We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious, Beautifully Appointed, 100 Year Grand Dame Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colony Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Gracious, Beautifully Appointed, 100 Year Grand Dame Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was not my first stay at the Colony but it was my most observant. The hotel is lovingly decorated with beautiful antiques, custom fabrics and carpets, traditional and eclectic paint and artwork. The staff was friendly and helpful. The linens and beds comfy.

The lobster option three times a day is a treat and the breakfast buffet was delicious and expansive with multiple hot dishes, seasonal fresh fruits, fresh pastries, yogurt and granola. All this, while looking out at the sparkling waters of the Atlantic.

We were traveling with two grand daughters who loved the heated pool, game room, horse shoes, putting green, shuffleboard and the beach. We never made the short walk to town where there appeared to be tons of cute shops--we were just too content right where we were at the Colony.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ew-mmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    150
    60
    32
    28
See reviews for
158
179
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here recently for two nights on vacation. We decided to stay in the east house since it has A/C (and a TV for our son) in the rooms. We did use the A/Z at night. The room was beautifully decorated and quite large. The grounds are very well maintained, the view of the ocean spectacular, and the complimentary breakfast buffet is outstanding. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. We will definitely return to the Colony Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the East House because it offers air-conditioning. Even though the temperatures were i...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally-friendly-recycling encouraged
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our family loved staying in this beautiful grand oceanside hotel. It was our first time staying here, and we had booked a garden view room for one night (July 14). Upon checking in, however, to our delight we actually had an ocean view from our window! We loved the charm and elegance of this hotel and the old-fashioned feel, as well as the relaxed atmosphere, gorgeously landscaped grounds, and exceptional breakfast. The old-fashioned keys for the doors, lack of air conditioning, and lack of television were positive points for our family, and we loved it. The room was beautifully decorated, and the sound of the waves from our open window and the fresh ocean breeze were wonderful. We enjoyed the heated salt water pool and private beach. All staff members we encountered were kind, courteous, and friendly. There were two negative points we came across during our brief stay (which is why this is rated very good and not excellent), but these would not prevent us from returning. First, my husband was a bit disappointed as the Marine Room (located on the lower level of the hotel) where we dined that evening had run out of all their beers on tap. He was able to find an equally acceptable locally bottled beer instead, and this was not a very big deal. Secondly, upon attempting to locate an outlet somewhere near the night stand for a small travel fan, I discovered a large granola bar wrapper in plain view just behind the bed. The rest of the room, closet, and bathroom appeared to be well cleaned, however. Overall, this was a very lovely hotel, and our family enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

So much to say about this hotel that is positive, pet-friendly, ocean views, private beach, beautiful rooms, super customer service, gorgeous grounds, loads of places to sit and relax and just overall feeling of being taken care of. There are elevators for those who need them, old fashion key entry doors, excellent showers and a very nice free breakfast.

Only one neg: no air conditioner or t.v. in room. Not that we needed a t.v. but some do require one to sleep ;)

Room Tip: if you want a view of the ocean - ask for the oceanside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2sisterstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This grand hotel celebrates it's 100th anniversary this year, 2014. The Colony Hotel combines the best of the old and the new. The old: gracious common rooms with high ceilings and huge windows with gorgeous views of the sea, beautifully landscaped grounds, and first rate service. The new: colorful and sumptuous décor, new pool, and delicious food with contemporary touches. I can't recommend The Colony Hotel in Kennebunkport too highly. Guests return year after year, and it's obvious why they do.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Resort feel but it had a very comfortable and welcoming attitude. Very pet-friendly as well although the dogs are not allowed on the beach between 8-5. Buffet breakfast was good as well as a late night sugar fix for Maine blueberry pie and strawberry shortcake. Only stayed the one night but will come back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank thehaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
338 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for the first time at The Colony Hotel for two nights right after the July 4th weekend. It was wonderful in every way. This is an older hotel, and is listed on the Historic Hotels of America. It has been beautifully maintained and is a perfect balance of the traditional and modern comforts. The grounds are a breathtaking, and the view standing in the lobby out to Ocean is unforgettable. The staff is terrific, and so is the breakfast buffet which is included in the room charge. There is large heated salt water pool to warm you up from the cold Maine Ocean water! The only nit is the decorating is a bit unusual. The elevator is painted with bright colors, but has an old dark carpet. Our room had a traditional floral pattern, with some odd modern paintings. But I was mainly looking out the window at the Ocean. The Colony is just around the corner on Ocean Ave from President Bush's compound. If you like to run, head out on Ocean Ave. Has to be one of the best jogs ever.

Room Tip: You really want a room with an Ocean view at this property. The Ocean oriented rooms do not have AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacAtlantaGa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.0 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing