We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bufflehead Cove Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2008

There are not enough superlatives for the Bufflehead Cove Inn.

We loved it! Everything was perfect from the cozy Cove room and the wine and cheese reception in front of a roaring fire to the hand made chocolates and gormet breakfast.

If you are thinking about staying in Kennebunkport stop thinking and book a room here!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkpidgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Bufflehead Cove Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2008

After several months of reading reviews and descriptions, looking at photographs, and generally agonizing over where to book my honeymoon for my new wife and me, I am thrilled to be able to say that we had a perfectly wonderful week at Bufflehead Cove Inn.

We did not arrive until late, having just come from our wedding reception, but Harriet had taped a welcome note to the front door for us and another in our room. It was wonderfully quiet and we were instantly at ease. (We found out the next morning that Harriet had slept with the phone right next to her in case we had trouble getting there, but Google directions were just fine. A Note: The long, unpaved road leading to the Inn made us a bit nervous late at night, but don't worry, it's there!)

The next morning, we walked down the stairs to a mouth-watering breakfast with some very friendly fellow guests. There is a large table that seats eight, and another for two more by the window. The food was scrumptious, with a first course each day of some sort of fruit, followed by pancakes, coffee cake, or muffin and an egg dish. Fresh juice or smoothies were also served and coffee and tea are always available throughout the day. One particular note for those of you on restricted diets (I'm a Celiac, so I eat Gluten-Free), Harriet, Erin, and Jim, were very accommodating. While the variety for me was obviously limited, they worked hard to make sure I didn't feel left out. I couldn't have asked for better.

The decor is wonderfully cozy, both in our room (We stayed in the Cove Room and enjoyed the hot tub and fireplace.) and in the living area on the main floor. We didn't get a chance to use the porch because it was a little chilly in October for that, but we look forward to doing so another time.

It's a bit of a longer walk to town, but you could do it in 15-20 minutes or so if you liked. We brought bikes, and made it to town in about 5 minutes, with a trip to the beach taking about 10. Harriet and Erin were exceptionally helpful with making dinner recommendations and reservations for us and were really very attentive throughout the day. Their attention to detail was astonishing. We already booked a weekend for our anniversary next year and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YankeeSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

Would you like a waterfront view on a peaceful cove? Do you want a lovely shingle home? How about help with your luggage? Warm and caring hospitality? A beautiful room that is immaculate and everything works like new? An evening wine and cheese reception? A tasty breakfast enjoyed with other guests? The Bufflehead Cove in has it all!

This is where you want to be in Kennebunkport. The only reason I can think of for staying somewhere else is if you want to be in the center of town or you don't want to stay in a B&B. This inn has earned all its excellent reviews. We stayed in the Cove room which was great. I got a peak at the Balcony room which is breathtaking.

I have to think of a reason to visit the Kennebunkport area so I can stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ihopeihelped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

Please do not let life pass you by without a stay at this beautiful inn! The dedication of the Gott family is overwhelming as we indulged in our second stay here. By indulge, I am referring to the treatment you receive the moment you drive down the beatiful tree-lined lane to the unfortunate moment you need to depart. The comfort level is limitless, and I have personally never seen such attention to detail in comparison to other inns we have stayed at. From the lovely social hour with complimentary wine and cheese, to turndown service with decadent chocolates, and coffee delivered to your door each morning. Harriet, Jim, and Erin cannot do enough for their guests at their beautiful home, I feel truly fortunate that they open their doors to everyone and delight in sharing with each and every guest. Jim's breakfasts are amazing, and not to be missed! Harriet, you are the ultimate hostess, you do what you do so darn well! Erin is a testament to his parents love and dedication, for all these reasons (and there are so many personal touches, too many to mention) we will continue to return year after year.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank honest reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

We are a family of three who stayed in the Riverside Cottage for 10 nights. The whole property is expertly managed as well as being extremely comfortable. Absolutely no question of recommending a stay at this idyllic inn, set in its own well established and mature grounds on the bank of the Kennebunk river estuary. This family run operation is a credit to the US tourism industry.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wil2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at Bufflehead for 2 nights. It was our first time in Maine, so we were thrilled that the inn was exactly what we'd hoped for. We stayed in the River Room, the smallest at the inn, but it was perfect. The bed was very comfortable, and while the bathroom is on the tiny side, my husband (he's 6'3" and built like a football played) and I had no complaints. Harriet and Erin were on site several times while we were there, and were extremely welcoming and friendly--Erin greeted us when we arrived after 9:00 at night, and immediately asked if we needed restaurant recommendations or anything to make our stay enjoyable.

On our second night, we ended up in a different room. The guest next door had a terrible cough, and another larger room was available, so Harriet offered us that room to make sure we could sleep that night. We took her up on the offer, and thought the suggestion was incredibly nice.

As for the meals, we couldn't have asked for better breakfasts. While we didn't get a choice (we didn't ask if we could have something different than what was offered), our first morning, we had a homemade quiche with bacon and potatoes, and on the second morning, we had stuffed French toast with bacon. Each breakfast came with a daily smoothie and fresh fruit. The breakfasts alone make Bufflehead worth it!

We'd love to go back, and the lot is fantastic. It would be perfect in the fall when the leaves are changing. Highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a secluded, cozy spot in Kennebunkport.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TripLover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We've stayed at many, many hotels, inns, & B&B's all over the world. This one is special. If you are looking for something "in the middle of the action," you are better off somewhere else. If you are looking for a magical escape, surrounding by nothing but the quiet of the woods and the peace of the water, you can't beat this spot. It is small, intimate, and comfortable. The inn-keepers are fantastic: a family with natural hospitality provided at just the right level...not intrusive, but always helpful and genuinely interested in your experience. The Inn is a few short minutes from the center of town and easily accessible by foot, bike, or car. We stayed in the river cottage, a full fledged stand-alone structure with its own fireplace, hot tub, deck, and grill. It was fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myhotelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
649 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#5 of 14 in Kennebunk
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at English Meadows Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Ln, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: £146 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast on the edge of Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk
Bufflehead Cove Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing