We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keeps getting better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bufflehead Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
san diego, calif
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just keeps getting better!”
Reviewed 14 July 2009

This was my 3rd stay at the inn, we love to visit Maine during the summer and see all its charm and beauty and I would never consider another inn...this one is truly the best!! They exceed my expectations every time---the location is private, stunning, and peaceful. The cottage, where we usually stay is lovely with its own balcony and beautiful entrance. We also had the change to stay in the balcony room which is absolutely stunning with its balcony over the river and giant jacuzzi tub. Not to mention the owners, they are wonderful. We love Aaron and his level of service and Harriet for always being so helpful and cheery. The breakfasts are so good too...fresh fruit, smoothies, stuffed french toast, delicious eggs and sausage....it's a treat every morning. They truly do everything right and went above and beyond with us this year as we had some special requests. I travel a lot, and stay in a lot of places but this is my absolute favorite....you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
383
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I spent many long hours trying to decide where to stay on a recent trip to Kennebunkport, Maine as there are many great offerings in this quaint seaside village. My wife and I could not have been happier with our choice. The inn is located on the river nestled in the woods and is a fantastic get-a-way spot, very tranquil and relaxing. The inn itself is beautiful and the Gott family could not do more to make you feel at home. The morning breakfasts were fantastic and a great way to start the day. While Maine is a long way from Hawaii, we can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiAloha57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teffont, wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My new hubby and I celebrated our honeymoon on a fly drive of New England and were recommended the Bufflehead Cove Inn prior to leaving for the States by another local inn. Harriet gave us the honeymoon suite which has views of the stunning river from the bed. We enjoyed a jacuzzi bath with a split of on-the house champagne. We watched the chipmunks frolic in the lily of the valley. So relaxing and just a perfect few days. Our hosts Harriet and Jim were so attentive and friendly - my hubby and I arrived as guests and left as friends. They actually drove us 3 miles down the coast for both nights we were there to visit a couple of lovely places to eat in Cape Porpoise! Breakfast cooked by Jim was lovely and he obviously know how to wow his guests. The warmth of the hosts rubbed off on all guests staying and 6 of us ended up chatting and laughing for well over an hour. We both said that when we renew our vows we will come back here. Dont pay over the odds to stay directly on the Kennebunkport coast - it's not worth it when you can discover your own secret idyll. Top Tip - the inn is at the end of the dirt tract leading off the beaten track. At night listen to the peepers (frogs singing) near the entrance of the track. They make beautiful songs and it's a really unusual experience!
Note to Harriet and Jim - Thankyou so much for making us feel really special. Please thank Albert for his great advice about visiting Moosehead Lake - we loved it. That and Kennebunkport were the highlights for us! From Guy and Clair x

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

This is our third getaway to Bufflehead Cove. We love everything about this inn. It's quaint, comfortable and you really feel welcome. The weather was the only disappointing part. We usually sit on the front porch over looking the river for breakfast, but we had to eat inside due to the rain. Every breakfast is different and delicious. We already look forward to our return trip!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravelingBeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Thought it would be nice to finally give Bufflehead Cove Inn its' due. I have been visiting this B&B since 1989. First with close girlfriends, then every year thereafter with my husband. Already booked time again this October!!
It is just the best way to relax and enjoy the surroundings any season you choose. Enjoy a relaxing stay. You don't even have to leave the front porch. If you do, there is a variety of things to do. Just check out the website. You won't be unhappy visiting and relaxing in the Kennebunk area.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2009

I chose this place as our destination to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary because of the website. Everything seemed "right" for us: its location on the Kennebunk River so we could put our kayaks in there if we wished, a secluded room/suite with its own deck on the water, close proximity to downtown shops and other kayaking areas, lots of great restaurants, and yet it is just enough off the beaten path so traffic noise is not an issue. Jim and Harriet have been running this establishment for 25 years now and are still running it with the grace and enthusiasm of innkeepers who are early in their careers. They are so warm, so helpful, and really enjoy their guests. Their son, Erin, is learning the business now; he certainly is a "chip off the block" so continuity is surely guaranteed. Breakfasts were bountiful with gorgeous presentation; they were truly fabulously delicious. Our room, The Hideaway, was so beautifully and meticulously appointed. Having coffee delivered in a pot on a tray on our front deck early in the morning before breakfast was the greatest. Breakfasts on the main house front porch by the river or in the dining room, lovely landscaping, bird watching, truly tasteful, classical decor everywhere...we cannot say enough about the inn or our hosts. They have their act together and we shall return for a longer visit next time. Thank you and bravo, Jim, Harriet, and Erin!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Ma
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Gerry and I try our best to visit Bufflehead Cove twice per year - the inn is consistently excellent in all aspects of what one expects of a peaceful and romantic getaway. We have stayed in the Hideaway Suite and, most recently, the River Cottage and both accommodations offer understated luxury with terrific amenities and wonderful views of the river. Harriet and Aaron offer superb service without being intrusive and Jim stays behind the scenes to prepare the delicious daily breakfast. Breakfast is offered in the beautifully decorated main inn and also on the porch facing the river during the warm weather months. The inn is extremely secluded but is also only a short drive to the many attractions in Kennebunkport and other coastal locations. We have stayed in many inns across New England and Bufflehead Cove remains our favorite.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweeneyBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,654 reviews
3.6 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Property: Bufflehead Cove Inn
Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Ln, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast in Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk
Bufflehead Cove Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing