We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here if you actually plan to sleep!”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay here if you actually plan to sleep!”
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The Colony is a beautiful, old place, but I have never stayed in a noisier hotel in my life. Conversations and running water in the next room sound like they are literally right next to you. Dogs bark and doors slam throughout the night. Kids start running down the echoing hallways around 7am, and the cleaners start trundling their carts (with more door slamming) shortly thereafter. We had a charming and comfortable antique bed, but it creaked so loudly every time my husband or I rolled over that we ended up trying to sleep on the floor. I have never paid so much money for so little sleep. We travel often to Maine, but will be bypassing the Colony in the future!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    155
    61
    33
    29
See reviews for
165
188
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

The historic Colony Hotel is a wonderful place to enjoy some time away. I loved the history of this property, the colonial revival hotel was built in 1914, with the addition of the north wing in 1917. The hotel's front desk staff was unfriendly and unwelcoming, although the hotel's bellman, waiters and others were all very friendly & kind. One con of staying in the beautiful & historic main building is the fact that there is no air-conditioning. The rooms do however have ceiling fans. I stayed in room 265, this room faces both the ocean and front of the hotel, as well as the Kennebunk River. This room contains one main room that has 2 double beds, 2 wingback chairs, a desk and two dressers, and even a walk in closet! In addition to this main room & the bathroom was another small bedroom, ideal for children. This room looked out on the Kennebunk River & the lush green in front of the hotel. This room had a twin bed, end table, dresser, and a closet. Afternoon Tea is served only on Sunday, a complimentary breakfast buffet is served on the enclosed oceanfront porch. Lunch and dinner are also served in the Grand Dining Room but are not included. The hotel also has an oceanfront heated saltwater pool that is wonderful, along with other activities. This hotel is also enviormentally friendly for all you enviormentalists out there. For your stay in Kennebunkport, ME/Lower ME I recommend the Colony Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvnewportri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

great old-fashioned resort hotel made our reservations months ago, asked for best possible room arrived to find nice room with bay window and view of the harbor, but unfortunately with four windows looking onto a beautiful porch, necessitating that our windows remained covered and closed. When asked, the staff couldn't accomodate our request to change rooms, due to our need to have a nearby single room for our daughter who has special needs. Imagine our surprise when we returned to our room this afternoon to find a lovely wedding reception on the porch with a band set up just next to our windows.
suggestion: if/when you decide to stay here, be sure to ask if your room is 343. If so, make sure that you get another one or demand a significant discount from the premium price.
Otherwise Kennebunkport is a delightful seaport town with wonderful people.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobsterman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mtl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Great location, great views, historic & interesting place, great service, deal on a room as we walked in, wedding that day, great stay...........would definitely come back soon
Noonnans great lobster > past the Bush compound

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEXAS
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Wonderful Location, friendly staff, great food! We got an OK room in an out building that was fine but certainly not fancy! The hotel is great with no airconditionaed rooms in the main building, so beware and ask about your room when you make a reservation.

I am not a dog person, put the dogs allowed policy was not a problem!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razorHAWKll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Classic looking, white shingles, 125 room old style cottage hotel. Beautiful furnishings, wallpaper, public rooms. Fantastic gardens, outdoor seating spaces. GREAT heated saltwater outdoor pool overlooks the ocean. Magnificent!. During dining hours waitress/cocktail service at the pool. Worth the splurge to stay in at least a "partial' ocean view room.
Full hot/cold buffet breakfast included in price, a great bonus.
Close to 2 great restaurants, Stripers, pricey but ocean views and Mabels
for the best, value GIANT stuffed baked lobster! Outstanding visit.
Would definitely go back again and again and again....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KillingtonVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The Colony has always been my only choice when traveling with my dog. I was told UPON CHECK-IN that the dog policy has changed. Dogs are no longer allowed to be poolside. You must now stay in a small grassy area near the pool. The problem without dogs also use this area so if it is full, you cannot use the pool. For the price this place charges, you should stay elsewhere. No AC or TV in the rooms and everything is over-priced. One of the few good things was the dog policy and that has now changed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lougatzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
293 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,690 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#5 of 5 in Kennebunkport
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6303
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Kennebunkport, Maine
Colony Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing