We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tides Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is a wonderful inn with a great location and beautiful decor. The large porch was a great place to spend happy hour making new friends. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our ocean front room was very romantic:) We also enjoyed being able to enjoy the amenities at their sister property, Hidden Pond. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilijadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    40
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
23
184
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belmar, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Sure, I can rave about the incredible location across from an unspoiled beach. Sure, I can go on about the beautiful, upscale beachy decor. What I want to tell you about is the impeccable customer service that we experienced this week at The Tides Beach Club. From the moment we crossed the threshold, we were treated with such care. Once welcomed at the desk and checked in, we were immediately offered a glass of sparkling wine and encouraged to relax on the comfortable, spacious front porch. Don't mind if I do! A minor problem with a room was taken care of quickly and efficiently. We ate dinner on site and enjoyed ourselves very much. It is obvious that the employees love their jobs and are proud of their establishment. Special thanks to Maura and Miles who met every request with "absolutely!". Great job. Cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonirog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Beautifully decorated inn. Great location across from the Goose Rocks Beach. The water is fairly shallow and the beach is secluded. Not much surf if you are looking to boogie board, but nice to walk and swim. Would be a good place to paddle board for beginners.

Nice touches like sparkling wine upon arrival and a parting gift upon departure. All the extras well thought out - bikes, beach chairs/umbrellas, water, towels, etc. The continental breakfast was convenient. The room was quieter than I thought it would be. Good amount of space and very comfortable bed/pillows/chairs. Again, incredibly well decorated and very high end. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Felix_Jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Great location, fantastic ocean view from the room and the porch, amazing decoration in the room and common areas, adorable staff, marvelous beach right across from the hotel.....What else can I say? Bravo to the Tides Beach team and thank you so much for your hospitality. You rock!
PS: The breakfast could be a bit richer and diverse but the coffee and the jams were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneDijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Although we were here last August, this is a more appropriate time to write this review. The last reviews written are quite accurate. We wanted to stay on the ocean and this is thee only place. True, it is very cozy but I must insist that the rooms are small. Ours was tiny although we did have an ocean view. The bathroom was likewise small, no shelf space, etc. What I found inadmissable was the price for what the room was. And they even overcharged us on checkout, like 20% more. We hadn't noticed on the spot but did call soon afterwards and the overcharge was immediately credited to our account. I think it was an honest oversight. Even the breackfast was not very complete (again for what it cost) but one could ask for extras and they were prepared. It was served only till 9:30!
Although the lounge was cozy but forget about cuddling up and reading there as, except for a couple of place, the lighting was poor.
Cold drinks were always available on the beach and lunch could be ordered there. Comfortable lounge chairs were free.
The reception was very cordial and had good ideas. Using their bikes was fun.
The restaurant at their Hidden Pond hotel was very romantic (outdoors) and good. We never dined at the Tides. There were excellent other restaurants in the area..
The location was excellent and we had a pleasant stay. I would recommend it if you can afford it and want to be on the ocean!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jocaloda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Segundo
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We booked based on location/views and fell in love! Yes, the rooms are quaint (but modern) and small but that did not bother us! Check in set the tone, we were offered complimentary glasses of champagne. Our bags were lugged up a few flights of stairs (poor guys, we tend to overpack) and down a hall to our ocean front room. We felt like we were staying with family, welcomed and ready to relax. The hosts at the front desk were very informative and offered great recommendations for dinner. After dinner we sat out on the porch with cocktails, listening to the waves crash and enjoying the light show (from the storm), the weather made for a romantic evening and a gorgeous morning. The continental breakfast was also perfect, great views and delicious warm croissants. Upon check out we were offered an itinerary for visiting local lighthouses (wonderful) and a bag of goodies for the drive! Excellent experience, cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1CrazyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien J, General Manager at The Tides Beach Club, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Hello CrazyTraveler1 !

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Goose Rocks Beach. We strive to make our guests feel at ease during their stay at The Tides Beach Club and I am glad to hear you felt as though you were vacationing at home with family. I will be sure to share your comments with our dedicated team.

It was quite a light show on Saturday evening; we've seen some magnifecent weather systems from our oceanfront porch...they can be quite entertaining when you know you are covered, safe and with a fresh cocktail in hand!

Enjoy the Summer, we hope to see you soon!

Best,
Damien Janowicz
General Manager
The Tides Beach Club
254 Kings Highway
Goose Rocks Beach
Kennebunkport, Maine 04046
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Tides is a respite to the busy world. To find it you drive up the coast about six miles past busy and beautiful Kennebunkport, past the famous Nunan's Lobster Pound and then go north towards serene Goose Rocks Beach. You arrive at a seaside community of beautiful ocean-front homes and quite streets. The Tides sits among them just across the beach access road. Upon entering you find it is beautifully appointed with light and airy furnishings, comfortable chairs and sofas, which all invite you to sit down and relax. The young and eager staff say hello and will attend to you. It is a warm and friendly staff who will do their best to make your experience a calm and enjoyable one.
It should be noted that since this is a reconfigured turn of the century inn, the rooms are very different from one another and you might be in a very small room or a large oceanfront suite based on what you are paying for the night. The Inn has a spectacular restaurant / bar with a wonderful energetic bartender named Ben. He will do his best to make the perfect cocktail for you to enjoy on the front porch overlooking the beach or at the curvy large marble bar. The manager is a perfectionist named Damien. He is always doing his best to keep the Inn at its best. He can be found constantly attending to every last detail of the place. It is beautiful! The rooms are not ornate but simple and light with fine sheets, towels and accessories. The bathrooms are not typically large but remember this is an old building that was reconfigured and brought up to modern specifications. There is a very silent air conditioning heat system, but on most nights you won't need it and that allows you to keep windows open to hear the ocean. Nice! The Tides Beach Club is also interconnected to a spectacular property in the woods nearby called Hidden Ponds. As a quest at either property you have a opportunity to explore the other. As a guest of The Tides one has access to the Hidden Pond gorgeous grounds, quiet pools, spa services, more bicycles and the incredible restaurant property called Earth (a must stop). For a relaxing trip to the beach, get away to The Tides, use one the free bicycles to explore the area, take a deep breath and enjoy!

Room Tip: Pay attention to the location and ask about the views and bed sizes if this matters to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForeFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien J, General Manager at The Tides Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Greetings from Maine!

It was so great having you stay with us for a second time and we look forward to spending opening weekend 2013 with you as well! Hopefully we'll see you again this season prior to closing.

It truly is a great experience for all of us at the Tides Beach Club when we see guests thoroughly enjoying themselves at our property and in our wonderful community. Kennebunkport is a great locale for scenic bike rides, nature walks, golf and lounging on the beach or on our front porch rockers overlooking the magnificent Atlantic. I must say, it is a pretty grand thing to come to work everyday in such a prime location and work with such a wonderful team.
I will be sure to share with Ben, your kind words. We have a very creative group of mixologists and Ben does a phenomenal job setting the energetic tone at our "jewel box" of a bar.

As mentioned, The Tides Beach Club is a historic building encompassing many different room sizes and layouts. Our "beach chic' design combines the beauty of our surrounding coast with decor playing off the white sands of Goose Rocks Beach and its beautiful waters with modern day luxuries such as Frette linens and Malin and Goetz bath products. The sweeping views of Timber Island and the surrounding ocean from our lobby and public spaces are spectacular.
I wish you both a very relaxing Summer and look forward to your return.

Best,
Damien Janowicz
General Manager
The Tides Beach Club
254 Kings Highway
Goose Rocks Beach
Kennebunkport, Maine 04046
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.7 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
269 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,654 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Beach Club

Property: The Tides Beach Club
Address: 254 Kings Hwy, Goose Rocks Beach, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-7262 (Formerly Tides Inn By-The-Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tides Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stellar ocean views of one of the Northeast's most gorgeous beaches, The Tides Beach Club offers a high-end yet casual beach style resort with terrific dining, an vibrant cocktail bar and exceptional beach amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Tides Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Beach Club Hotel Kennebunkport
The Tides Beach Club Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing