot of the other guests we talked to were on their fifth, sixth, and seventh stays at Bufflehead Cove Inn - once you go you can't wait to go back!!! I could gush on and on, but I'll just say STAY HERE!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kab927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
373
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We reserved a room at the Bufflehead Cove Inn many months in advance after reading the glowing reviews on this site and we couldn't have been happier with our choice! We stayed in the River Room, which was the perfect size for us, and included a nice size balcony which overlooked the Kennebunk River. It was such a peaceful setting and truly made us relax. Each morning Harriet (the owner) and her family had a delicious and HUGE breakfast waiting for us. My husband follows a carb free diet and they were great at accommodating this. Now that we are back home, we actually try and recreate their special breakfasts on a Saturday or Sunday to help bring us back to the time we spent at Bufflehead Cove. It was our first time staying in Kennebunkport and Harriet, the owner, and her son Aaron were so helpful in giving us suggestions for great places to eat, day trips, beaches etc; this was great as it helped to take a lot of the guess work out of where to go. They are also just lovely people- great to chat with, and so laid back. The Inn itself is quite small, and extremely cozy which we loved. Even though it is small, it was never noisy and you never felt like you were on top of any of the other guests. In relation to the center of town, it is about a mile walk, and we would often leave our car at the Inn and walk in to avoid having to find a parking space, and enjoying the outdoors too! We live in a city, so we are used to walking everywhere. We can't say enough great things about this Inn, we have been raving to our friends and family about it since we got back, and recommend anyone who is planning a trip to Kennebunkport to stay at the Bufflehead Cove Inn. We can't wait to return! Thanks for a terrific vacation!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newjerseytraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This was our first B & B experience and what a perfect introduction. From the minute we got out of the car. Our first impression was WOW and the that sums up the experience. Our host was perfect, our room ( the river room) was idyllic, our breakfast was delicious. I would recommend Bufflehead Cove to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsonwaterfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We feel like Harriet and Erin are old friends now. The beds are so comfortable that I checked to see what name brand their pillows were and actually ordered some when I got home for our bed. The breakfasts are as delicious and varied as you could imagine, and the friendliness, attententiveness to detail and the charm are unmatched. We can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PricklyPear088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We have stayed at bufflehead 5 times in the last 6 years and continue to be very impressed. The location is secluded along the river just outside downtown Kennebunkport, the rooms are nicely appointed, the proprietors are wonderful hosts, the breakfasts are always outstanding, and its a very good value compared to b and b's of similar quality/reputation. Its a high end experience but completely un-stuffy.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quesyrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greendale, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2011

What an unbelievable find this inn was... we loved every last thing, from the wine and cheese reception while the innkeeper helped us to decide on a place for dinner, to the surprise champagne upon our return, to the fabulous breakfast on the porch while listening to the birds and watching the tide go out. Excellent location, marvelous hospitality, and very comfortable room. We loved every minute!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiscowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This was our first B&B experience, and it was PERFECT. I wanted to relax, and the Cove Room was exactly what I needed. Erin and Harriet are wonderful hosts, and they made the inn very homey and comfortably. When I told Harriet I am on Weight Watchers, she offered make me healthy breakfasts each morning. I LOVED the bathtub in the middle of the Cove Room, which is where I spent each evening. I didn't have a hard time walking into town at all, although we drove most of the time because it rained the whole week. We are already planning another trip to Kennebunkport, and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacontessa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.4 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Inn at English Meadows Bed and Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Property: Bufflehead Cove Inn
Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Ln, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast in Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk
Bufflehead Cove Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing