We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge on the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge on the Cove
Ranked #11 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I were searching for a quick get away in Kennebunkport, Maine. We spent days trying to find a place that wasn't traditional in its design concept and fairly close to town. As soon as I stumbled upon The Lodge on the Cove and read all the amazing reviews, we knew this was the place. We were not disappointed! The decor was bright, stylish and downright cool. Our beautiful room was inviting and comfy. The attentive staff were all engaging, helpful and warm. We were so impressed that we booked another stay for next week! That says it all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Barbara B,

We are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our designer Krista Stokes did an amazing job with the renovations of the Lodge on the Cove. She has impeccable taste and is extremely attentive to the details that she does in her designs. I'm so glad that you were able to enjoy the feel of the lodge that is portrayed through the design. We hope that you continue being a repeat guest for us and don't forget to book for next year when you are here for your second stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    29
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
81
76
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We just completed a 3 night stay at this Lodge. It was wonderful. The staff is welcoming, helpful and friendly. Top notch on cleanliness, both inside the room and all the outside tables and chairs were always clean. Lovely, light, but adequate morning breakfast was included. We had a room with a king bed (very comfortable), with microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator, TV, etc. It was very quiet. Nice pool area overlooking the cove. Games for kids (ping pong, board games, etc.) They offer a nice variety of food which was very good. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Good Evening Diane,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about the lodge on the cove. I will pass along your observations of the effort and detail that our housekeeping staff puts into the rooms. Our poolside and lawn games are a great addition to have. They are a lot of fun for children and adults! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Lodge is such a treat...outstanding staff...wonderful reception...the lobby is beautiful...wonderful areas to relax...and to enjoy the wonderful views...and the buffet breakfast...yum...they have thought of everything...coffee and tea available all day...the ice tea was great when I returned from my bike ride...bikes provided...the pool and lounge areas are so fun...yummy food and drinks...enjoyed hanging out there...my room was perfect...very comfortable...great bedding...loved the decor...upscale and hip...also, love the location...the cove is charming. Enjoyed sitting outside in all the comfy chairs...so relaxing. All in all...perfect trip...Christy Reid, the GM, has thought of everything...don't miss this gem...I'll definitely return. Also, easy walk to center of town.

Room Tip: It is newly opened...I think every room would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
To our favorite Texan- You were such a joy to have at the lodge on the cove. You must come back to us soon to visit. Its nice to see our guests make this their home away from home. The bicycles to take a quick ride into town or to stroll along ocean avenue and take in the views are a great way to enjoy a day. Lounging poolside or even fireside in the lodge depending on the weather was a great way to take in all we have to offer. I will send your kind wors along to Christy and share with the rest of the team at the lodge on the cove. Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was a last minute trip the week after the 4th of July. The Lodge had just opened after renovations and WOW what a dramatic transformation! We have stayed here before the renovations and had a great time, but from the moment we checked in it was one of the best times we have had in a long time! You would think with such a remake they would have to work out the kinks, but no beat was skipped here!

The staff was fantastic. We wanted for nothing. Marcello's Mojito's were magical! We have spent several summers in the area, but the kids wanted to stay by the pool and just hang out. It was not crowded, and we just sat around playing cards, had some drinks, and the food was exceptional.

We will definitely be back, and I am not one to recommend places, but you would be remiss if you didn't try out the Lodge on the Cove!

Room Tip: Try to get a rooms above the pool area or on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shamrock2540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for noticing all of the details of our property. Sounds like you enjoyed our poolside are with your kids. We have the great games like ping pong, bocce ball, and cornhole. It is not just a restaurant and bar but a great place to have fun and relax. Your room location is a prime location towering from the ledges overlooking the tidal cove. Great recommendation to future travelers.

See you again for future traveling. We are open for Christmas Prelude this year as well so you could also experience us during out Holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREMONT
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was a really nice place to stay. We were tired after a day of traveling and wading in the Atlantic Ocean. Great breakfast, very friendly check in and great directions checking out,very clean. would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank griffithwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for chosing to stay with us at the lodge on the cove. It seems like you had a great time while you were here. It is nice to be within walking distance to the ocean. Please stay with us again on your future trips to Kennebunkport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at this property over the Summer. It was renovated recently and it looks great! An unbelievable transformation what its previous life. The in-room decor and furniture was upscale and comfortable. The pool area was perfect for my 3-year old. The restaurant and bartender were perfect for mom and dad. The restaurant does not have a fine dining menu, but it is perfect for a day by the pool. The bartender made the best tequilla sunrise I have ever had. The room rate was also fair and we will be back next year. There are very few family friendly properties in Kennebunkport (many don't accept kids under 12) so this one fills a much needed niche. Lastly, remaining staff members were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are relatively small. If you have more than one kid with you, I would highly reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxyMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for the kind words. Its so nice to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We recently stayed at this property for my husband's 40th birthday with a large party. From the moment we checked in, everyone working there went above and beyond to make the stay memorable. Front desk staff helped us on multiple occasions from spa appointments to dinner reservations. The Dory has great food and drinks and the bartenders Loretta and Marcello were so friendly and helpful. The rooms are gorgeous and clean. The dinner shuttle was also a great touch and again, the drivers we had were so accommodating. I don't think anyone who works there would say no to any request! Everyone in our party was talking about making this at least an annual stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crowecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
It was a pleasure to know that you chose to stay with us to celebrate such a great occasion. We loved seeing all of you enjoy your weekend and make the most of our property and other KRC properties as well. We definitely hope that you make this an annual visit. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on the Cove

Property: The Lodge on the Cove
Address: 29 S Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge on the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on the Cove offers a modern and light hearted approach to the quintessential relaxed Maine experience. This newly furbished classic motor lodge is nestled on a wooded cove in Kennebunkport with a relaxed, yet refined, feel. The Lodge offers a vibrant mix of vintage, classic and contemporary furnishings, bold patterns and an upbeat color palette. It is a combination of natural elements, nautically inspired accents and local art that together bring an organic and eclectic Maine vibe. The Lodge will be the hub of activity with check in, lobby and a poolside bar – the perfect place for relaxing and soaking up the fresh Maine air. Onsite bar and restaurant, The Dory, will offer a wide array of fresh cocktails along with simple and delicious light fare. Glass doors open up to the pool deck creating a spacious area for games, gathering, dining or to simply just laze about. Welcoming and unassuming, The Lodge on the Cove is a happy place to visit, perfect for multi-generational travel, couples and young families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Lodge on the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cove Hotel Kennebunkport
The Lodge On The Cove Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing