We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping back in time”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stepping back in time”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

If you like the idea of stepping back into the 20s or 30s, this is the hotel for you. I kept waiting of Mr. Poirot and Captain Hastings to show up to either a) solve the crime or b) take tea in a wicker chair on the back porch. However, if you're not into slanted floorboards, hearing muffled neighboring room conversations, open window breezes and chatting with the Hungarian college students working here over summer break, this is not the place for you. Only TVs are in the lounges downstairs and keys are old-fashioned in the locks sort of affairs. Great views, atmosphere, and the same shuffleboard courts that have been there for decades. Staying after Labor Day, it was mostly and older crowd or 30/40 somethings with preschoolers or couples (as would make sense). I can't imagine what this place would be like at the height of summer. Friendly staff, an excellent hot breakfast, a hot shower, all is well. Note: Due to being able to hear people about/outside, I ended up turning on a tower fan that was in my room not because it was warm, but because I was trying to create some background white noise. Helped a little with sleeping. A neat place, but not for everyone.

Room Tip: I had a special $99 rate from the hotel's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel5425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    153
    61
    32
    28
See reviews for
161
185
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We were so excited to stay at The Colony Hotel after reading about it and seeing photos. Unfortunately, it wasn't all that it was built up to be. Our room had no views, smelled of mold and was very noisy. I didn't sleep through the night any of the 4 nights we were there.
We were also surprised at the attitude of much of the staff. The restaurant staff was friendly and hospitable but that was about the only people that seemed happy to have us there. We enjoyed the town but should we return, we will find a different place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want views at this hotel, be sure to stay in the main building, but know that you won't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My wife and I spent a weekend recently at the Colony - Our rooms were in Galland house, which is off the main buildings, Grounds and view from the pool area were great. Lunch food was terrible, although the breakfast buffet was good. Biggest disappointment was our room in the Galland House. Extremely loud - when a guest entered the building you knew it.. Extremely loud - we got no sleep. Never mind we had small children somewhere in the building making it impossible to relax. Room was not up to what you'd expect in a regular highway hotel room.. no bathroom fan, etc...room was incredibly overpriced and this part of the hotel should definitely be avoided.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brutus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmar NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Found this hotel on-line and was not disappointed. The Pool was beautiful and the setting relaxing. The food was excellent as well. The drive along the shore to reach the hotel was enjoyable as well. We stayed at the Union Bluff Hotel in York Beach on the ride there and our experience was awful and do not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

When we arrived for a wedding at the Colony, the woman who checked us in was unpleasant and seemed irritated, as if we were inconveniencing her. It was not the hospitality that one would think would be found at an old hotel of this genre. The hotel staff that we encountered the next morning however was both pleasant and professional. The main building itself is charming but shows its age.

Our room was in a separate building across the street and not connected to the main building where there are none of the advertized views. The room had been remodeled with a modern bathroom but the room smelled of mold. Kinnebunkport is a charming little town and we will return but we can certainly do better staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building if you want a view and the old hotel charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights and wish it could have been longer. The rooms and grounds were impecable! The views were incredible! The food was delectable! It was a grand old hotel with no TV or AC. A time for thoughts and quiet relaxing. The only draw back was because it is old you hear everything especially the dogs which are welcomed there. I think maybe they should set aside one of there other buildings for people who need to bring their dogs. It's a place you will always remember and want to go back to!

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

As we were driving the road from the Bush compound to Kennebunkport, we found The Colony Hotel. It looked so delightfully old-fashioned (kind of like the Grand Hotel on Mackinaw Island, Michigan) that we decided to stop there for lunch. The lobby of The Colony is just beautiful, and the place has been preserved well. The furniture looks comfortable, and there is a big fireplace. When you walk in the front doors you can see straight through the back doors to the ocean - very pretty! There is a beautiful, long back porch with seating and tables, there is a salt water pool in the back, too. The dining room was closed but the front desk pointed us to The Marine Room, which is a bar with a food menu. Two of us ordered the "Earth sandwich" - vegetables on mulit-grain bread, (I am a vegetarian), and it was really good! Our other friend order the clam chowder and said it was very good. We requested to sit on the back porch, and the waiter brought our food up to a table there. It was so pleasant to sit there and look out on the sparkling sea. We also saw a family with children playing with mini-golf clubs on the lawn, and many people were sitting by the pool. The view is magnificent to the ocean, and there was a nice breeze.
We only ate lunch at The Colony and did not stay here, but it looked so nice that I definitely would stay here on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jainsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,654 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#5 of 5 in Kennebunkport
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing