We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing dog friendly resort”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Only stayed one night, the views were amazing, the property is extremely pet friendly including special pet beds set out for your furry friends. Was so nice to romp with the dogs, yes 2 dogs on the beach in the morning and they were greeted and allowed almost everywhere in the resort. Room 705 in the east building was nice and very accommodating for pets, service staff was very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Pet travelers paradise, main building has no a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Compuwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

So excited to be getting married here in less than 4 months!!! The staff is amazing and the grounds are absolutely stunning...only hotel overlooking the ocean with a salt water pool that makes you feel as though you are still right on the ocean. We have stayed in the balcony ocean view suite and it's the most gorgeous room in the hotel. I cannot wait to spend the best day of my life here! Save the Date 9.7.14 - See you there!!! Amy & Andrew

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a family getaway and had a really great time. The hotel was nice, I liked it was an older hotel. Our room was great, the pool was fantastic, the restaurant was nice and all the attractions nearby were so much fun. Our only issue was the wifi, it was really really horrible.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hismuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is beautiful and well located. The large salt water pool is a great feature and was never crowded even in the middle of summer. The breakfast is delicious and an upgrade from the usual hotel breakfast. The proximity to the beach is the best part of this hotel. The kids and I had a wonderful time searching for sea life in the tide pools and building sand castles. We stayed in the east building and the room was not as nice as the rest of the hotel and very hot as the AC did not function properly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Colony Hotel is situated perfectly in Kennebunkport, Maine. The view from the wonderful large porch is Hollywood quality! Not only is the wide expanse of the ocean amazing, but the hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens that are well tended. The rooms are lovely and are kept looking that way by an outstanding housekeeping staff. The entire hotel staff is super friendly and helpful and are always available to the guests. This is indeed a perfect place for a Maine vacation, either in summer or fall!

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building with an ocean view, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lesterjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have stayed at The Colony Hotel many times over the years. My review may be a bit bias as it is one of my all time favorite places to stay.The Colony is a historic hotel and it is well maintained in the style of the era in which it was built. If you are looking for an ultra modern suite this may not be the place for you but if you want quintesential coastal New England this is it! The building,grounds and location are just beautiful. Gorgeous gardens and views of the ocean. Great shoppping,dining and beaches nearby. I start to relax the minute we pull into the drive! Not to mention the fantastic breakfast buffet they offer every morning which is included in your stay.
I feel I must comment on an earlier reviewer who negatively reviewed the staff. I would just like to speak to how we have found them over the years. We have never found the staff to be unfriendly or unhappy looking. We have found them to be nothing but gracious and accomodating, They always go the extra step to make sure your stay is special. Last summer we stayed eight times and always they gave us the room we had requested. When we had friends come they managed to always get them in the same building and when our son unexpectedly came in from out of town in the middle of high season they found him a room and only charged the lower rate that we were paying for the room we we in. Those are only a few of the things we encountered with the staff. Many of them return year after year and they take great pride in making your visit memorable.

Room Tip: Book early to get the best rates. Very reasonable considering the location and a full breakfast incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Tired, old, dark rooms and halls. Rooms need alot of updating. Unfriendly, unhappy looking staff. Not very clean. Perfect location, but thats about the only plus this hotel has to offer. Would be nice with some improvements.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SherryT1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
678 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
315 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
1 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: £135 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing