We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and views. Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tia's Topside - CLOSED

Tia's Topside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: THE place to go when you are thinking of dining at a waterfront restaurant in Kennebunk, Maine. Our customers sing our praises better and more effectively that we could. Read our Tripadvisor reviews and decide for yourself. "We decided to try someplace new during our annual trip to the Kennebunks. We were impressed right away with the beautiful water views and the friendly staff. We stopped by the patio firepit overlooking the water for a cocktail before dinner, and saw a beautiful sunset. We then moved inside to the cozy dining room. We loved the menu, including some unusual items like the sushi and the lobster flatbread, which we had as appetizers. Both were excellent and quite a bargain. Main courses were also excellent. Everything was so good that we returned for brunch (blueberry buttermilk pancakes) the next day, which were also great."
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
150 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location and views. Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Went to this restaurant tonight and both had twin lobsters . This is soft shell time for lobster so you get less meat per pound than you do with hard shell. The price was really good for the meal. The only downside was they did not allow any substitutions so fries and cole slaw came with dinner and my spouse who doesn't eat that had to order a side of veggies. Would be better to allow some choices as most restaurants do

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    89
    28
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional for large parties”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We made a reservation for 16 of us at Tia's Topside for 8 adults and 8 children. The restaurant did a superb job at seating us in a remote section of the restaurant so we didn't bother other guests. The entire staff was attentive and friendly and we never had to wait for a drink or our food. It amazed me how the kitchen was able to prepare the food for the entire group and it was served hot not to mention delicous! The food was exceptional and wasn't one complaint from anyone in the family. Overall the best overall dining experience in Kennebunk and will certainly return next year if we rent in the same area! Thank you Tia's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kzelnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived during happy hour (3-5). They have multi-level outdoor seating so we grabbed a table at 2nd tier. It had a beautiful view of the Kennebunkport's inlet. We had a sweet, enthusiastic waitress, so that enhanced the experience. Love the 1/2 price happy hour drinks.

We had 4 small plates, mussel's, fried clams, shrimp cocktail, salad and it was plentiful size for "small plates" and excellent quality. Just a terrific experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
204 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“This Chef is Outstanding, The Food Glorious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We finally decided to try Tia's after avoiding it for so long under the misconception that it was pretentious and pricey...WRONG ON BOTH ACCOUNTS.
We made reservations and were seated on the second floor and were immediately greeted by our waiter, Hannah, who made sure we never want for anything. She knew the menu and the specials and was able to explain fully what the Chef was preparing that evening.
Everything was cooked to perfection and our lobster eaters were very happy with both their appetizers and main courses. The desserts, chocolate lava cake and a blueberry tart were rich and decadent.
There is outdoor seating on several levels that offer diners the opportunity to people watch or watch the tide roll in and out on the river dock area. Inside offers a grand, two-level seating area in what was probably once a Victorian Manor.
I am confused by the claims that Tia's is expensive. We all ordered appetizers and the day's specials (usually higher priced than the regular menu), we (the adults) had cocktails and even with 4 teenagers we had a surprisingly small bill.
Don't let the imposing stature of the entryway deter you, Tia's is worth the visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank revrpb619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Family Place and Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Nine of us dined there last evening and all found the food and staff excellent. Lindsey, our server, could not have been nicer! Her personality is terrific and her knowledge of the menu excellent.
Cannot wait to return next weekend for the $1 Happy Hour oysters on the half shell. Wine is very reasonably priced here too.
Lobster roll, lobster mac and ahi tuna burgers were all a huge hit, as was the lobster flat bread. Lobster dinners offered at $10.99 for 1# hardshells, with fries and slaw, make it hard to opt for eating them at home. Other restaurants in the area are gouging the tourists. Not Tia's. Go here. You will be very happy that you did.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim and Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tia's Topside also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing