We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks Can Be Deceiving”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looks Can Be Deceiving”
Reviewed 6 November 2007

This looks like a great hotel. On the surface, it is. Beneath the surface, it leaves much to be desired. We arrived in the evening. The manager told us we did not need a reseravtion for a restaurant nearby. When we got there, they said we needed one. That is the level of service of this hotel. The staff seems tired. They are not particularly helpful at any time of the day. The appearance of the hotel is nice on the outside, but the hotel is showing its age. Breakfast was good but not great. Again, the service leaves much to be desired. The location is good, although a bit far away from the main part of Kennebunkport. If you want a bigger hotel in this area, this is probably the best choice. However, there seemed to be much better options when we looked around the town.

  • Liked — grounds
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    154
    61
    33
    29
See reviews for
164
188
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2007

Great deal off season! We had a huge room and large buffet breakfast included. Great location! Very clean. Only downside is all the dogs running around. However, our 3 year old loved it!!! The best part is you walk out the back door and down a path and you are at the beach! The breakfast was also outstanding. Waitstaff very personable. Front desk and lady in GM's office had no personality though.

Wouldn't pay full price.

  • Liked — Children welcome! Breakfast buffet & location!
  • Disliked — All the animals and smell of cat pee outside the door
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yankeepotroasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

Our 3 night stay was fine as we got a great deal. $124 per night 3 persons (2 rooms) B&B. Hotel eco friendly. Evening meal expensive compared to local places and not as good. Everybody wanted tips & they charge you $5 per person per day for those who you didn't tip. I don't think they understand tips are for good service, wages are for people doing their jobs. Great location opposite the ocean. Wouldn't stay there in height of season, but may return when a deal is on.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Leyther_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2007

My husband and took our dog here recently and had a wonderful mini break! The hotel is splendid with spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The rooms are spacious and clean with nice amenities. We booked a garden view room; but , we were amazed to find that that the room included a gorgeous ocean view with a glorious sunset. The service is outstanding and the staff are very polite. In particular, the dining experience should not be missed, especially the buffet breakfasts and dinner in the main dining room. I would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing getaway! This hotel deserves five plus stars!!!

PS For all of the dog lovers, this place should be a must on your list!

  • Liked — the dining, service, location
  • Disliked — nothing-Everything was perfect!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank egretwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington,Tx
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2007

As an ardent fan of "grand hotel lobbies"...we saw this grand lady and had to stop in and, check it out...What a pleasant view as soon as you walk in...the veranda overlooks the ocean...we enjoyed afternoon tea...and even had a couple of glasses of cordials toward evening...enjoyed a nap and a lovely sunset...
Enjoyed imaginations of yesteryear with visions of ladies in their big hats, and bustledresses...and men in their suits and derbies...ahhhhhh...what an elegant place and time...We loved it...

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank 2SERENDIPITYLOVERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2007

Plusses - The Colony is in a beautiful setting. The room in the main building was spacious. Negatives - no concierge (the front desk staff purports to fill this role, though many of the staff are foreign, and not knowledgable about the area- and in some cases not friendly). In mid-August the property was swarming with multigenerational families, many of whom have been coming here for years from what I overheard. Neither parents nor the hotel seemed to have any rules to control the kids. Forget abt a late afternoon nap. Children ran the halls at all hours; sounded like they were jumping on beds above us in the evening. Because the building is old and no a/c (so windows are open), no carpet in halls, there's no soundproofing. Maybe a good place to take kids but not for adults looking for a peaceful environment to enjoy one of the loveliest coastlines in the US. This was not clear from their website.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — unfriendly staff and unruly children
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2007

We stayed at the Colony Hotel on a whim as we were driving by on a Thursday night in September. It was after Labor Day so off-season and rather quiet. The staff was fantastic, room was clean and simple and the ocean views (and sound of crashing waves) was awesome. The breakfast was included in our rate and we loved it. Wonderful location across from beach and the bar by the pool was an excellent spot for a beer while watching the sunset. Our room did not have a tv which was fine with us. We walked to The Lobster Claw for dinner which was another highlight of our visit to Kennebunkport.

  • Liked — views, staff and facitility
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBHTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#5 of 5 in Kennebunkport
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing