We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service very slow”

95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Restaurants in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Open seasonally, Memorial Day through October Casually elegant dining. Enjoy creative local cuisine and nightly specials highlighting the freshest seafood and local ingredients from New England farms and herbs from the resort's organic gardens. Plus live entertainment weeknights in season. Just a short walk from Dock Square along Ocean Avenue. A TV Diner Platinum Plate award winner. Also serving pub fare, local Maine craft beers and cocktails in Heckman's Pub. Relax with a pre-dinner drink on the resort's front porch, or on the back lawn in an Adirondack chair overlooking the river.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

First to say the staff was very attentive but the wait time on the food was terrible. I know I was at a resort and should not be in a hurry, but this was a little extreme. I will say though the breakfast bar was great

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cliff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hi Cliff:
I am so sorry our service was not prompt enough for you. It certainly is annoying to have to wait to be served, especially after a long day of sightseeing!
Please come back and see us again. If you contact me directly for a dinner reservation, I promise we will put our best foot forward and pick up the pace! jean@nonantumresort.com
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The seafood is fresh, simple, and delicious! The seafood chowder is the best I've had -- full of great fish!

Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hi Chris:
Thank you so much for the nice review. There really is nothing better than simply prepared fresh fish. We are fortunate to have such wonderful access to so many types of freshly caught fish.
The seafood chowder is wonderful. It is hard to imagine a trip to Maine without at least one cup of fantastic chowder!
Hope you can come and see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Well, 95 was just fine. No surprises here. Service was good. Food was very good. Prices reasonable. The dining room overlooking the lawn and water is simple, but the view is really nice. I would return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mkarpoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hello New York Friend:
I am happy to hear all was well with your dinner. As you said, the views are spectacular and the food is great! I don't know about you but I am partial to the shrimp and grits. This afternoon we had a cooking demonstration (which we do every Monday) and the Chef made the shrimp and grits. They were fantastic! (I was lucky enough to get a sample!)
Another very popular dish is Chef True's Blueberry Chipotle Ribs. People just cannot get enough of them! Monday nights they are on special for only $20.14. You just cannot beat that deal!
Please come and check these dishes out on your next visit! I also would recommend the Salted Caramel Chocolate Cake for dessert! The house made caramel it is topped with is out of this world!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Dinner was very loud and average. However, going early for breakfast was delicious and peaceful. The buffet was generous and hearty. Later in the morning the breakfast room got noisy and crowded.

Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Lisa:
It is terrific that you like the early morning breakfast! Each morning when we open up there are a few early birds waiting anxiously for the doors to open. After the initial 7:30 rush it is very quiet until 9:30, when 80% of the people all arrive at once. The same is true of 7:30 pm dinners. We open at 5:30 and there are always a few waiting. It is then very quiet until 7 or 7:30 when we have another rush. We know about these rushes and staff accordingly. Just another day in the life of a resort hotel!
Please come back any morning at 8 and have a peaceful breakfast! We cannot wait to see you again!
Sincerely,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great staff, wonderful rooms, delicious food, beautiful water views from our room. The staff is excellent...helpful and courteous.

Thank TampaAki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hello Tampa Visitor!
Thanks for taking time to share your very nice comments! The dining room staff has been working hard to make sure their service matches the fantastic food our kitchen has been creating! Insider tip - next time you are here try the lobster cakes - they are amazing! Also, there are some new desserts on the menu that are over-the-top!
Have a terrific summer! Thanks again for writing!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Been to 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing