We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Wharf Rooms!”
Review of Kennebunkport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kennebunkport Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Avoid the Wharf Rooms!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

While their web site says the Wharf Rooms are in a separate building, no mention that the rooms are 3 blocks away, above noisy shops with NO sound insulation from street noise, hallway, between rooms, etc.
Avoid!!!
No service, walk 3 blocks to breakfast, no Inn charm

Room Tip: Stay in main Inn or elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJCJBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear CJCJ Boston:

We are sorry that your overall experience with us did not meet your expectations. We are an Inn that prides itself on our exceptional customer service, and had we known you were not enjoying your stay in our Wharfside building (located across the street from the Main Inn), we would have done everything possible to remedy the situation.

Should you wish to discuss your stay with us further, a manager can be reached at 1-800-248-2621.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    190
    50
    21
    6
See reviews for
101
395
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The hotel was in a beautiful location. We had drinks on the sun deck with the sun shining and had a very good meal in the evening. As we were only staying one night we had one of the smaller river run rooms but it was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful although we were surprised to receive the bill for our evening meal before being asked if we wanted coffees to finish off. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Overnight stays choose any room for longer stays choose the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Alan D:

Greetings! We appreciate your recent review and we're glad you liked the location of the inn and your cozy riverhouse room. We are also pleased that you found our staff to be helpful. We are regretful that you felt rushed at dinner as it is our goal for everyone to experience a relaxing time while here. Please accept our sincere apologies, and please do visit us again so that we can show you the One Dock experience you were expecting.

Best regards,

KPI Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Everything you would want for a friendly comfortable stay. I enjoyed relaxing on the porch or walking to shops. The staff really makes you feel at home.
Excellent customer service and with a smile. The complimentary bike are a great idea. Loved the cleanliness and security during my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear TD:

Thank you so much for your glowing review! It is great to hear that our staff made your stay at the Inn feel like your "home away from home". We also appreciate your feedback pertaining to the cleanliness of the Inn. Our housekeeping staff will be thrilled as they continuously strive to make sure that our rooms are spotless... We hope that you are able to return to Kennebunkport again soon to enjoy all that this wonderful southern Maine coastal town has to offer!

Best Regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the wharfside rooms which are just across from the main inn and cheaper. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean and a fair size for 2 people. Unfortunately we were in a room which had an internal door which joins the next door room. This door is thin and not at all sound proof - which is fine if you are staying with family or friends but we heard way too much of a stanger eg ablutions and snoring - he might as well have been in our room! Everything else was perfect though but I would highly recommend asking for a room that doesn't have this internal door feature.

The staff in the main inn could not have been more charming and friendly and the inn is situated right in the main square so perfectly located. They also hire bikes to you for free which is a nice touch. Continental breakfast is simple but does the job. Dinner in the restaurant was exceptional!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7CR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Caroline R:

Thank you for recent review. We appreciate your honesty regarding the connecting door in your room and we are truly sorry for your experience with hearing the guests next door. Should you return to the U.S. and Kennebunkport, please be sure to look us up again and we will place you in one of our many rooms that do not have connecting doors.

We do thank you for sharing the good experiences you had including your dinner, our friendly staff, our complimentary bikes, and our convenient in town location. We are happy to hear that, overall, we helped to make your stay enjoyable.

Best regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Although the rooms were small they were clean and well equipped if a little jaded.the staff were very good and the restaurant food excellent.All round very central and convenient for what we wanted to do.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Eileen P:

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased that you chose to stay with us at the Kennebunkport Inn... We are also happy to hear that our staff and restaurant, One Dock, met your expectations while you were here! Although you may have stayed in one of our smaller/"cozier" rooms, do keep in mind that we also have a variety of spacious accommodations including suites. We appreciate you as our customer and would love to see you again soon!

Best,

Kennebunkport Inn Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I have nothing negative to say about this place. It was beautiful . Great location in the centre of kennebunkport and very peaceful. The room was a great size with huge comfy beds. My daughter had a lovely bed set up for her too which she loved. The staff were friendly and helpful making sure you had a great stay and you could tell from the outset that they if you had any problems that they would do their best to sort it out for you.
I would definitely revisit this inn. We stayed at four hotels in four diff areas whilst in America and this one was by far our fave. Wish I had a bed like that home :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizjasnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Lizjasnat:

Thank you kindly for the glowing review of the Kennebunkport Inn! We are honored to think that you would consider us one of your "top picks" while vacationing in the area. Please DO visit us again when you return to Kennebunkport and the Southern Maine Coast!

Highest regards,

The Kennebunkport Inn Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This inn has been recently redecorated, at least within the past year. Very very cute, very preppy and nautical but not kitschy. Rooms are small but worked perfectly for our use, bed very comfortable. I went with my husband to get some R&R while he was at a conference. Ate dinner there the first night which was very good and then went and hung out at the bar the following two nights. Staff was very friendly but not overbearing, easy to talk with. Bartender had my husband's drink waiting second night at the bar. Ideally located in town, can walk everywhere pretty much for shopping.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Meyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Mike_Meyers:

Thank you so much for your positive feedback about Kennebunkport Inn and One Dock Restaurant. We are glad that you liked the decor, enjoy our restaurant and bar, and appreciated our in-town location. We strive to make our guests' stay enjoyable and we're thrilled that you feel we met your expectations while vacationing with us! Please do visit us again!

Best Regards,

Kennebunkport Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
993 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunkport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunkport Inn

Property: Kennebunkport Inn
Address: 1 Dock Sq, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennebunkport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennebunkport Inn, located in the heart of Dock Square, provides the classic Maine inn atmosphere you're looking for with modern, luxurious amenities and exceptional guest service. With three room categories, this property provides an accommodating array of options, perfect for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Their onsite restaurant, The Burleigh, features classic fare and creative cocktails. Live entertainment is also featured in the bar on Thursdays from 7pm to 10pm. Kennebunkport is one of the East Coast's premier vacation destinations and the Kennebunkport Inn is the perfect location for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kennebunkport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunkport Hotel Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing