We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene setting in the heart of Kennebunkport”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunkport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fontenay Terrace Motel
Ranked #16 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Anacortes, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serene setting in the heart of Kennebunkport”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at Fontenay Terrace as it is close to my sister's condo--and it was perfect for what we wanted. Room was spotless--and the furniture--though somewhat dated--was all in good condition. Bed was very comfortable. The location for all Kennebunkport has to offer is perfect. Beach is very close by, and a walk along Ocean Ave will either bring you to gorgeous views--or into Dock Square for shopping if you go the other direction. My Mom was with us--and she had room 8 at the end which had a lovely view of the inlet from her room. David and Paula have created a serene setting at a reasonable price to enjoy the Kennebunkport area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank depoelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    38
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
54
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Very nice place. Staff was nice, courteous and helpful. Room was a nice size and comfortable. The table and chairs were old and a little uncomfortable and that is why we gave it a 4 out of 5.
We would insider coming back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaH1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBReid, Owner at Fontenay Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
New Chairs on Order. It's been 4 weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a wonderful week at the Fontenay Terrace. Rooms are a good size, very clean, in room coffee and very quite. The grounds are lovely and the ocean breeze was very cooling even on the days when the temperature was in the 90s. The location is superb, a 1 mile walk in to town for shopping and meals and a 1 mile or more walk along Ocean Ave which is very beautiful. Paula and David were very accommodating, welcoming and friendly. We will definitely will be celebrating the 4th of July 2014 at the Fontenay Terrace. The only problem that we had was that we had to leave and come home. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice but room 8 at the end over looks the salt pond and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I feel a little guilty about taking so long to post a review of the Fontenay Terrace since Mr. Reid, the owner/manager was so helpful when we stayed there. We only allotted one night in Kennebunkport but wish we had stayed longer.

This is what my recollection of 1960's motels look like, except this has been updated and is very comfortable. It is in a quiet part of town and has chairs outside each room for sitting, plus a very nice lawn and even a floating dock on the river that runs behind the hotel. Very good place to relax. The rooms are not large, but they are comfortable. And did I mention that the management is very good.

If I ever get back to Kennebunport, this is where I'm staying.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totowa
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our relaxing time at Fontenay, bike riding, walking,etc. David was very helpful and pleasant. The area is wonderful. Close to town but far enough for quiet. We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennyp973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisonville, NY
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I always prefer mom and pop motels, but for some reason have never noticed the Fontenay Terrace in 45 years of Maine trips. As with almost all of the best of these types of accomodations, the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, the furnishings were dated but not beaten up. Room rates seem reasonable considering the location, which is great: right on a tidal inlet; short walks to the ocean, river and restaurants; a bit longer walk or bike ride to the center of town or the Bush complex. For some reason the cable TV reception was not very good, and the owner said he'd look into it. (Since he's also an accountant, probably after tax season.) This place should certainly be on the radar for those looking for a relaxed time in K'port.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdirondackBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We had a wonderful extended weekend at the Fontennay Terrace, from the warm welcome to the heartfelt goodbyes! The room was warm and comfortable with so many extra touches...a lit Christmas tree in the room when we arrived, a beautiful live poinsettia plant in the window, home made cookies in a china plate on our table, and wonderful hospitality from Paula and David! The beds were comfortable, and it was obvious that the owners liked to please their guests! They were friendly and helpful, and we have already made a reservation for our summer visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 26 in Kennebunkport
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
#11 of 26 in Kennebunkport
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontenay Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontenay Terrace Motel

Property: Fontenay Terrace Motel
Address: 128 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Inn on a tidal inlet. Close to beach. Short walk to town. Quiet with pleasant gardens and lawn outside of rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fontenay Terrace Hotel Kennebunkport
Fontenay Terrace Motel Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing