We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”
Review of Tia's Topside - CLOSED

Tia's Topside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: THE place to go when you are thinking of dining at a waterfront restaurant in Kennebunk, Maine. Our customers sing our praises better and more effectively that we could. Read our Tripadvisor reviews and decide for yourself. "We decided to try someplace new during our annual trip to the Kennebunks. We were impressed right away with the beautiful water views and the friendly staff. We stopped by the patio firepit overlooking the water for a cocktail before dinner, and saw a beautiful sunset. We then moved inside to the cozy dining room. We loved the menu, including some unusual items like the sushi and the lobster flatbread, which we had as appetizers. Both were excellent and quite a bargain. Main courses were also excellent. Everything was so good that we returned for brunch (blueberry buttermilk pancakes) the next day, which were also great."
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Tia's Topside was a great spot to dine with our family. This restaurant is family friendly,and had a great atmosphere for adults as well. We went up to Kennebunk on Vacation this past fall and this was our favorite spot. The first time we came we had a delicious prime rib special, best I have had in a long time! We had also sushi and a bottle of wine, lots of variety we love that. We also came back for cocktails and sat out on the deck near a fire pit under the stars, it was amazing. Our whole family was impressed by Tia's Topside and can't wait to try it again. We live in Boston and frequent Tia's on the Long Wharf and highly recommend both!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cmarie708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    89
    28
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great new addition to Kennebunk”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

All this warm weather is getting me excited to visit Tia's Topside in the Spring! Me and a group of girlfriends came during Prelude. The place was gorgeous, heated patios, tiki torches and firepit, so pretty. We got a few appetizers and a few specialty drinks and all were delicious and not bad in price. I know this will be the hot spot this summer. I can't wait for Tia's to re-open.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dennis, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tia's Topside is "Tops"”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I were in Kennebunkport for the Christmas Prelude and came across this amazing new restaurant just before we were to go over the bridge to Kennebunkport. We decided it was a "must do". We went to dinner there that night and were "blown away" by what had been done with this big old house. We sat down for a dining experience that was so incredible that even now when I think about it my mouth waters. The seafood sizzler was the best I ever had. My husband had scrod like he has never had before.

The service was warm and friendly and the owner/manager stopped by to make us feel welcome and to make sure our experience was a positive one. Tia's Topside is now a destination for us.

The weather did not allow us to take advantage of their outdoor patio, but we certainly will this spring.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and service alternative to others in town.”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Although our initial visit to Tia's during their opening week was disappointing we had a great experience during Christmas Prelude., Despite the crowds after the tree-lighting ceremony, we were seated promptly at our reserved table. When my wife thought the Candy Cane Martini was too sweet, the barttender visited out table and customed made a replacement. Food was tasty and warm and the waitstaff cordial. We will be glad when they reopen for 2012.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charles a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good, casual fare in a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I like the design of this restaurant - lots of small spaces that give an intimate feel to a pretty large place. I've been a couple times and found the food very good. Good burgers, excellent and large lobster rolls (but expensive), sushi, nachos, steaks, and seafood... The squash ravioli is outstanding! The only thing I wasn't such a fan of was the clam chowder - no big chunks of clams or potatoes, and overly thickened with flour. Nice seating on front porch provides a great view of Kennebunk, and is even open in cooler weather thanks to plastic siding and heat lamps. For all the small plates and appetizer offerings, the bill has a habit of adding up quickly - beware! However, the staff is friendly and professional, and go out of their way to help. It's nice to see a unique place with local, organic, and vegetarian options! And this one doesn't have an "attitude." Looking forward to their reopening in April!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tia's Topside also viewed

Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing