We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of The Ocean Roll

The Ocean Roll
Ranked #15 of 47 Restaurants in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
238 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

TIP: CASH only

OK. I have been on a quest to find the best lobster roll. This trip, this would have to go to The Ocean Roll in Kennebunk at the corner of Portland and Ross. The food truck (not a typo) rolls in from 11a-8p 7 days a week. You can have your roll with or without lettuce and celery. Have hot dogs or fried haddock for the non lobster lover. Good fries as well. Take out to the beach or sit in one of several RED picnic tables by the big RED truck.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LifeWithNoRegrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    13
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
395 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great Seafood. Excellent Prices”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This truck parked in a parking lot in front of an old building doesn't look that much from the street, but wait till you taste the lobster rolls and the fresh seafood... fantastic! We ordered by phone 15 minutes ahead of time and then went by to pick the food up. Everything was freshly cooked. The lobster rolls are excellent and less expensive than the Clam Shack on the bridge in Dock Square. The Maine shrimp were delicious, and for $13 there were about 30 of them, can't beat that. They have "half and half" burgers for non seafood lovers, half beef, half bacon... juicy! A great, large meal, for 4 people was under $50. They have picnic tables set up so you can eat by the truck. If you don't order by phone ahead of time, you may wait up to 30 minutes once in line to order. Very busy place. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
278 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Give It A Try”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We drive by this "Lunch Wagon" several times a week (in Kennebunk not Kennebunkport) and decided to give it a try rather than fight the Fourth of July traffic and crowds to go to our favorite fried seafood place. We've heard good reviews from friends and we'll add our own positive review to theirs.

We had a fried clam box and a side of fried haddock - cost $28. Prices and quantity are in line with local seafood restaurants. We knew the seafood would be fresh since it comes from a wholesale/retail place where we buy our seafood. The clams and haddock were wonderful. The fries - nothing special - I think they are the frozen type. I'd skip them next time as there was plenty of seafood.

We would not hesitate to go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaTravelerOahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We LOVE this truck!!!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Once we had the twin lobsta roll special, we were hooked on this place!!!! This is a "must stop" on our trips to Maine. We always rode by and wondered, but now we know!!! The lobsta is so fresh & tasty, even the coleslaw is yummy! The staff has always been nice & friendly. We either eat there at one of their picnic tables, or we take it back to our motel room to enjoy with cocktails!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparkles350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Lobster roll in Kennebunks”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Perfectly toasted roll. More than a 1/4 lb of fresh picked lobster week. I love the warm lobster roll with drawn butter. Cole slaw excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank counselorcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ocean Roll also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to The Ocean Roll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing