We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel, great scenery, good breakfast”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel, great scenery, good breakfast”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for Sat of Memorial Day weekend. We actually stayed in the East House which is across the road and didn't offer the wonderful sea views. Staff were really friendly and the rooms were clean and well appointed. Breakfast was really good for a buffet with so many people. The main hotel is a lovely building with great sea views.

Room Tip: The East House does not have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CabinteelyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    153
    61
    32
    28
See reviews for
161
185
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prairieville, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The beautiful old hotel served a delicious breakfast and lunch daily, we opted for the newer building with air conditioning, the room was bright and cheerful, nice outdoor seating area by the pool along with a bar near the pool. Walk across the street to beach. My personal opinion is that town is a little far to walk at night, but it is a nice busy area with several restaurants and shops. Enjoyed a lemon drop martini at night by the pool and watched the sunset each night. Am planning a trip back this year

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goffstown, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Only stayed one night, the views were amazing, the property is extremely pet friendly including special pet beds set out for your furry friends. Was so nice to romp with the dogs, yes 2 dogs on the beach in the morning and they were greeted and allowed almost everywhere in the resort. Room 705 in the east building was nice and very accommodating for pets, service staff was very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Pet travelers paradise, main building has no a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Compuwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

So excited to be getting married here in less than 4 months!!! The staff is amazing and the grounds are absolutely stunning...only hotel overlooking the ocean with a salt water pool that makes you feel as though you are still right on the ocean. We have stayed in the balcony ocean view suite and it's the most gorgeous room in the hotel. I cannot wait to spend the best day of my life here! Save the Date 9.7.14 - See you there!!! Amy & Andrew

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, MA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a family getaway and had a really great time. The hotel was nice, I liked it was an older hotel. Our room was great, the pool was fantastic, the restaurant was nice and all the attractions nearby were so much fun. Our only issue was the wifi, it was really really horrible.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hismuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is beautiful and well located. The large salt water pool is a great feature and was never crowded even in the middle of summer. The breakfast is delicious and an upgrade from the usual hotel breakfast. The proximity to the beach is the best part of this hotel. The kids and I had a wonderful time searching for sea life in the tide pools and building sand castles. We stayed in the east building and the room was not as nice as the rest of the hotel and very hot as the AC did not function properly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Colony Hotel is situated perfectly in Kennebunkport, Maine. The view from the wonderful large porch is Hollywood quality! Not only is the wide expanse of the ocean amazing, but the hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens that are well tended. The rooms are lovely and are kept looking that way by an outstanding housekeeping staff. The entire hotel staff is super friendly and helpful and are always available to the guests. This is indeed a perfect place for a Maine vacation, either in summer or fall!

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building with an ocean view, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lesterjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,653 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing