We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B to get away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bufflehead Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B to get away from it all”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Harriett was an incredible host and she made sure that every single guest in the house felt welcome. The rooms themselves were stunning - they had the old historic charm - yet they were beautifully updated with really comfortable bedding, clean and beautiful towels, wonderful accessories and everything else you can imagine.

The inn sits on a private cove and has beautiful views from all rooms. also has canoes and kayaks for river riding.

close to good restaurants, bars and small town activity.

Breakfast was really really good - however it was not great. It was made to order, was unique and tasted excellent. Plenty of juices and coffee and tea. I am keeping one star as I would have liked to see a bigger array of breads and croissants and bakery and perhaps pancakes and or crepes in the breakfast mix.

The whole experience was absolutely phenomenal and I will definitely go back and stay here again.

Room Tip: Cove room has jacuzzi right in the room itself. Garden room had private entrance and perfect if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perlmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
389
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The last time I was here, and many, many times prior to that, I had the feeling that they have reached the limit - Harriet, Jim, Erin and friends cannot make a weekend stay at their B & B any better, more luxurious, more relaxing, more welcoming. (I've been coming an average of several times a season every year since 1985.) Well, this year - this past weekend was this Year's opening - there were incredible Turkish towels, twice as thick and soft as any others I've seen; there are new showers; and a huge cookie jar in the dining room always full of enormous home made chocolate chip cookies and a 2 ft high candy dish filed to the brim with jelly beans. And they were as gracious as always. Before we left we made reservations for a weekend later this year.

Room Tip: The Balcony Room is large, bright, has a terrific view and a huge jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattysDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We traveled to Maine for our honeymoon this past October and spent the first night here. We should have stayed the whole week. Our room (The Hideaway) was beautiful, the house was gorgeous and the hosts were wonderful. We arrived later in the evening and was recommended a wonderful place for dinner. We awoke to coffee on our porch in the morning and ate an amazing breakfast outdoors where we enjoyed a breathtaking view. We will never ever forget this place and are hoping to come back every year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corcoran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This is a family run B & B in a most picturesque setting - a quiet spot by the river, We received a lovely welcome and our room was everything we needed including a kettle, which was provided on request. Breakfasts were superb and even the weather could not have been better. The hosts were very informative and helpful with directions.

Room Tip: Check web site for preferred room. The Garden Room had its own entrance and private patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidandjudithwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Townships, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I recently booked a weekend getaway at the Bufflehead Cove Inn. Although we usually like to spoil ourselves on these short sojourns by booking into a Relais & Chateau or something similiar, I decided on this trip to book us into the lovely Bufflehead Cove Inn, mainly because The White Barn Inn (the Relais & Chateau) was not in an ideal location and their rooms seemed rather small for the prices being charged (I don't mind paying but it has to be worth the price).

I am SO GLAD that I made this decision. The Bufflehead Cove Inn is located in, what I would consider to be, the ideal location .. at the end of a dead end road overlooking the river (a beautiful spot). As we drove up among the trees we wondered where we would end up and we were not disappointed as we arrived at a lovely opening in the trees overlooking the Kennebunk River and Bufflehead Cove.

The inn is a lovely old home (I am partial to these as I own one myself), lovingly maintained, with a warm hearth and a wonderful wrap around porch where one can eat breakfast (in warmer times as my husband and I visited in November so we ate in the lovely dining room instead). The owner, Harriet, made us feel welcome and we had a truly lovely time chatting with the other guests in the morning over a hearty breakfast of eggs, waffles, fruit juices etc..

We stayed in the garden room, which is attached to the main inn and overlooks the garden through its big French doors and a bedside window (there is also a cottage which is across the garden from the inn and other rooms within the inn itself). The room was truly lovely, with lots of books, a gas fireplace and a sitting area. The bathroom was impeccably maintained and everything was provided (tons of cozy towels, bathrobes, shampoos, lovely soaps ...). At 5:30 pm Harriet served up cheeses and hot cider, which, when taken in front of the warm fireplace, can't be beat (to tell you the truth, I almost felt like foregoing our reservations for dinner at the White Barn Inn on our second night, in favour of this ... the dinner at White Barn was wonderful nevertheless).

In short, the combination of the character of the lovely inn, its location (within walking distance of the centre of town but in a peaceful location on the river) and its owner, Harriet (and her team !) makes for the best place to stay if you are ever in the Kennebunks. I know that we will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GrandeGourmande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This was our first stop on a tour through New England and we were so sad to have to leave and move on! The family that runs the inn are just spectacular! Erin was so fantastic - what a gift he has to make you feel welcome and to make sure every need is attended to. Our room was just amazing - views of the water, an outside sitting area where we could watch the tide roll in, the fireplace, the tub - all so fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We can only echo the views of those who have enjoyed Bufflehead Cove. It looked fantatsic on the website and was even better in reality. We stayed 1 night in October and had a fine day after all the rain. The setting of this inn is so idyllic with the tranquility of the river outside your window. It is a truly authentic New England experience.
Harriet's hospitality was second to none. We had booked the River room but on arrival were offered a free upgrade to a larger room with jaccuzzi. We kept the River room because although it was smaller it had the beautiful window seat and a small private balcony overlooking the river.
It is a little isolated, about 1 mile to walk into Kennebunkport (not to be missed), but that was what we wanted.
Could not fault our stay here and will return some day, hopefully.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you want the best, choose the Balcony room with its own private covered te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Property: Bufflehead Cove Inn
Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Ln, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast in Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk
Bufflehead Cove Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing