We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bufflehead Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I spent our 30th wedding anniversary at the Inn. We had a wonderful time. The attention to detail and appreciation for the nature that surrounds the inn was obvious. We definitely plan to return

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

Almost surreal in it's beauty and tranquility, this inn is probably the most peaceful and romantic place we have ever visited. I can't imagine it gets any better than a wonderful night's sleep in a cozy bed with the evening breeze through your windows to keep you cool. Then waking up to a delectable breakFEAST on a sprawling porch overlooking the Kennebunk River. I told my husband it would take us several days to decompress from a stressful year but, thanks to the hospitality of our hosts, we were feeling completely relaxed within hours of our arrival. We can't wait to go back. Spend a night or longer if you can. You won't regret it...it's worth every penny!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ChrisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffleheadcove, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

We always hope for 'perfect' and thank you for saying it. It was a pleasure having you visit and we hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My wife and I have always wanted to enjoy a "lobster/pub crawl" in Maine and are very happy we booked our stay at Bufflehead Cove. The house, scenic views and gardens are so beautiful that we regretted not spending more time relaxing there, rather than exploring the coastline towns all weekend.

We looked forward to breakfast each morning with anticipation as Bufflehead has a great cook, and each meal was truly wonderful. During each breakfast we would plan our day and the staff was great with their recommendations, directions and answers to any questions. They also have day passes for guests who want to park at the local beach which is necessary to avoid a ticket.

Getting into town is a little bit of a walk, most of which is down the gravel access road, but it's only a mile. We rarely had trouble finding parking in town though. Most of the lots are fee parking, but we always parked in the free lot for Federal Jacks brew pub and stopped for a drink or two, after which we would explore the town shops and restaurants.

We stayed in the Cove room which was lovely and had a balcony overlooking the river. Although the room itself was quite satisfactory, we had a couple issues that only existed due to the unexpected heat and high humidity during our stay. (1) The A/C unit did not do a great job of keeping the room cool. (2) The room really could benefit from a ceiling fan to circulate the air. Of course for most of the season, it's probably cool enough to simply open all the windows and enjoy the ocean breeze.

If we find ourselves back in Kennebunkport, I would absolutely book here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FudRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffleheadcove, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Thank you for the 'Best B&B" vote. Please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We've stayed at Bufflehead Cove Inn for many years. It is relaxing, has wonderful views of the river and great breakfasts. The owners are very involved and ensure that guests enjoy their stay. The accomodations are very nice. It's always a positive experience.
Lori G.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank CabanaB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffleheadcove, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review and thank you too for such kind words. We hope you come back to visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We would highly recommend this Inn as it is on the river and is a wonderful place to just kick back and enjoy. The Breakfasts served are topnotch and should last most of the day!! This was our 3rd time there and compared to other folks we are still the newbies. We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms look great but we really like the Cove Room - all depends on your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Endoman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffleheadcove, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Thank you , thank you for all the nice thoughts. We are always pleased when our guest's are happy with what we offer. We hope to see you many times in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Totally charming B&B in glorious location. Spotless clean, ultra-comfy, super friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast out of this world, delicious!! The only downside of our stay was that we could only stay one night! If we are ever back in the area, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Check their website, it's very detailed and close to reality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lopezaldous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffleheadcove, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

thank you so much for all your kind words. We hope that you will visit us again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed in the cottage, which overlooks a small tidal river basin and is only a short walk from the inn. The cottage is beautifully appointed, filled with art and has a gorgeous staircase leading to the sleeping loft. The kitchen has everything needed for cooking in, and there is a gas grill outside. There is a fireplace with wood provided for cold nights. Off of the cathedral ceiling living area there is a dressing room before the bathroom where all luggage may be unpacked into the chests and wardrobes. No need to carry things upstairs. The bathroom is huge with a two person Jacuzzi, separate shower and dressing table. The breakfasts are gourmet, even for this gluten and lactose intolerant eater. They made a point of asking about food issues when we made our reservation and were ready for me. The whole family gives great attention to detail, picking up quickly on preferences of their guests. Breakfasts on the porch were a highlight of every day during our warm weather trip. Some favorite things away from the Inn: Shopping in Kennebunkport, walking out past the ocean and seaside houses that lead to the Bush complex, an outdoor service overlooking the ocean at St. Anne's by the Sea, a visit to the wonderfully maintained and old fashioned amusement park at Orchard Beach to the north, swimming from the beach at Kennebunkport, walking the beautiful Marginal Way, past rocky outcroppings with small beaches in between, and eating a lobster roll with meat that required 3-4 1lb+ lobsters at Ogunquit to the south, attending our first drive-in movie in 45+ years in Saco. And then there is kayaking of the river/creek, fishing, boating and sailing.

Room Tip: Book months ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cthtrips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffleheadcove, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

We have just figured out how to respond to our reviews!
We thank you so much for all your kind words and hope we will have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Inn at English Meadows Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#6 of 14 in Kennebunk
278 reviews
3.6 mi away
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Ln, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: £148 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast on the edge of Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk
Bufflehead Cove Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing