We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New England Elegance”
Review of Kennebunkport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kennebunkport Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“New England Elegance”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Lovely surprise to find a bottle of Prosecco on ice in the room with a handwritten welcome note from the staff. This is a beautiful hotel decorated in classic New England coastal colours. It's centrally located in the very busy resort but there was minimal road noise. It advertises a Continental breakfast, but actually that included a full cooked breakfast selection too. The breakfasts were lovely, with a good variety of pastries, fruit and hot foods. For dinner they specialise in "small plates" -four plus a salad would probably be enough for two people. I'm shellfish-anaphylactic so eating in Kennebunkport isn't easy. Both nights I ate here the servers guided me through safe choices. Room was lovely, wi-fi was free, staff were great. They will give you free beach passes, towels and beach chairs at the front desk. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andromedababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you andromedababe for your review. One of my favorite things about this job is that we get to spoil our house guests who are celebrating a special occasion. I am glad you enjoyed your surprise! Thank you for your comments about the decoration of the inn. We have a prime location in the center of town, but we are tucked away just enough so it is not too noisy! I am glad to hear that even with your dietary restrictions, you enjoyed One Dock! Our menu really does have something for everyone. I am glad the staff treated you well, both in the restaurant and the inn. We have a fabulous staff. Next time you find yourself in Kennebunkport, say hello! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    188
    50
    21
    6
See reviews for
99
392
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Because I was so impressed with the Kennebunkport Inn during our two-night stay there in July, I'm doing something I never do -- writing a review. One thing that seemed exceptional to me was the combination of very efficient management of the inn with an very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere inside the inn. That can't be easy to do. The second thing that impressed me was my newly remodeled room -- the re-modeler was a genius given the combination of simple elegance and livability that was achieved. One thing I liked was that each side of our bed had its own combination wardrobe, shelves, drawers, and counter cabinet, and each side also had its own individually controlled lamp that could be adjusted to an overhead position for nighttime reading.Everything about the room was impressive in both appearance and functionality, including the bathroom. But my favorite part of my stay was the free full hot and cold breakfast buffet served every morning until 10:30 am. I don't usually get moving too early in the morning on vacation, and tend to miss the breakfast offerings at other motels, which can be a disappointment because a good breakfast can be my favorite meal. And both mornings as I was sitting out on the veranda at 10:30 finishing up my breakfast, someone from the staff came out to me to let me know in case I wanted to get some more food before they took down the breakfast service. I almost kissed her hand.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you Denny D. for your enthusiastic review. It truly put a smile on our faces. We are honored that you took the time to sign up for Trip Advisor simply to review our inn! I appreciate the kind words about our management. We want our guests to be worry-free on vacation, and I'm glad to see that was the case for you. Thank you for your comments about the newly renovated Riverhouse rooms! I am glad you found them both functional and visually appealing. You cannot beat a morning of enjoying breakfast on our sundeck. I am glad you felt you had time to enjoy it. I am so glad to hear that overall, you felt well taken care of and relaxed! Next time you find yourself in Kennebunkport, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked the Peddle and Paddle package which included 2 night's accommodations, breakfast each morning, bike rentals, kayak rentals, a four course dinner at One Dock and a picnic lunch. Everything was excellent! There are so may little unexpected extras that were complimentary, such as: beach parking passes, beach chairs and towels. It made our stay so much more enjoyable not to have to sweat the small stuff. The breakfast was great! Pancakes and French Toast - YUM. (I am a carboholic!) The rooms/inn and furnishings were modern, yet had a nautical and charming feel. This is such a great location because everything - shopping, beach, restaurants - all are within walking or biking distance. No need to find a parking place. Thanks Kennebunkport Inn for a wonderful anniversary weekend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelKiwi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you MelKiwi_10 for your review! We love our location as well; smack in the middle of town. It's so convenient for our guests to be able to walk out the front door and be steps from all that the town has to offer. The Peddle and Paddle package is a guest favorite! It's fun to pick up your picnic lunch and enjoy it out on the river, while paddling your kayak. It doesn't get much better than that! We hope we are able to welcome you back to the Kennebunkport Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This charming inn is perfectly located in the heart of Kennebunkport. The amenities, views etc. are spectacular. Our 2nd time staying there - the staff couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated, a little small as noted in other reviews - but a great value. The breakfast is fantastic, they call it continental, I say, wonderful hot buffet as noted by Jerry L.

Room Tip: don't stay in the room, first floor next to the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myopinions2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you Myopinions2 for your review. You cannot beat our central location! We are thrilled to offer such a variety of amenities to our guests, like complimentary parking, wifi, breakfast, beach passes/towels/chairs, bicycles, a dinner shuttle service, and access to our sister property pools! I am so happy to hear you found our staff helpful during both of your visits. We have a fantastic group of people working here. Our Riverhouse rooms are definitely on the cozy side. We do offer some rooms with about 1/3 more space, which are scheduled to be renovated this winter! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here just one night last week. The hotel has been beautifully renovated, comfy beds, modern bathroom, coffee machine in room, etc, however our room was very tight, no view (at all!) and for the price you would expect better! We booked the package with dinner, wouldn't advise, as you are paying for a 4 course meal and the menu is not that of a traditional and is designed around small plates - also possibly the reason were allocated the room we were?

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chopper24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you chopper24 for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated Riverhouse rooms. We completed the renovations in April and we couldn't be happy with how they turned out. The Riverhouse rooms are the coziest rooms on property. We offer packages for all of our room types, including our more spacious Federal and Mansion rooms. Perhaps these rooms were not available when you booked. Our menu does have a number of small plates, but with the package you can order however you would like. We do not have any stipulations on what can be ordered. We do have traditional entrees on the menu as well, which can be ordered on the package too. I do apologize if this was not explained to you. Our room and package rates are comparable with the other hotels in Kennebunkport. With the number of amenities we offer, such as complimentary bikes, beach passes, towels,chairs, supper shuttle and wifi, we feel the value matches the cost. We would encourage you to visit us again and maybe a larger room would suit your taste better. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From check in to check out and everything in between 1ST CLASS, decor & ambiance of the highest order, great breakfasts, peace & quiet, within 5 minutes of great restaurants and places of interest.
Great early morning walks and late evening entertainment on weekends.
Really very highly recommended.
Oh! and by the way this place has angels at the check in desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you Bob C for your review! We couldn't be more pleased with our Front Desk team this year. I would agree with you, they really are angels! We all do our best to go above and beyond for each and every guest that walks through the door. Your experience is what we want all of guests to have. Please come back and visit us again! The angels await you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stay at the inn this week. The rooms have been renovated so are very nice. Location is great if you are staying in town and another advantage is you get free parking which can be a problem in town. They have a great continental breakfast but that term doesn't give it the true reflection of what you get. Eggs, bacon, sausage and all the items you would get in any breakfast buffet . It runs from 730-1030 so it can become a brunch if you want to eat a little later. Prices in season are high as you would expect In a resort

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you Jerry L. for your review! We are so happy with the renovations to our Riverhouse rooms. I am glad you enjoyed yours. You cannot beat our location, right in the center of Dock Square. Parking can be very tricky, so many of our guests will not even bother driving after they arrive. Our complimentary dinner shuttle service helps with this, too! We describe our breakfast as deluxe continental, and usually guests are thrilled to see our spread of the food you mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunkport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunkport Inn

Property: Kennebunkport Inn
Address: 1 Dock Sq, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennebunkport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennebunkport Inn, located in the heart of Dock Square, provides the classic Maine inn atmosphere you're looking for with modern, luxurious amenities and exceptional guest service. With three room categories, this property provides an accommodating array of options, perfect for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Their onsite restaurant, The Burleigh, features classic fare and creative cocktails. Live entertainment is also featured in the bar on Thursdays from 7pm to 10pm. Kennebunkport is one of the East Coast's premier vacation destinations and the Kennebunkport Inn is the perfect location for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kennebunkport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunkport Hotel Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing