We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LODGE ON THE COVE a Kennebunkport Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge on the Cove
Ranked #12 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“LODGE ON THE COVE a Kennebunkport Gem!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Busy summer without much time to write. We have been back to the LOC at least four times for just an overnight... and up to three nights stay. Every time it is a wonderful welcoming feeling as you walk through the door to the check in desk. The folks that work there are so friendly, the small resort, I'll call it, is very clean and beautifully decorated. The folks that run the LOC are always updating and adding little things to make the guest's stay nicer.

This year they have placed nature machines in the rooms, wonderful if you want to take an afternoon nap and not be disturbed. I just read another review on facebook mentioned a coin for kids upon check in for a free popsicle - a simple yet delightful idea. A firepit with nightly s'mores for the kids or the adults who still love a good s'more! This year they have opened a separate breakfast nook areas which is delightfully charming in it's decor. Kudos to their decorator what an eye!

The DORY which is open in the summer is set right off the pool, yet partially enclosed so you don't have to feel you are at the pool if you want to sit and have cocktails. There is an adjacent room that is very cozy with sofas and lanterns lighting the room as you sip cocktails. In concert with rest of the resort you have a uniquely decorated bar area with a small but good menu, top shelf brands for drinks and they are open to making any drink you ask for. I recommend the Pina Colada's. I haven't been there for their Reggae Night yet but it sounds awesome! There is also a spiral staircase bringing you up to the main recreation/sitting room. I favor this room for working on my computer or reading....it's a relaxing rotunda style room overlooking the cove. In this fireplaced room there is a self serve coffee and tea bar all throughout the day, iced tea and iced coffee in the summer too, a nice touch. And daily newspapers from different locations as well.

Each room has a sitting area outside with a pull across curtain for privacy, such a simple yet nice touch.

The rooms: as I have said previously are wonderfully decorated but more importantly are VERY VERY clean which is priority for me when travelling. Thre is a mini fridge in each room as well. And wi-fi throughout this mini-resort.

The pool is crystal clear it is always being cleaned in the evening after hours. It is never overly crowded and families have, notably, all been very respectful with their children knowing there are couples on vacation as well. I love sitting by the pool and I'm not usually a pool person.

We haven't done this yet, but there is a blueberry picking special available now which sounds wonderful. The folks at the LOC even clean and package the blueberries you pick.

There is a shuttle to town if you so desire.

A ping pong table by the pool and another game I can't think of the name of, you throw the sand bag through a hole from a distance-such fun...a real retro feel. And bicycles are provided for a leisurely ride around the hilly neighborhood or into town (less than a mile).

We first found the Lodge of the Cove in the Fall on 2013 and we have been back several times and will continue to stay with them....wish I were going today! Off to work now ~ Cathy Yetman

Room Tip: I've stayed in each section of the LOC all rooms are equally as nice, I do prefer the suite at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Cathy,

You are so nice. We love having you at the lodge on the cove. It is so enjoyable to converse each morning with you in the lodge. When other travelers read this I hope they understand that you have literally stayed in each section of our property. I love that each time you visit you mix it up a bit with the location of your room. You could be our Lodge on the Cove Spokeswoman! We hope to see you this Fall it just won't be the same if you don't come back to visit :)

Best Regards,

Heather Strout
Front Office Manager
heather@lodgeonthecove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    30
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
81
77
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were just here for vacation. The property has been beautifully updated! "Retro-beachy" for sure! The room decor and accommodations are excellent. The only downside to the room is it isn't sound proof. We were next to a noisy young child and could hear each yell, stomp, etc. Other than that, the rooms are excellent! They have a great poolside bar/restaurant with ping-pong, bags, and other board games. They also have cruiser bikes to use, and beach gear. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The only other downside is breakfast isn't included. They have complimentary coffee and muffins. If you want anything more, you can purchase at their cafe. All in all, this place is great! Highly recommended! We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kol2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear kol2468,

“Retro-beachy”-love it! Thank you for noticing all of the details of the renovation. Sorry that the room adjacent to yours was noisy; we apologize for that. Sometimes those instances are out of our hands so we do provide sound machines in each of the rooms to help provide a comfortable night’s sleep. Sounds like you got to enjoy our fun amenities on property such as our games, pool, and bicycles. Were you staying with us on any of the days that we have movie night or family yoga? Those are also some fun family activities. I will pass along your kind words to the rest of the Lodge on the Cove Team as we appreciate your compliments. Hope to see you again on your future travels to Kennebunkport.

Best Regards,
Heather Strout
Front Office Manager
heather@lodgeonthecove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We enjoyed 2 nights at the Lodge last week. Very comfortable rooms, especially the beds, nicely decorated in a contemporary, beachy theme. Pool, bar, bean bags and the Dory for snacks and breakfast. An easy walk to the Colony Beach or into town. Very nice property, tucked away in the woods and on a tidal cove. My only disappointment was that there was not more of a breakfast included in the room rate. I would have expected that, compared with other properties of similar price/value. Coffee and a muffin was included in the room rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear OKViking,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We do provide fresh baked pastries from our own bakery for guests that are included with the room rate. There are more options available in our café such as breakfast smoothies, espresso beverages, breakfast sandwiches, specialty pastries, and other items that are for purchase. We will definitely take your suggestion into consideration and we appreciate the feedback provided so that we may improve upon what we offer. Thank you for noticing the details within our design of the property as well as the other great amenities that we offer. Hope to see you again on your future travels to Kennebunkport!
Best Regards,
Heather Strout
Front Office Manager
heather@lodgeonthecove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We just spent a lovely few days at the Lodge on the Cove. It is a beautiful spot, that feels tucked away from the bustle of Kennebunkport but is an easy walk there . Very family friendly, with thoughtful and attentive staff. We especially loved the pool, and the fun and tasty snacks and drinks that we enjoyed by the pool. Our son also loved the nightly s'mores, and had great fun raiding the blueberry bushes outside our room (hopefully other guests were still able to find some after he left). He turned 5 during our visit and the staff thoughtfully left him a birthday card and treat in our room. Thanks for a wonderful stay-- we look forward to returning.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nalybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Nalybe,
Your family was such a treat to have stay with us. Your son is absolutely adorable and hopefully the memory of his fifth birthday will be one he looks back on for many years. Our blueberries are so delicious; it is so much fun to watch our guests pick them and enjoy them. We look forward to seeing you again on future trips to Kennebunkport.

Best Regards,
Heather Strout
Front Office Manager
heather@lodgeonthecove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lodge on the Cove is expensive but definitely worth the price. We spent 2 days three in late July and loved the whole experience. It was very relaxed and intimate with great customer service, the onsite food,pool and table tennis are great for families. The rooms are comfortable but designed for sleeping only. Location is great with stunning views if you go running or cycling along the coast straight out of the lodge. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarzansBIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear TarzansBIL,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your visit with other travelers. Your visit with us seemed to fulfill your vacation needs with some great rest and relaxation time. Kennebunkport is a beautiful location and we are within walking distance to town, the beach, and a nice stroll along Ocean Avenue. We are glad that you relaxed and enjoyed our onsite amenities. Hopefully on your next visit to Kennebunkport you choose to stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Heather Strout
Front Office Manager
heather@lodgeonthecove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lodge on the Cove was adorable, and my favorite hotel of the trip! I was clean, tons of activities, helpful staff, great views. There is a great pool that has a bar, restaurant, and ping-pong. We lounged by the pool during the day (the Maine beach is beautiful but full of pebbles and cold water).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Dannell M,
You made the most of your time with us at the lodge on the cove! Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about us. We are glad that you took notice of the many offerings we have. I definitely agree with you that the Maine waters are cold but beautiful!

Best Regards,
Heather Strout
Front Office Manager
heather@lodgeonthecove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A well presented lodge with good sized rooms and a pleasant pool area. The reception area has plenty of seating areas for the occasional rainy afternoon. Dinner shuttle was very useful - although it is only a 15 minute stroll into town. The restaurant is handy if you are around at lunch time although the morning cafe could be made more welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFarnhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeonthecove, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear TravelerFarnhamUK,
Sounds like you made the most of your vacation with us. You have definitely pinpointed some great tips for future travelers. We are in close proximity to town; you could walk, take the shuttle or even take one of our bikes. Our lodge has an abundance of classic board games and family bonding activities so that there is still a great place for everyone to get together on those rainy days. We would love to hear suggestions for the café; my email is listed below. We just recently changed it up a bit with adding more items for not only breakfast but also for a grab and go style lunch. We know you traveled to us from afar but we hope that your next trip to the states you would visit us again.

Best Regards,
Heather Strout
Front Office Manager
heather@lodgeonthecove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on the Cove

Property: The Lodge on the Cove
Address: 29 S Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge on the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on the Cove offers a modern and light hearted approach to the quintessential relaxed Maine experience. This newly furbished classic motor lodge is nestled on a wooded cove in Kennebunkport with a relaxed, yet refined, feel. The Lodge offers a vibrant mix of vintage, classic and contemporary furnishings, bold patterns and an upbeat color palette. It is a combination of natural elements, nautically inspired accents and local art that together bring an organic and eclectic Maine vibe. The Lodge will be the hub of activity with check in, lobby and a poolside bar – the perfect place for relaxing and soaking up the fresh Maine air. Onsite bar and restaurant, The Dory, will offer a wide array of fresh cocktails along with simple and delicious light fare. Glass doors open up to the pool deck creating a spacious area for games, gathering, dining or to simply just laze about. Welcoming and unassuming, The Lodge on the Cove is a happy place to visit, perfect for multi-generational travel, couples and young families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lodge on the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cove Hotel Kennebunkport
The Lodge On The Cove Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing