We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Oasis”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Seaside Oasis”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have held meeting at this lovely hotel for several years now. It reminds me of the movie "World According to Garp" with the big porches overlooking the ocean. I prefer the rooms on the second floor. I had #245 this year and it was spacious with a desk in front of three big windows looking out at the ocean over the salt water pool. The flowered wall paper is a bit over the top but other than that the room was nice. This is a pet friendly hotel, nice walking path takes you past the Bush Compound along the ocean front.

The bar serves generous portions and the pub food seems to be better than last year but not great.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    154
    61
    33
    29
See reviews for
164
188
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you are traveling with a family to Kennebunkport you may find some B&B's do not allow children (teens even) but that's OK! Because Colony Hotel is absolutely perfect for a quiet, romantic get a way and even for awesome with 'cool' teenagers. It has everything a for a relaxing and fun vacation. The hotel staff was excellent, the rooms are sweet, the food is great and the PRICE IS FANTASTIC. The beach is perfect, the views are incredible the food is good for adults and kids, the pool is quiet but the kids had fun. The Lobby is quintessential Maine-as is the town down the street. I would go back a million times. Hoping that all my friends will be able to experience this perfect little piece of Maine.

Room Tip: The large hotel has no air (not really a must in Maine), but the other buildings do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We just spent the weekend at the Colony. The location is awesome and the service is excellent. There is a heated, salt water pool and the deck and living room are great places to relax and read and/or enjoy the awesome views. Although we didn't bring our dogs (living in Atlanta, getting them there would be a challenge) we loved the dog friendly environment. There are two issues that cost them a star. The first is the lack of Air-conditioning - while the temp was cool, sleeping with windows open gives lots of noise from the voices of other patrons to birds starting to chirp at 3:30am which can be sleep disruptive. The second are beds advertised as queen which are in reality doubles. This is a place to which we will return but definitely in a KING room and no earlier than July because we can't imagine what it would be with no AC if the temp is higher than 65 degrees. Finally, the bar closes at 10pm although the crowd was able to sway them to stay open a little later on Friday night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edhyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place feels like old time New England. Its not modern or updated. So it can seem a bit old fashioned. But it has character and class and quite a view. My guest room was clean and cute. No tv, though. That was a big bummer for me. But full breakfast every morning was a nice treat to look forward to. And the dining rooms' views cannot be beat. The meeting rooms were nice, though very hard to control the temperature. The chef prepared vegetarian food for our group and it was delicious. But the servers need to do a better job of making sure there is water in the meeting rooms. We ran out and were never refilled on all of the days we were there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emidolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for Sat of Memorial Day weekend. We actually stayed in the East House which is across the road and didn't offer the wonderful sea views. Staff were really friendly and the rooms were clean and well appointed. Breakfast was really good for a buffet with so many people. The main hotel is a lovely building with great sea views.

Room Tip: The East House does not have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CabinteelyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairieville, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The beautiful old hotel served a delicious breakfast and lunch daily, we opted for the newer building with air conditioning, the room was bright and cheerful, nice outdoor seating area by the pool along with a bar near the pool. Walk across the street to beach. My personal opinion is that town is a little far to walk at night, but it is a nice busy area with several restaurants and shops. Enjoyed a lemon drop martini at night by the pool and watched the sunset each night. Am planning a trip back this year

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goffstown, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Only stayed one night, the views were amazing, the property is extremely pet friendly including special pet beds set out for your furry friends. Was so nice to romp with the dogs, yes 2 dogs on the beach in the morning and they were greeted and allowed almost everywhere in the resort. Room 705 in the east building was nice and very accommodating for pets, service staff was very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Pet travelers paradise, main building has no a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Compuwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#5 of 5 in Kennebunkport
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing