We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We LOVE this truck!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ocean Roll

The Ocean Roll
Ranked #19 of 45 Restaurants in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenville, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We LOVE this truck!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Once we had the twin lobsta roll special, we were hooked on this place!!!! This is a "must stop" on our trips to Maine. We always rode by and wondered, but now we know!!! The lobsta is so fresh & tasty, even the coleslaw is yummy! The staff has always been nice & friendly. We either eat there at one of their picnic tables, or we take it back to our motel room to enjoy with cocktails!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparkles350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    13
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Lobster roll in Kennebunks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Perfectly toasted roll. More than a 1/4 lb of fresh picked lobster week. I love the warm lobster roll with drawn butter. Cole slaw excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank counselorcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This lobster truck is so convenient and fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We've stopped by this truck several times before this visit. And most times, we 've planned a detour off Rt. 95 in order to have lunch there before continuing our journey. The lobster rolls are scrumptious so we've never partaken of the 50/50 burger (hamburger/bacon) but someday we'll try one. And it's fun to picnic under the trees and watch the world go by. Looking forward to our next trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainer
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Roll”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The lobster roll was delicious, very fresh and flavorful; lobster is mixed with the slightest bit of mayo, and served in a toasted hot dog roll with a sprinkling of diced celery on top. I thought this was odd at first, but makes perfect sense, adding it on top right before serving keeps the celery crisp and gives a great contrasting crunch with the tender lobster. I've had tons of lobster rolls, both locally and away, and this was one of the best. Some rolls are packed with lobster, but the lobster is lacking any flavor or too tough/chewy (probably because it's been around for a while). This lobster was absolutely fresh. Husband had the swordfish sandwich, and loved it. Even the cole slaw tasted homemade.
Only negative was it was very busy, and there was a 30 minute wait for the food (we went on a Sat evening). Since they call your name for pick up, you need to stay near the truck, and there was nowhere to sit and no shade.
We are locals and this will be a regular stop for us now!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Lobster Roll in entire area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Best Lobster Roll in entire area! The truck is so cute & clean too. Service was excellent. Two Lobster Rolls for $25 is a great bargain. Spent a week in Kennebunkport area eating lobster every day & this was honestly the best! We ate ours at the picnic tables with perfect French fries too. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pwpizzazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ocean Roll also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to The Ocean Roll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing