We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay, comfortable setting”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Very small room. Appeared to be an adjoining bedroom with a very small bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattGNHUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Colony Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

Upon entering the lobby I felt transported. The lobby is gracious, tasteful and warm with stunning views of the ocean beyond. If you appreciate the ambiance of grand old hotels, this delivers. And if you know the style of Sister Parrish, you will appreciate the decor, which has dramatic touches of red giving it a fresh somewhat eclectic look. I enjoyed my room. Having read some reviews that spoke of noise, I did not experience any. The hallways are wide and gracious, and while you can hear doors close, it is not any different than other hotels. My room had tasteful traditional wall paper and the moldings had a just-painted look. And I was delighted with the wool mattress pad on the bed which had a good quality mattress. The breakfast was fabulous. The choices were terrfic, with excellent blueberry pancakes. And if that's not enough, the dining room overlooks the ocean.The pool is terrific and with high quality lounge chairs. The staff was very courteous and professional. As for food in the area, the lobster roll at Mabel's next door is excellent and worth it. The Chowder House in Cape Porpoise has unbeatable charm with its view of the bay, however the food is disappointing. The batter on their fried food is thick and flavorless. Be warned. Bottom line: if you like a Marriott style hotel, you may be disappointed. I'll be back!

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the end of the hallways if you're concerned about noise.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Toupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Even though all services were not open for the season, it was a relaxing stay. No TVs in the rooms but free WiFi. Among the best free Breakfasts possible.

Helpful and knowledgeable staff (several spoke French) and wonderful sights and surroundings. Great restaurants nearby and even factory outlets in Kittery. Couldn't get any better.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohannOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Nice service. Food good, especially breakfast buffet (included in room rate). We stayed during high season so rates were very high. Saltwater pool was nice. Town is, as expected, very crowded during beach season. No television and no air conditioning in rooms.. Room size fine. Bed ok. Shower nice. The back porch is where to sit and read or soak in the ambience. Room that connected did so through the bathroom. Locked doors on both sides can then present problems with access to bath.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paydayfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for a wedding and really enjoyed the hotel and all the amenities. We opted for the rooms behind the actual hotel because we need a/c and a tv. The main hotel does not offer either a/c or tv in their rooms. It was a quick walk across the grass to the pool, shuffleboard and breakfast. The complimentary breakfast was incredible. The only criticism we had is that bar closes early in the evening(like 10pm!), due to guests rooms above. It's a quick walk to downtown and they do have a shuttle service. Overall a great time!

Room Tip: If you can do without a/c and tv, get a main hotel room, it has a beautiful ocean view and is a bit...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We traveled to Maine with a teenaged daughter. We decided to stay in this resort because of its history. After reading some reviews I thought this place would be run down and worn out. It was not.

If you are looking for a young place with a lot of action, do not go here. This place is laid back and comfortable. The room in the East House had a/c, while the rooms in the main building do not. The a/c would not have been needed had the windows in our room opened. There was a breeze coming off of the ocean constantly. The beds in the room were soft and comfortable. The other furniture was "country" in style. Nice and homey.

The hotel is located just a short distance, 200 ft or so, from the ocean. And you can see the water from the Main building from almost anywhere. The pool is saltwater and heated, very nice. Just a warning, the pool drops from 5 ft to 7 ft abruptly.

Pets are allowed which we found refreshing, especially since we were missing our baby boxer.

We could go on and on. Loved this resort and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shartmoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here for one night with our 3 children. The hotel is an old, restored hotel. Very quaint and decorated New England. I found a hair in my bathroom when we arrived and there was mold all around the tub (ugh) and there is no A/C in the hotel. These were the negatives. The positives were the breakfast was unbelievable (and I'm not an eater), the view was outstanding, and the service was good. Kennebunkport is really a town for fishing, boating, and tshirt shopping. We had some great lobster as well. Great hotel, probably wouldn't run back!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank spin4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,732 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: £123 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing