We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach getaway over Labor Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tides Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
“Beach getaway over Labor Day”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We loved our experience at Tides Beach Club! The furnishings were beautiful, both in our room and in the shared space on the main floor.

Our room, #210, was in the back of the house and offered a "partial" oceanview. The room was plenty large enough for us, including a nice wingback chair, king bed, armoire, and small bay window. The ceilings were vaulted, which also helped the room seem larger. The bathroom was plenty large enough for us, but we would have liked a bit more counter space. The shower was large and had nice subway tile and a great Kohler showerhead and handheld.

The inn is placed right across the street from Goose Rocks Beach and it's a very short walk to get there. The beach attendant takes great care of you and will provide towels, setup chairs and umbrellas, and offer water. The beach was taken great care of and was a wonderful place to collect seashells. We visited over Labor Day, and although the town of Kennebunkport was very busy - the beach was not.

The front porch is the perfect place to sit and read a book or enjoy one of their amazing cocktails. The staff even offered me a blanket one evening when it was a bit chilly. Again, fantastic service!

The Hidden Pond resort was also very nice. We enjoyed massages at the Tree Spa and enjoyed access to their pool. We took the provided beach cruisers and the ride was not too difficult - about 1.7 miles - and only one major intersection.

The restaurant and bar are very busy in the evenings - so if you visit during the summer, I'd suggest making a reservation. It is the only bar/restaurant in the Goose Rocks Beach area.

The drive to Kennebunkport is a bit long, but the beach was perfect and hubby and I were looking for a relaxing getaway. If you prefer to be in town, closer to all the action - note you will need to get a parking pass to get to Goose Rocks Beach and the parking was limited.

Room Tip: If you prefer an oceanview room - request 3rd floor as those are farther from the restaurant and bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amber g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    40
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
23
183
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Media, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tides Beach Club for 8 nights. I don't think most people stay that long, but it was well worth it! I really can't complain about one thing. All we can do is rave about this place. We had an ocean view room and it was wonderful being able to open the windows and hear the waves crashing. The decor is so cool. I love a beachy New England feel to an inn, so I was afraid it might be too trendy from looking at the website photos, but it was decorated in such an eclectic manner that I just loved it!

It was really a fun place. All of the locals come for drinks and dinner (it is literally the only place in town) and it made for a fun atmosphere. Our first night there we ate out on the porch...food is delicious, service is great and they always have 2 musicians playing guitars every Sunday night.

The next morning, and all mornings thereafter, we ate our breakfast on the front porch. Breakfast was continental, but way above most continental breakfasts that I've ever experienced. Fresh fruit, muffins, bagel & egg sandwiches, cereals, yoghurt parfaits, hard boiled eggs, etc.

The beach is literally across a very small street. You don't take your life in your hands when you cross this street! Lounge chairs, towels and water are all set up by the friendly beach staff. The beach is in a cove and it's about 3 miles long...just perfect for walking.

Kudos to management and all of the staff. Everyone was so cordial & gracious & they went out of their way to accommodate any of our requests. I don't think there was one person over 35 yrs. of age and I must say we were really impressed with their professional demeanors.

I actually didn't realize that we were 10-15 minutes outside of Kennebunkport, but it's no big deal to get in the car for the short drive. The neighboring towns of Kennebunk and Kennebunkport are pretty congested, so we would definitely go back to Goose Rocks Beach where you can easily get the best of both worlds even if you have to get in the car once and awhile.

And if you make dinner or spa reservations at any of their sister resorts, they have a luxury sedan that picks you up. We ate at One Dock Square and it was delicious. But, most of our meals ended up at the Tides Beach b/c it was so convenient. The bar is a fun place to eat if you can't get a table. The bartenders are friendly and the food is great!

We were very sad to leave...it was really a perfect vacation! I would highly recommend Tides Beach to anyone thinking about staying in this area!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMG1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We love the place and would certainly llike to go back next Summer. Would recommend the Beach Club to everyone. Personnel very friendly and helpful, and go out of their way to please you. The beach is very well kept and the boys taking care of the chairs, umbrellas, towels are extremely nice and hard workiing. It is nice to sit on the porch and enjoy a good Margarita at the end of the day, or simply sip your morning coffee there. The cleaning ladies are also very meticulous and really make sure you have everything you need. The food is excellent and the waitresses and waiters very attentive. To be able to use bicycles is also a plus, seeing that the area is very safe for riding. To resume: Would spend more than two two long weekends there if it were possible. Went there with a couple of our friends, and everyone wants to meet again next Summer at the Tides. To resume: Try it, you'll adopt it!

Room Tip: Certain rooms are a little small although very well decorated. Very quiet at night even with the mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SocaMontr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were lucky to snag an extended summer weekend at this wonderful ocean front hotel. The location on Goose Rocks Beach was perfect for us. The hotel is spotless. The large front porch with rocking chairs was a perfect place to end an evening or have breakfast in the morning. The service at the beach was great. We would definitely want to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbj1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

From the reception at check in, the bartenders at the bar, to the service on the beach, everyone was nothing short of amazing. And of course, the GM Damien. You will feel like best friends by the time you leave - he is wonderful. Always the little things. The vibe of the tides is fun, chic, but so very relaxing. The décor from the entry way, to the glasses at the bar, to the fixtures - just wonderful. Service to downtown Kennebunkport and to sister property HiddenPond is a service that should be used. Amazing restaurants downtown to get an overall Kennebunkport experience. However the food at the tides is amazing, and Earth at hidden pond is a MUST.. and don't forget to hand by the bonfires at Hiddenpond. Lastly enjoy kayaking, standup paddling with Marcio... or grab a bike for a ride.. Gooserocks beach is an island vacation in Maine.. one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been too.

Room Tip: Room 304 was middle front of the house, big and had amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriRusso0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The experience at this hotel is superb. The staff are all so good and friendly, with personal touches and attention to detail. Especially the General Manager Damien. He and his team are amazing hosts.

The Tides property is so beautiful and having complimentary rides over to Hidden Pond sister property is like having two distinct resorts in one. Fabulous. You must go here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poolsideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The perfect Maine experience for a weekend or a week. The hotel is beautifully decorated just the way the best beach houses are...stylish and comfortable. Big comfortable chairs and couches sourrounding a fireplace and facing large windows are perfect for experiencing the postcard-worthy view, napping or reading. Staff feel like friends from hello. And the location across from a beautiful Maine beach is amazing. Restaurant and bar experience are excellent. Very much enjoyed the complimentary breakfast which included warm egg sandwiches and a granola that was amazing. Our room was beautifully decorated with a spacious bathroom with double sinks and walk in shower, sitting area, open porch and large windows looking out on the beach view. Make sure to take advantage of the Tides' sister property called Hidden Pond, just a mile away and carved into the Maine woods. Offers both an adult and family pool, amazing restaurant called Earth and spa and gym facilities. We loved the small bar at the reception area. Take one of the complimentary beach cruiser bikes from the Tides for an easy ride over to Hidden Pond. We loved having both a beach and woods experience in such close proximity. We are making this an annual visit.

Room Tip: Spurge on a front facing room; second floor suite with an open porch facing the beach is the way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
4.7 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
492 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
262 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,622 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Beach Club

Property: The Tides Beach Club
Address: 254 Kings Hwy, Goose Rocks Beach, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-7262 (Formerly Tides Inn By-The-Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tides Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stellar ocean views of one of the Northeast's most gorgeous beaches, The Tides Beach Club offers a high-end yet casual beach style resort with terrific dining, an vibrant cocktail bar and exceptional beach amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Tides Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Beach Club Hotel Kennebunkport
The Tides Beach Club Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing