We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the BEST!!”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the BEST!!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We did not have a reservation but did not have a problem getting a room mid October. We drove to the East Coast to see the Fall color. We planned to drive through Kennebunkport....when we saw this hotel, we decided to stay the night. It was irresistible: the sprawling porches, dining room views, and the ocean. We loved our room with Waverly wallpapered walls, very clean and updated bathroom, and a lovely king bed. It felt like we stepped back in time! A wonderful breakfast buffet was included, and we sat with a great view of the water. We give this hotel the highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    150
    60
    32
    28
See reviews for
158
179
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The moment we walked into the Colony Hotel when we were searching for a wedding venue a year ago, we knew this was the place for us. It really is the quintessential New England old world seaside resort hotel, with expansive porches & large windows to enjoy the sweeping sea views. The experience we had with our wedding there this fall was absolutely perfect, thanks to Christian McCrory & the fantastic staff at the hotel. Christian was a pleasure to work with from the start, always promptly responding to any questions or concerns I had, and making the entire process of wedding planning easy and stress free. The day of our wedding, I didn't have to worry about a thing, he handled any issues that came up, and as sweet as he is, was a bulldog for us when he needed to be. Everything ran so smoothly, and we were able to just relax and enjoy the day and the entire experience. The ceremony site and the ballroom are both absolutely beautiful, and our food that day was delicious. The resounding response from our guests was "Best wedding ever!" and although I'm probably a little partial, I completely agree :)

Room Tip: If you're traveling with family or a few other couples, look into renting the Florence House tog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluesky1142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Came to The Colony for a nursing leadership conference. What a wonderful location. Talk about old New England charm. From the minute you go in you are welcomed by a wonderful staff. I had a room facing the ocean. Very large and spacious with comfy beds. It was very cold in the room and it took me a while to realize there was baseboard heating that had a knob on the end of it. We had breakfast and lunch as part of the conference. For buffet style the food was quite good and I have to say the clam chowder was excellent. The accommodations for the conference was the standard that you would find anywhere, but the young woman who took care of things was lovely. Nice little bar area for watching the Red Sox. There are no tvs in the main hotel, but to quote my husband "that is an attraction for some people!!!" I highly recommend this destination.

Room Tip: Face the ocean, and higher up for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebjrnBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

When you realize even a run of the mill chain motel runs you $125/night in a busy metro area, you come to appreciate the incredible value of staying at the Colony Inn. Yes, some rooms were more expensive but our room in the original inn was charming, delightful and extremely comfortable...with an ocean view, to boot. And the walk-in closet would rival some bedrooms in size!
We expected the room and restaurant to be much more expensive, and likely at the height of the season may have been. Traveling the third week of October has its advantages.
Very helpful front desk staff and we enjoyed the countries represented in all staff who worked diligently and enthusiastically to ensure our stay was a good one.
Only negative is you can hear voices in neighboring rooms...older inns likely all have that, but fortunately everyone had the decency to retire early. Can't wait to explore the area tomorrow!

Room Tip: We got an upgrade upon checking in...another benefit of traveling at the end of peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Enjoyed one short overnight at the Colony Hotel. In the fall, the sun sets over the water given the way the hotel grounds are situated - it was stunning - brilliant reds and oranges. They have a lovely large porch with plenty of seating to accommodate those wishing to enjoy the peaceful end of day. Room as average - no TV but there was WiFi. It is a very old building so the heat is spotty. The great room sported a wonderful woodburning fireplace that was well tended to. The food was yummy (had a work mtg there).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahT1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I spent Columbus Day weekend here with another couple and this venue exceeded our expectations.

This "grand hotel" overlooks the beautiful Maine coast and is well-appointed throughout. Service is gracious. Breakfast, which was included, was healthy and delicious and we bundled up in warm clothes and sat out on a large porch to dine and watch the waves.

We took our chocolate cockapoo, Alexis, and she got many treats from the staff. Maine is very dog-friendly and she accompanied us everywhere, except into establishments serving food. That said, she was welcome at outdoor cafes.

Our room was lovely, with a king bed (one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on), high ceilings, huge windows and a gorgeous view of the ocean. There was even a special dog quilt for Alexis!

The hotel is located on Ocean Ave., which, true to its name, runs along the ocean past the Bush family compound. There are sidewalks, and a long walk would be lovely.

Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, next to a long porch where events were held. It could be noisy, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liviBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Not just pet-tolerant but pet-welcoming. They had a special quilt on the bed for the dogs and pet towels by the pool in case you want to take your dog to the ocean.

Room was large and clean in the Galland House section we were in. You would want to know, though, that the Galland is not attached to the rest of the hotel. We walked out of parking lot and about 200 ft. down a road to get to it. Our room was up two flights of stairs. For some reason, they called it a garden view room, but we didn't see any garden. Will try to post our picture later.

The staff we met were super nice and most were kind to our dogs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tlshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing