We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at The TBC for 3 days recently. It was a wonderful experience and we are so glad that we did. This was our second time here and it was just perfect. The location is lovely and the young staff are beyond eager to please. We will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dining88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    39
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
22
182
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The marvelous restaurant in this recently updated luxury contemporary resort overlooking Goose Rocks Beach just outside Kennebunk is NOT TO BE MISSED! What an incredible evening. A small dining room just off the lobby of this 22 room jewel is as close to superior as it gets. For the combination of superb food and as good service as we have ever received, you will not be disappointed. Our server, Kaylie T. really made the evening for us. She, as well as the others on the staff are bright, cheerful, well informed young people who really seem to enjoy their jobs. Many of them off to school in the fall.Some, including Kaylie, for graduate degrees. Fortunately for the establishment it is open only during the summer season!. The food is without compare in the area...especially since it is not exorbitantly priced. A creative menu featuring several lobster dishes (what do you know)... as well as a wonderful rib-eye steak. All of which follow an excellent raw bar collection with fresh oysters. The surroundings are magnificent and reflect what was obviously a huge investment by the new owners- the KRC Resort Collection. Generous use of marble, great design and color just adds to the enjoyment. The property is directly across from a magnificent beach where the hotel's :Beach Tenders" spoil you. The hotel itself has lovely, well appointed, though rather small rooms....many with ocean views and two suites that are actually ocean/beach front - a rarity in this part of the world! Rooms are pricey for the area...but one must consider that this is REALLY OCEAN FRONT. Reservations during the season are a necessity. One downer was a music combo (sax and guitar) that played during happy hour and blessedly retired at 7pm.They played entirely too loudly making conversation in this small area almost impossible to hear yourself think.The floors, walls and ceilings are all magnificent wood and the amplified jazz just bounced off of everything. Had we not been told that they were finished within several minutes of our arrival, a pleasant dinner would not have been possible. Overall, we were so pleased that we made reservations for tomorrow evening(AFTER 7!)...plenty of choices so nothing would have to be repeated. We asked to be seated on the porch tomorrow which also features lovely ocean breezes.Nice experience. BTW... it's a little out of the way on the Shore Road but the staff was happy to supply excellent directions when we made our reservation and the car's GPS found it without a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOldTravelpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the TBC from July 13 to the 16th. The location is fabulous, right across from beautiful Goose Rocks Beach. The price was not worth it. We were placed in room 208. The room was small but stylish. There was salmony orange wall paper and a king sized bed. The bed was very comfortable. The room had no closet and only an armoire. The problem was that the doors never fully closed and the room was small that every time I walked by I hit my elbow on the doors. The bathroom was small but new. For the priced we paid, there should have been robes included in the room.

When we checked in we were given glasses of Proseco, We brought the glasses up to our room to relax and enjoy and the glasses stayed on the window sill for all three days.

At night the TBC turns into a loud crowded party atmosphere. There were no parking spots for the guest because they were filled with everyone eating and drinking until midnight.

We enjoyed heading over to the sister property, Hidden Pond. The adult pool there was out fo this world as was the lunch by the pool. This experience was worth the price.

One day we ordered lunch at the beach and the salads arrived in small take out boxes with avocado in the salads when it never said that this on the menu. I sent it back because of food allergies and the the lovely beach girl said the kitchen staff was arguing with her that it was supposed to be in the salad. She showed them the menu that it was not. There needs to be some better communication.

Another huge issue was the "complementary" breakfast. It was pathetic for the amount of money we spent of the room. It was one small bowl of yogurt, a small bowl of cut up fruit, two types of cereal, granola, a quiche, some muffins and a meat and cheese platter. The issue was it was not replenished in amount of food or in plates and flat wear.

Would I go back? Probably because of the location and the privileges of using the amenities at Hidden Pond. I just will make sure I get a bigger room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mymichala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We booked a couple of nights at The Tides Beach Club for the wedding that we were having across the street on Goose Rocks Beach. Damien, Miles and the rest of the crew were more than accommodating in making our special day perfect. The staff and venue exude class and elegance without being overly pretentious.

The Club itself has been beautifully remodeled. The entryway, bar, and restaurant seating areas boast beautiful decor with a fine touch of cottage chic. Beadboard ceilings, nautical lighting fixtures, and bold but beautiful wallpaper work together giving your stay a trendy, boutique type ambiance.

We were welcomed with a glass of champagne when we checked in, then shown to our suite overlooking the ocean. Ian, the gentleman that checked us in was quick to offer us help with our bags and assistance for anything that we may have needed.

Since my wife was going to have the hair and makeup crew in our suite on the day of the wedding, we decided to order a couple bottles of champagne along with a fruit and cheese platter for all of the ladies. When room service arrived, they brought up at least 5 large bottles of spring water, different flavors of San Pellegrino, 3 bottles of Cava, and fruit/cheese platter made for a King or in this case a Queen. Since this was our wedding I was ready to pay for any and all of this plus more. But surprisingly when we checked out there was no balance for the room! I was confused so I had them double check. Apparently Damien (the awesome Manager) had taken care of it. We couldn't have been more appreciative. So much so, that we had to beg them to add extra gratuity for the front of the house staff and housekeeping. So remember to hook these people up because they deserve it!!!!

The final touch to all of this was how accommodating they were for our dinner party. Since my wife and I don't drink and are vegan, we wanted to make sure everyone was able to select from the regular menu but wanted something special prepared for our dietary choices. Damien assured us that the chef would come up with something spectacular for us so we left it in his hands.

When dinner time rolled around and we arrived at our table, our server made sure that the non-alcoholic bubbly was placed in front of us. Even as we moved around trying to figure out our seating arrangement, she was right there making sure that the real thing didn't end up at our seats. I feel bad because I don't remember her name but she was fantastic!

As our first course arrived at the table, my wife and I were in awe with how fabulous our food was. It was a plate of falafel heaven with a mix of fresh mint, greens, & sweet tomato slices. It was the size of an entree so I was shocked when Damien told us we had another course coming out. He informed us that the chef actually went out to an Asian market earlier in the day to gather ingredients for our final course. Who does that? The best chef around does, that's who does!

Our second course was light and tasty with a mix of cabbage, grilled tofu wrapped in rice paper, and vermicelli stuffed gourmet spring rolls all on a mix of tasty ginger & soy sauces. The presentation was lovely as was the entire evening!

The Tides Beach Club went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasurable one. The whole stay was perfect and we couldn't have asked for anything more. It made making the decision to come back every year for our anniversary an easy choice for us. We hope to get to know the staff even more and we look forward to our return for many more years to come.

THANK YOU to everyone at The Tides Beach Club for such wonderful hospitality. Every business should have such 1st class service and those that don't could learn a lot from this place. Until next year! :)

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites designed by Jonathan Adler called "Ocean" or "Sea".
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petiquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

After a whirlwind city trip in Boston, we wanted to unwind at an old-style inn on the coast. The Tides was perfect. Great updated Inn...small but modern. Great bar, tasteful furniture, etc. Just a few small things need to be fixed...mostly in the area of service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien J, General Manager at The Tides Beach Club, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Hello Mishamee!

Thank you for your review! I am glad you were able to unwind at The Tides Beach Club after your city adventure! It is hard to believe that all the beauty and serenity of Goose Rocks Beach is only an hour and a half away from Boston...so great that you took advantage of what a short car ride can do for the soul!
It would be my pleasure to discuss with you any ideas you have regarding our services. Our staff strives for excellence in delighting our guests at every opportunity. Any suggestions you have to help us improve are welcome and much appreciated. Please feel free to send me an email at your convenience. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Damien Janowicz
General Manager
The Tides Beach Club
254 Kings Highway
Goose Rocks Beach
Kennebunkport, Maine 04046
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here on Friday for the evening for a last minute getaway from Boston. It's a gorgeous boutique hotel right on the ocean. The interior design is so tasteful -for a beachfront place- it's immaculate.

The hotel has so many "surprise and delight" features...such as Happy Hour with discounted cocktails & appetizers (and I will add, their drinks are unique & fantastic), free champagne upon arrival, beach service (includes towels, fresh cucumber water, chairs, umbrellas)- the staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach for the hotel is kind of "blocked off" so it's never really congested...we found it VERY relaxing.

I love staying in boutique hotels. I had no idea this place existed in Maine. I definitely want to try to return again this summer :) Even for the complimentary homemade mojito-pineapple popsicles :)

Awesome. Awesome. Place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank January S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien J, General Manager at The Tides Beach Club, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Greetings January S!

What a great last-minute getaway...you couldn't have asked for better weather! Goose Rocks Beach truly is a pristine place.
Our mixologists are unrelenting in creating fresh and unique elixers daily...we are so proud of the work they do and are happy that you enjoyed their creations! I am also glad to hear that our complimentary homemade popsicles are worthy of a second visit!
Thank you for all your kind words, I will be sure to share them with our entire team.
See You Soon!

Best,
Damien Janowicz
General Manager
The Tides Beach Club
254 Kings Highway
Goose Rocks Beach
Kennebunkport, Maine 04046
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Unlike so many hotels these days, TBC believes in exceptional service. Where else would the maid staff be so considerate as to let us finish watching mens finals at Wimbledon on July 8 and asking when would be convenient time to return? Don't be fooled by the young staff here; Ian and his team took care of everything- even homemade hot tea for our daughter's strep throat. The beach staff equally amazing, bringing juice popsicles & setting up lounge chairs & umbrellas. Water was too cold for us to swim but beach is lovely, no crowds & dogs allowed after 5 pm.
On weekends, TBC is hopping with happy hour on porch and front lawn. If you want total solitude & quiet, try staying midweek. Nice continental brkfst included.

Room Tip: If you can splurge, go for the Adler Suite- one of 2 front decks right on ocean. Fun colors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HersheyBid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilesHanson, Front Office Manager at The Tides Beach Club, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Greetings HershyBid!

Thank you ever so much for the kind review of the Tides Beach Club.
Customer service is a very important element to our philosophy here as we believe that if our employees are having fun working, our guests will have fun by default. We understand that guests expect a certain level of service when staying with us and we love the ability to provide that for them.

I will pass along your kind words to Ian and the rest of the staff and we look forward to future stays!

Happy Travels
Miles Hanson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.7 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Beach Club

Property: The Tides Beach Club
Address: 254 Kings Hwy, Goose Rocks Beach, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-7262 (Formerly Tides Inn By-The-Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tides Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stellar ocean views of one of the Northeast's most gorgeous beaches, The Tides Beach Club offers a high-end yet casual beach style resort with terrific dining, an vibrant cocktail bar and exceptional beach amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Tides Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Beach Club Hotel Kennebunkport
The Tides Beach Club Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing