We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value motel.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunkport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fontenay Terrace Motel
Ranked #16 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Havant
1 review
“Good value motel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This motel is in a very nice and quiet location, although it is a fair walk into Kennebunkport which we didn't mind. The rooms are dated but clean. I would recommend this motel as good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieWales1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    38
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
52
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Returned to the Fontenay for our fifth year. We are never disappointed. The rooms are spotless, comfortable and so convenient to everything. Excellent value! See our review from years past.

senicseeker

Room Tip: Room 8 has a special view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scenicseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester,NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Overpriced. Too far from the shops in the port. Room felt tired and outdated. The refrigerator wasn't clean. Towels were rough and low quality. Skimped... one bar of soap for sink and shower. We chose this location to easily walk to and from the port area. They need a shuttle service because this was quite far.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASeybold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBReid, Owner at Fontenay Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Sorry you were disappointed. If you know much about Kennebunkport, we are one of the best values. Very few properties with rates under $200.00 to $250.00
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have over 33 years of hotel experience in large convention and smaller Four Diamond hotels and my wife and I loved our long weekend here. The location is perfect for the area. The price was very fair for the area. The room was very clean, large and very comfortable. The grounds were attractive and well-maintained. We lounged outside playing our guitars late into the night! Don't waste your time at bigger (much) more expensive hotels in the area. You simply can't find a better place to stay in Kennebunkport!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

David and Paula couldn't have done more to make me and other guests feel at home. I stayed for the month of July and then extended for another week!! The rooms are large, comfortable and spotless. The location couldn't be better with the beach and the Kennebunk River right across the street. This is really a wonderful Inn in the old Maine tradition. While most of the other properties in Kennebunkport are priced at $300+ a night, the Fontenay still maintains reasonable rates while providing quality service. I plan to be back next year and for many years to come!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBReid, Owner at Fontenay Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Look forward to having you back next year !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at the Fontenay Terrace the first weekend of August . This little motel is in a perfect location, quiet and just a little bit outside of the main Kennebunkport area. We had a lovely weekend, enjoying the shopping and dining of Kennebunkport, along with long walks along Ocean Avenue. Everyone at the Fontenay is very nice. The rooms are clean, comfortable and good size. The shower could use some updating, but overall we had a lovely experience and a great weekend (in my favorite town!). I would recommend the Fontenay Terrace.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at Fontenay Terrace as it is close to my sister's condo--and it was perfect for what we wanted. Room was spotless--and the furniture--though somewhat dated--was all in good condition. Bed was very comfortable. The location for all Kennebunkport has to offer is perfect. Beach is very close by, and a walk along Ocean Ave will either bring you to gorgeous views--or into Dock Square for shopping if you go the other direction. My Mom was with us--and she had room 8 at the end which had a lovely view of the inlet from her room. David and Paula have created a serene setting at a reasonable price to enjoy the Kennebunkport area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank depoelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#14 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontenay Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontenay Terrace Motel

Property: Fontenay Terrace Motel
Address: 128 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Fontenay Terrace Hotel Kennebunkport
Fontenay Terrace Motel Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing