We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated to leave this beautiful inn!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Ranked #10 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hated to leave this beautiful inn!!”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We were so sorry to leave this wonderful place. We discovered the Inn last year, but there was only a vacancy for one night. This year we made reservations early. Our three nights were not long enough. The view from our room was fantastic, and the room was so very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful, and the inn is well maintained. Every member of the staff with whom we came in contact was professional, pleasant, and helpful. The front desk helped with information and reservations for us. The innkeeper was there and was also very pleasant and professional. We have already told friends and neighbors about this lovely inn. We look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: All of the Rockbound rooms have private balconies. We stayed in Room 26. We had a lovely view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
How wonderful that you were able to execute a longer stay with us the second time around! The highest compliment we can receive is to have guests return year after year. It is so nice to know that you thoroughly enjoyed every element of your stay from the grounds, to the service, to the room. Our mission is to create a comfortable, relaxing getaway for our guests, so we sincerely appreciate knowing you had a fantastic visit. Thank you so much for your glowing review and for your lovely recommendations! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    50
    18
    8
    10
See reviews for
34
220
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just got home from second visit to Cape Arundel Inn. It really is heaven on earth! If you love having the sight, sound, and smell of the open ocean at your doorstep... you will love this place! The location is unique among the hotels/inns in Kennebunkport - The inn itself - and the guest rooms - are actually more beautiful in person than the pictures online suggest. The breakfast is delicious - Homemade cookies, coffee, tea, and cold drinks are available all day in the art filled living room - Dinner is 5-Star accompanied by delightful "live" piano music. The inn owners and staff are warm, welcoming, attentive and responsive to your every need - without being the least intrusive! The front porch - with lots of comfortable seating - is VERY hard to leave! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I have always stayed in the Rockport building - a few steps through beautiful gardens - to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Nothing is more pleasurable than being able to say "Welcome back" to guests when they walk through the door. We couldn't be happier to know that your second visit was just as wonderful as the first. Thank you so much for sharing your experience; "Heaven on earth" is quite the compliment! We can't argue that the stunning views make a unique setting and our hope is that the care and attention we give to both creating a beautiful property and providing warm service will shape a truly memorable vacation for guests. We look forward to playing a part in crafting many more heavenly getaways for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

For the past several years we have celebrated our anniversary by dining at one of our favorite restaurants, the Cape Arundel Inn. It has always epitomized fine dining--lovely environment, piano music, impeccable service. Our dinner there tonight, however, was an unfortunate exception. There were no candles or flowers on our table; our waitress, while pleasant, did not appear to be well-trained in fine dining etiquette; our dinner was uncharacteristically plain (vegetables consisted of steamed broccoli & carrots accompanied by rice); glasses of champagne were half-filled (for $13, we would have expected full glasses!). It was also very noisy, to the point where we couldn't have a conversation. So disappointing........

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapphire951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeArundelInn, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
We are so sorry to hear that you found your recent dining experience disappointing. We place enormous value on providing warm, professional service and creating an enjoyable ambiance in the dining room that compliments the overall meal. It is unfortunate that your experience did not reflect this. We are always looking for ways to fine tune and improve and sincerely thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the many anniversaries you have shared with us and hope that we have the opportunity to again epitomize fine dining for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My wife and I have visited the Inn for the past 4 years in late April. Have had great visits every year without exception. We only stay 1 or 2 nights, but have yet to eat dinner elsewhere - so much easier to walk downstairs for a gourmet meal and not worry about driving back. Every room is unique, and we have stayed in 4 of the 8(?) rooms in the old house thus far. For those who don't wish to climb stairs, there is also a newer building with modern accomodations. Great views, great walks. We've already made our reservation for next April.

Room Tip: Have the receptionist describe each room - each one is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnmweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeArundelInn, Owner at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
It truly is the highest compliment when guests like you return for a fourth year and what we hope will be a fifth, sixth, and seventh! It is endlessly gratifying to see familiar, smiling faces come through the door. We are so pleased that without exception you have had great visits and that you always take advantage of our dining room for meals. It is unique to be able to offer both accommodations as well as fine dining and we do our utmost to present a stellar experience in both venues. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again in April!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliot, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

In today's world where what is advertised on the web is often not what is delivered, the Cape Arundel Inn broke the stereotype. My husband and I took a last minute trip up the coast of Maine and selected the Cape Arundel Inn based on the photos on the web site. The rooms were just as perfect as pictured! The beds were pure heaven with fluffy comforters, pillows and down blankets and the room was perfectly appointed with everything you needed without being overly fussy. The front porch offered comfortable wicker chairs (complete with monogrammed fleece blankets for when the temperature drops in the evening) from which to watch the waves and boats on the ocean and the servers were exceptionally well trained and responsive. An amazing relaxing getaway with perfect service and view!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainiacsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeArundelInn, Owner at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review and wonderful accolades. The word "perfection" is high praise indeed! We are thrilled that you had and amazing, relaxing getaway and very much appreciate hearing that you thoroughly enjoyed the beds and bedding. We carefully sought out and selected the ideal combination of mattress and linens to create what we hope is a sleep system that cradles guests in luxurious comfort. We can even assist guests in taking the system home with them to re-create the experience. We are also happy to know that you relished time spent on the porch, taking in the crashing waves and boats carving their way through the ocean. We are fortunate to have a location that affords incredible views of the rocky coastline. We look forward to our next opportunity to craft a restful respite for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

After 7 years of visits, I have to say that the Cape Arundel Inn just keeps getting better and better! Recent room renovations have been a lovely change, with subtle and tasteful paint, new furniture and amazing bedding. Frette sheets and towels with down comforters and pillows made my favorite vacation spot even more luxurious. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, and the food is out-of-this world. The grounds are perfectly groomed with great attention to detail, which makes sitting outside and enjoying the view of the ocean just that much nicer. Attention to detail is really what makes the Cape Arundel Inn so special; there has been the addition of ice water in the lobby, sometimes with cucumbers infused, sometimes with fruit or berries. Breakfast is always a treat, with wonderful pastries, fruit, and a hot entree. I highly recommend the Cape Arundel Inn as the best place to stay in southern Maine.

Room Tip: Room 2, with a private balcony, is the one I request every year. Great views of the ocean and Walker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobster_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeArundelInn, Owner at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
There is nothing more rewarding than having guests return time and time again. What a pleasure it is to have the opportunity to build a narrative. Thank you so much for allowing us to play a part in helping you relax and unwind. And thank you also for your enthusiastic review! It is extremely gratifying to hear that guests are enjoying the time they spend here. We strive to create an environment that is warm, welcoming, and filled with simple delights. Like home, only better! It is wonderful that you appreciated the recent room upgrades and that they enhanced your stay. Our goal in refreshing the rooms was to design a palette that compliments the reflections of the ocean and we chose new towels and linens that will wrap guests in tactile luxury. It is also lovely to know that you found the staff and service to be top notch and the food to be "out-of-this-world." We truly believe that it is the details that matter and everyone on our team invests fully in partnering with guests to build an enjoyable getaway. We look forward to seven more years of welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My husband and I chose the Cape Arundel Inn for its one-of-kind location high on a knoll overlooking the ocean, and the sumptious front porch with thick cushioned chairs. The Inn did not disappoint. The view from the property, including the front porch and the huge window in our room, overlooks the ocean and is striking. There are sidewalks along the road along the coast and my husband and I enjoyed the view walking into town. The front porch is large and has a generous amount of seating. It was clear that everyone enjoys sitting on the porch, either reading, drinking coffee or enjoying a pre-dinner cocktail. The Inn is very clean and roomy. Our spacious room was well decorated and the linens and towels were first rate Frette brand. The morning breakfast was a highlight of our stay. We first enjoyed coffee on the porch and then ate in the dining room. The buffet breads and fruit were delicious; the daily hot entree was exceptionally good. The staff was friendly and eager to please. They provided us with complimentary beach passes. We highly recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LongIslandDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeArundelInn, Owner at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here. It sounds like you took full advantage of the roomy porch, drinking in ocean views along with your morning coffee before moving into the dining room for an "exceptionally good" breakfast. It is really nice to receive feedback that the time and care we put into the food is appreciated. Fresh, creative cuisine is always a focus here, whether it is breakfast or the selections we create for dinner. We also appreciate knowing that you found the sheets and linens to be first rate and the service to be warm and helpful. We recently updated all of our rooms with a fresh look and feel which included luxurious new towels and linens. Clean lines and a simple palette are meant to create a soothing environment that invites relaxation. It is great to hear that you found our location ideal. We are definitely fortunate to have a spot that strikes the perfect balance between close proximity (to shops, restaurants and attractions) and being peacefully perched by the ocean. We look forward to the opportunity to make your next visit as enjoyable as your first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,688 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 26 in Kennebunkport
271 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Arundel Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Arundel Inn & Resort

Property: Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Address: 208 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cape Arundel Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests choose from two distinctive locales to book their stay: The landmark Cape Arundel Inn’s Main House on Kennebunkport’s exclusive Ocean Avenue or the nearby Club House, a vintage manor tucked within 15 wooded acres. Guests staying in the Main House building’s guest rooms enjoy breathtaking ocean views, onsite restaurant, Ocean, and a spacious lawn area – replete with Adirondack chairs in which to sit and soak in the fresh sea air. At the Club House, a short drive away, guests can enjoy the clubhouse featuring vintage pool table, full bar, light lunch, library and spacious patio surrounding the heated lap pool. Resort highlights include a full a la carte breakfast at Ocean restaurant, spacious, tranquil grounds at the Club House and elegantly appointed guest rooms throughout. While the time away on your chaise lounge at the Club House, soaking up the summer sun’s rays, then enjoy a stroll to Cape Arundel Inn for an afternoon porch cocktail as you drink in breathtaking ocean views. In the evening, savor a wonderful dining experience at Ocean, prepared by Chef Pierre Gignac. Ocean offers fine cuisine inspired by southern French and Mediterranean flavors, beautifully presented and enhanced by the outstanding wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Arundel Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Arundel Hotel Kennebunkport
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing