We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel!”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for a wedding and really enjoyed the hotel and all the amenities. We opted for the rooms behind the actual hotel because we need a/c and a tv. The main hotel does not offer either a/c or tv in their rooms. It was a quick walk across the grass to the pool, shuffleboard and breakfast. The complimentary breakfast was incredible. The only criticism we had is that bar closes early in the evening(like 10pm!), due to guests rooms above. It's a quick walk to downtown and they do have a shuttle service. Overall a great time!

Room Tip: If you can do without a/c and tv, get a main hotel room, it has a beautiful ocean view and is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    150
    60
    32
    28
See reviews for
158
179
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newmanstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We traveled to Maine with a teenaged daughter. We decided to stay in this resort because of its history. After reading some reviews I thought this place would be run down and worn out. It was not.

If you are looking for a young place with a lot of action, do not go here. This place is laid back and comfortable. The room in the East House had a/c, while the rooms in the main building do not. The a/c would not have been needed had the windows in our room opened. There was a breeze coming off of the ocean constantly. The beds in the room were soft and comfortable. The other furniture was "country" in style. Nice and homey.

The hotel is located just a short distance, 200 ft or so, from the ocean. And you can see the water from the Main building from almost anywhere. The pool is saltwater and heated, very nice. Just a warning, the pool drops from 5 ft to 7 ft abruptly.

Pets are allowed which we found refreshing, especially since we were missing our baby boxer.

We could go on and on. Loved this resort and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shartmoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here for one night with our 3 children. The hotel is an old, restored hotel. Very quaint and decorated New England. I found a hair in my bathroom when we arrived and there was mold all around the tub (ugh) and there is no A/C in the hotel. These were the negatives. The positives were the breakfast was unbelievable (and I'm not an eater), the view was outstanding, and the service was good. Kennebunkport is really a town for fishing, boating, and tshirt shopping. We had some great lobster as well. Great hotel, probably wouldn't run back!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank spin4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is the second time I've stayed at the Colony, and I enjoyed it just as much as the first. I stayed in the east house, which is a small building across the street from the main hotel. While the east house doesn't have the same character and charm as the main hotel, I requested it because the rooms are bigger, have a/c, and a television - the rooms in the main hotel do not.
I love the Colony's proximity to the ocean, with their own private beach for guests, and their wonderful salt water pool. The hotel's location is close enough to walk into town, but without the crowds of dock square.
While I enjoyed my stay, it may not be for everyone! If you're looking for a luxurious room, this is not the place for you! The rooms are quaint and old fashioned, but comfortable. The price of the rooms is high, but seems comparable to most hotel and b & b's I researched.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms get the best breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitney1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Absolutely enchanting Hotel with the most beautiful rooms.This almost 100 year old Hotel is in wonderful condition and meticously maintained.The staff is is friendly and very professional.The views are unmatched.Every bit worth the price.Not just a place to stay ,but a truely memorable experince.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 163 ,couldn't be better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonandCheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

On July 19, 2011 my wife and I checked into the hotel around 7:00PM. We were staying in the "EAST HOUSE" which is located about 200 feet from the main lobby. The Hotel employees are housed along the left side of the parking lot in the front of the Hotel property (near the EAST HOUSE). Five male employees were hanging out along the front parking lot. Approximately 30 minutes after we checked in and put our luggage in our room, my wife and I walked towards the main lobby because we were going to the Dining Room. As we were walking towards the lobby, the five men (hotel employees) were still hanging out along the parking lot. It was obvious that some of the employees were arguing, then fists started flying; one of men was hit in the head and dropped to the ground. He tried to get up and fell back down. The other men were still pushing each other.
A young female supervisor was running towards the melee. She was laughing!!! The guy was still on the ground and she continued laughing! I wondered if this type of bad behaviour occured frequently with Hotel employees?
What about the reaction of hotel guests, especially the children, that were witnessing this bad behaviour. I reported the incident to the the main desk personnel and the Manager on Duty (an older woman) seemed to be much more concerned about the issue than the young female.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ALWReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonyHotel_2, General Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2011
We apologize if the employee disturbance of the early evening on July 19 was troubling to any of our guests. The incident has been investigated and determined to be a mutual disagreement between employees that have been co-workers for years. Although it seemed grave at the time no one was seriously injured. The issues that lead to this situation were resolved and everyone was working on good terms the next day. This was an unusual occurrence for us. Our staff have always worked together as a team to provide the best guest experience possible. Disagreement such as this among employees is not a common event and we regret that this happened in the manner that it did. We apologize again to any of our guests that witnessed and were troubled by this event.
Donna Kabay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The Colony is good for young families, seniors and those who would not consider going anywhere without Fido. The Pros: Excellent oceanfront location situated on a high bluff, large wrap-around porch with beautiful views, generous buffet breakfast, large swimming pool, courteous staff and beautiful gardens which open to some nice walking paths. The Cons: Guest rooms in the main building are depressingly small except for the oceanfront King Grand rooms; bathrooms are tiny; furnishings are done on the cheap. Dining room and bar are too dark and stuffy for a beach hotel, and there is no outdoor romantic area for cocktails. We ended up going to the hotel across the street for drinks and sunset viewing. All things considered, I think The Colony offers good value because their prices seem to be a little lower than the other hotels.

Room Tip: Request King Grand oceanfront room for size and breezes. There is no A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.0 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing