We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Memorial Day Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I spent our anniversary at the Boathouse over Memorial Day Weekend. We had a great experience from check-in to check-out. The hotel is located on the water just off Dock Square. There are many restaurants and shops just a short walk from the hotel.

Our room was located on a corner with floor to ceiling windows and two balconies that provided great views of the river. The room was large, comfortable and spotless. The kingsize bed was very comfortable. Service was also notable throughout our stay. The reserved parking space with our name was a nice touch.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Kennebunkport. We will be returning to the hotel this fall based on our stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jmwh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, General Manager at The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Jmwh7,
Thank you for writing a review. I am thrilled that you had a great experience from the moment you checked in until the moment you checked out. We take pride in providing our guests with an exceptional experience. We look forward to you stopping by to see us again this fall.
Sincerely,
Mindy M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was late September and the weather was perfect. My husband and I were attending his Fraternity's 50th Reunion - Theta Beta Pi. Upon entering the parking lot we were wondering if we would be able to find a space when I noticed an orange cone with our name on it! Imagine, our own parking spot for the whole weekend. The attention to service and guest comfort was first class. The Boathouse had just opened its doors that May but you would think they had been at it forever. We dined in the bar - which wraps around the entire outside of the dining area and inside to the entrance of the Dining room, with huge windows that open up to let the fresh air inside so that we didn't even have to physically go outside to enjoy the feel of dinning on the deck. We cannot wait to return for more long weekends at the Boathouse.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the town and front of the hotel. All the rooms are well insulated to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RipleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, General Manager at The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear RipleyB,
Thanks so much for such a great review! The restaurant does have a fabulous atmosphere and Kennebunkport is amazing in the fall. The cool sea breeze and the crowd size being smaller are great draws to coming in the off season. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Mindy M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay!!! I was here for two nights (May 2). The entire staff was very pleasant from my arrival to my departure. I stayed in room 201 which gave me two beautiful views and access to the stairs leading to the first floor lobby. i dined in their restaurant and the food was very good. I ate at the Hurricane restaurant the second night and the food was also good. The hotel is new and everything is decorated quite nicely. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: Try to get room 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothea4085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here over the winter, just looking for a quiet weekend away and that it was! We were given a very large comfortable room, linens were soft, bed was comfy, lovely view. We ordered the "Three Sheets to the Wind" package. One of the bartenders delivered martinis for 2 in a shaker directly to our room. We did eat at the bar, lots of appetizers to choose from during happy hour and we loved that it was not your oridnary "barfood". Most of the town was still shut down for winter but we didnt mind. The staff at the Boathouse hooked us up for a couples massage at a spa just down the street. Not one negative thing to say! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzybeetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed at the Boathouse for two nights in late March. There were so many extra touches that made our stay wonderful. The service was excellent. From beginning to end every member of the staff was extremely pleasant and professional. The hotel is less than a year old and everything is in great condition. The decor is inviting with beautiful nautical hues. The room was comfortable with a king size bed and balcony. The only disappointment was the room had only on lounge chair. The bathroom was well appointed and had a very large shower. If you know the town of Kennebunkport you know the parking can be tight. Fortunately, guests have an assigned parking space. The room came with a nice breakfast availalbe in the bar area. There was an extended happy hour each day (3-6pm) with reasonably price drinks and a very nice snack menu. We had the potstickers ($4) and the duck sliders ($6). They were both large servings and delicious. The bar was busy with hotel guests as well as locals. Seeing the good number of locals is a sign that the place is good. Check-in is 3:00 with check-out 11:00. The hotel is right in the center of the town so everything was very accessible. We ate at the in-house restaurant, David's KPT, and we very pleased. Every evening they feature a special item. We were there for pizza night and the dining room was full. There are only 12 rooms so it is an intimate setting and you get to know the staff. The hotel is situated right on the water. Most rooms have a water view with a couple in the front over looking the parking lot.

Room Tip: There are 12 rooms in this small hotel. Most have water views but a couple in the front overlook th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEM02882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We loved our stay here at the Boathouse. The customer service was top notch and the rooms were beautiful. Our room was very spacious with a king bed, separate seating area and very nice bathroom. All the decor is modern and coastal and they left a whoopie pie on our bed, YUM! The breakfast isn't elaborate but more than adequate for our needs and better than the average continental breakfast. My husband was excited to have salmon ( his favorite) as an option, fresh fruit, muffins, eggs and juice.

I was impressed by how busy the bar and restaurant were- even in winter.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Banyan room which was very large. View of the parking lot but we were still very pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed at the Boathouse for a couple of nights for a change of scenery. The good: Location. Hotel is located on a marina within walking distance of all Kennebunkport has to offer. Staff is fantastic-friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, right down to the doorman. Bedding is very good and very warm! We actually turned off the heat in the room to be more comfortable. Hotel was clean with the exception of sand on the rug (couldn't be helped because of the weather) and David's KPT (to be discussed under restaurants). Our room was right near the top of the stairs and as soon as we heard the noise from the bar and restaurant we thought "oh, great, no sleep this weekend!". I've never been more wrong. The soundproofing was amazing-once the glass door closed you could not hear a thing. There was occasional noise through the floor (our room was situated right above) but only when someone was extremely loud and was easily covered by the TV. Heater was very quiet. Room size wasn't huge, but more than adequate and the bathroom very well appointed. The good-by "gift bag" consisted of two bottles of water and the most incredibly delicious brownie-type cookie. The bad: Our room location (210) was directly over the front entrance of the hotel and faced the parking lot. When the restaurant and bar closed down there was considerable noise from people departing, especially those that were, well, let's just say "somewhat well lubed". On the upside the noise is short-lived (maybe 15 minutes) and everything shut down around 11, so it wasn't very late. The little things: OK, so this is nit-picking, but here goes. Robes that were supplied were wrinkled. Bed sheet was not tucked in properly when room was cleaned. Towels that we hung up were not "tidied". L'Occitane products were fine, but shampoo and conditioner were of poor quality and the body wash smelled like chocolate mint chip ice cream gone bad.

Overall it was a great weekend and I would highly recommend the hotel with the caveat that there may be some noise at closing time. Better sound-proof glass in the windows would help. Off-season rates are particularly attractive.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of property overlooking the parking lot may be a bit noisy at bar/restaurant clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outbacklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.1 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
#10 of 25 in Kennebunkport
330 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel

Address: 21 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: £121 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse's 25 modern guest rooms and suites pay homage to the property's waterfront location with rich colors and contemporary nautical elements. With contemporary touches like AppleTV and Keurig coffee makers, and luxurious comfort through Maine-made Cuddledown bedding and plush robes, your stay promises all you yearn for. Customized with Frette linens, iPod docking stations, complimentary wireless Internet and gleaming white subway tile bathrooms, each room showcases unique aspects of what Kennebunkport and The Boathouse have to offer. The Boathouse is comprised of two buildings - the Main building and the Wharfside building. Several rooms also offer private balcony spaces overlooking the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing