We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loud and overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colony Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loud and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My wife and I spent a weekend recently at the Colony - Our rooms were in Galland house, which is off the main buildings, Grounds and view from the pool area were great. Lunch food was terrible, although the breakfast buffet was good. Biggest disappointment was our room in the Galland House. Extremely loud - when a guest entered the building you knew it.. Extremely loud - we got no sleep. Never mind we had small children somewhere in the building making it impossible to relax. Room was not up to what you'd expect in a regular highway hotel room.. no bathroom fan, etc...room was incredibly overpriced and this part of the hotel should definitely be avoided.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brutus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    150
    60
    32
    28
See reviews for
158
179
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belmar NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Found this hotel on-line and was not disappointed. The Pool was beautiful and the setting relaxing. The food was excellent as well. The drive along the shore to reach the hotel was enjoyable as well. We stayed at the Union Bluff Hotel in York Beach on the ride there and our experience was awful and do not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

When we arrived for a wedding at the Colony, the woman who checked us in was unpleasant and seemed irritated, as if we were inconveniencing her. It was not the hospitality that one would think would be found at an old hotel of this genre. The hotel staff that we encountered the next morning however was both pleasant and professional. The main building itself is charming but shows its age.

Our room was in a separate building across the street and not connected to the main building where there are none of the advertized views. The room had been remodeled with a modern bathroom but the room smelled of mold. Kinnebunkport is a charming little town and we will return but we can certainly do better staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building if you want a view and the old hotel charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights and wish it could have been longer. The rooms and grounds were impecable! The views were incredible! The food was delectable! It was a grand old hotel with no TV or AC. A time for thoughts and quiet relaxing. The only draw back was because it is old you hear everything especially the dogs which are welcomed there. I think maybe they should set aside one of there other buildings for people who need to bring their dogs. It's a place you will always remember and want to go back to!

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

As we were driving the road from the Bush compound to Kennebunkport, we found The Colony Hotel. It looked so delightfully old-fashioned (kind of like the Grand Hotel on Mackinaw Island, Michigan) that we decided to stop there for lunch. The lobby of The Colony is just beautiful, and the place has been preserved well. The furniture looks comfortable, and there is a big fireplace. When you walk in the front doors you can see straight through the back doors to the ocean - very pretty! There is a beautiful, long back porch with seating and tables, there is a salt water pool in the back, too. The dining room was closed but the front desk pointed us to The Marine Room, which is a bar with a food menu. Two of us ordered the "Earth sandwich" - vegetables on mulit-grain bread, (I am a vegetarian), and it was really good! Our other friend order the clam chowder and said it was very good. We requested to sit on the back porch, and the waiter brought our food up to a table there. It was so pleasant to sit there and look out on the sparkling sea. We also saw a family with children playing with mini-golf clubs on the lawn, and many people were sitting by the pool. The view is magnificent to the ocean, and there was a nice breeze.
We only ate lunch at The Colony and did not stay here, but it looked so nice that I definitely would stay here on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jainsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Looking for a place with old-world charm, an elegant lobby, a restful welcoming room (really comfortable bed), and a spectacular view of the ocean? Longing to enjoy a salt water breeze and a view of Maine’s rocky coast while reading on thick cushioned porch chairs? Wishing you could start your day with a swim in a heated (open from dawn to dusk) salt water pool? I found it all at The Colony. Coffee or tea in the lobby, then a morning swim is my idea of a wonderful way to begin the day. As my grandmother used to say, a little Epson salt and warm water will cure almost everything. It works for me and here we have it on a grand scale. The pool heated to a temperature that balances out the cool Maine morning rejuvenates and restores the body and spirit in a magnificent outdoor spa-like experience. After pausing to delight in the expansive view of the ocean I decided to take the short flower lined garden path down to the Beach to enjoy the sound of the waves before joining others in my family for the complimentary Breakfast buffet back in the hotel. Don’t miss the blueberry pancakes and that’s real maple syrup (good for you)! Dinner was excellent and the pool-side lunch offers choices for children as well as satisfying my craving for Maine Crab Cakes. After a short rest on the really comfortable lounge chairs by the pool I rented a bike and helmet and rode the magnificent back streets of Kennebunkport enjoying the gardens, the views, and the historically significant architecture. This is place, easy for a single woman to enjoy, and definitely not to missed by anyone!

Room Tip: I didn't get the most expensive room, but I had a view, it was quiet and the bathroom and soakin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

The setting is very nice, right on the beach. The rooms are clean but a bit small. It's missing a lot of things (TV,Phone,AC). With the ocean breeze its not bad but you would think for the price they should have all those things.(the wi-fi is very slow) The free breakfast is below average and not kid friendly at all. Also it is quite a walk to get to the beach and you can't rent beach chairs from the hotel. All in all not a bad place to stay the setting is great. The staff is also very welcoming to pets.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.0 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing