We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Hotel in Maine”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Perfect Hotel in Maine”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have been going to The Colony Hotel in Kennebunport, Maine for twenty-seven years and it continues to be one of our favorite vacation destinations. The rooms are lovely with furniture and wall coverings that truly reflect the beauty of the Maine coast. The entire staff is friendly and helpful and seem dedicated to making your stay at The Colony a special one. We love the delicious and plentiful breakfast buffet and the dining room staff have always been so very nice. The view from the spacious back porch, with its beautiful gardens, is a special treat for every guest of the hotel. We really cannot say enough good things about The Colony Hotel!!

Room Tip: One with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesterjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    152
    61
    32
    28
See reviews for
159
182
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Always wanted to stay here! Had a lovely room with beautiful view. Not as pricey as I thought it would be. Terrific employees. First class all the way. Delightful breakfast included in price in a classic dining area with music from the 40s, which is very appropriate. Great sleep on a comfy mattress. No TV in room made us want to venture out on the beautiful grounds and across the street to the beach. Walking distance to St. Anne's Church and beautiful neighborhoods.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventuremanUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We just returned from a lovely weekend in Maine for a family wedding. What a wonderful stay we had at The Colony - large, comfortable room; gorgeous setting; incredible FULL breakfast (included in the night stay rate) and fabulous staff. Would highly recommend and definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzzywalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, NH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We spent a night and day here in August and thoroughly enjoyed it. The grounds are beautiful with just a little street between it and the Maine coast. The room was small but nicely decorated with an old Inn feel. The breakfast was included with a nice selection of items. It is in their restaurant with views of the grounds and sea. We rented their bicycles and biked up to Cape Porpoise and back through town. The staff was very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGal-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My husband, puppy and I stayed at the Colony in September. We were pleasantly surprised! I thought, from looking online, that it might be dilapidated or gross from allowing dogs. This hotel has the look of a beautiful private estate, out of "Gone with the Wind" style. The rooms are white and immaculate. The view is one of the best. Sitting on the veranda was charming with a magnificent view of the ocean and the pool below. We loved the outdoor restaurant with our Yorkie. The only drawback was no T.V. or airconditioning in the main house. The inexpensive price ($99) was a pretty good compenasation.

Room Tip: Be sure to face the ocean and not the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfaiella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willimantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My husband and I traveled to Kennebunkport for business and stayed at The Colony Hotel. It was one of the most pet friendly inns we have ever stayed at and our pooch was very comfortable. Location was fantastic. The property had many neat, historic features. If you stay in one of the smaller guest house rooms (not in the main part of the hotel) you will have a TV and temperature controls. In the main part of the historic inn there didn't appear to be TVs or climate control in the rooms. The beds/bedding were very comfortable and provided a good night's rest.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uconn_cappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We spent a night at the Colony's detached, but close-by Galland house (3rd floor, King). The house is old and a little worn, true. But the accommodations were more than decent and just $99 a night. The hotel property, of course, is magnificent. Lots of amenities, great location. The included breakfast was fabulous...worth $20 per person, easily. Staff is great too. Can't beat the Colony for value, at least the Galland house.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neverflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing