We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Hotel and Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grace White Barn Inn & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Marblehead, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific Hotel and Restaurant”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here in the late fall for 9 years. It's always special! Terrific staff and chef Jonathan Cartwright never ceases to amaze us! Try the suites in May's Annex! Nice touches like afternoon tea listening to the piano od Ludovico Einaudi only add to the ambience. A terrific romantic getaway!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    52
    34
    16
    19
See reviews for
21
212
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have stayed here several times and have always had a great time. We usually come for two nights during the fall. This year we were fortunate to have a sunny weekend and although just past the peak of the season the colors were beautiful. We had one of our favorite rooms with a large window that made it feel like we were in the forest.
The food here is terrific and the service impeccable. Although seemingly pricey the rates include breakfast and a three course dinner. We always have a fabulous time and feel that it is worth the cost!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is top notch- from the front desk to the restaurant. We enjoyed every minute and did not want to leave. While expensive, they think of everything. We were greeted with a bottle of champagne and fresh fruit. The swimming pool is a hidden gem under the trees changing color as we swam in the gorgeous rock lined pool. Dinner was over the top!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed one night in room ten. It was up two fairly steep flights of stairs, tucked in next to the stair case and under the eaves, a smallish room with restricted headroom in places, meaning you had to watch your head when using the left side of the bed. The room had quite a large ensuite shower room with a good range of toiletries. Once we had cooled the room down (why do hotels set room temperatures so hot?) by opening the window onto a very cool evening, we had an excellent night's sleep. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel as we fancied something less formal, using Alysson's in town. We did have the continental breakfast, which was excellent. The breakfast was served in the barn styled restaurant, complete with a very odd balcony full of junk. OK for a breakfast room but would create an odd ambience for their smart evening meals. The wifi worked ok.

Staff were very helpful and all in all this was a good stay. The walk to town is a kilometre or so and was pleasant in the cool of the evening. The beach is a similar walk in the opposite direction. We wished we had had a little longer to explore and to make a bit more use of the hotel's facilities than we managed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coddfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent one night here on our vacation and it was excellent. The welcome was first class. Our room was of decent size, those reviews complaining of small size room did not have our room. As the name suggests, it is an "inn" and not a cookie-cutter chain hotel- and that is the experience you will encounter upon staying here- very charming. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Dinner was excellent. We had a fabulous stay and would definitely return- our only complaint is that we could not stay longer!

Room Tip: Room 16 was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsjv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is an ol barn a bit out of kennebunk. It is pretty nice the structure but all the rest is disappointing. First of all the room. Extremely small especially the bathroom that i could not put my things other than my toothbrush. The maid service in the evening was very approximative, the pijamas were just launched on the bed and it was not clean enough. There were papers below the bed when i arrived and that meant it had not been cleaned below. The quality of the linen and of the towels was also very poor, not for a 5 stars hotel. At the afternoon tea the cups were not there. I had to ask for it. This should not happen even if small things. Then the restaurant. The wine selection was good but extremely expensive. The food was horrible. I understand that american standards are probably different from european ones but i almost felt sick afterwards. The service was ok but the waiters are not experienced at all, not at the level of a 5 stars hotel/ restaurant. And all this for more than 1000 dollars for one night. It is not worth.
The comparison with european five stars hotels is too high.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Floc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WBIInnkeeper, General Manager at Grace White Barn Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Floc77,


I want to thank you for the time you took to relay your experience at the White Barn Inn and Spa and I deeply regret that you did not enjoy your time at our Inn.

Due to the historic nature of our Inn some of our rooms are more modest in size. If you decide to give the White barn Inn and second chance I would like to encourage you to contact me directly so I can assist in finding the room category you will find the most comfortable.

I can assure you that we take all of our guests comments very seriously and appreciate your feedback. We strive to offer a 5 star experience to all of our guests and comments such as yours will help us to be better at what we do.



Kind regards,

Corinne Finn-Heyl

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Looking so forward to staying here on our recent vacation. The dining experience was fantastic but I was thoroughly disappointed with the size and quality of rooms (and bed) for the cost. Definitely make dinner reservations but save your money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimwhite2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WBIInnkeeper, General Manager at Grace White Barn Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear kimwhite2003,



We are so pleased to hear about your fantastic dining experience at The White Barn Inn Restaurant. It is of course very disappointing to learn that our room size and quality did not meet your expectations. We truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we can continue to make improvements where needed.

We do hope this will not prevent you from considering The White Barn Inn again in the future and I would kindly ask you to contact me personally, as you can be assured that we will go the extra mile to restore your confidence in us.

Kind regards,
Corinne Finn-Heyl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace White Barn Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace White Barn Inn & Spa

Property: Grace White Barn Inn & Spa
Address: 37 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grace White Barn Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport--jewel in the crown of the Maine Coastline, perfect for your own ideal stay. Grace White Barn Inn & Spa (a member of the prestigious Relais et Chateaux) offers sumptuous guestrooms that boast true luxury and comfort. Surrender to our full spa experiences... energize and beautify as our Spa Director creates your personal revitalization. And experience the only AAA 5-Diamond, Forbes 5-Star restaurant north of New York City. The setting is unique, encompassing two restored barns from the 1820's. Here savor the rich flavors of New England and coastal Maine. Your Grace White Barn Inn & Spa experience is sure to bring everlasting memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grace White Barn Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Barn Hotel Kennebunk
The White Barn Inn Kennebunkport Me
Maine White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
Grace White Barn Inn & Spa Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing