We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay in Grandma's basement”
Review of Rhumb Line Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rhumb Line Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Rockford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A stay in Grandma's basement”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Rhumb Line Resort during our travels around New England. This was the most expensive stay compared to Vermont and New Hampshire, but definitely the most sparse accommodations. We felt as if we were staying in Grandma's basement, complete with drop ceiling, low flat beds and cheap furniture. A dehumidifier was sitting in the hallway the whole time we were there, yet always full and never emptied. The indoor pool was a bit green and the staff were curt. We asked for more towels (only 2 in the room) and were questioned as to how many people we had staying in the room. The included continental breakfast was basic but fine to start the day, The resort in located a distance from the main town and would require a car to get into town. It's been years since we've stayed in a hotel with an outside access door and that felt a bit strange. There are a lot of accommodations that are more in town, but I'm guessing they are more expensive. Kennebunkport is expensive and crowded, if this resort is the least expensive option than it is worth staying there, but definitely check out your options closer to town. A trolley does stop at 15 minutes after each hour but is $15.00 per person. We had a rental car so we didn't use this service. You can not walk to the beach from this location.

Room Tip: They show rooms that appear renovated on their website, you may want to ask for a room on the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bullseye1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    81
    49
    39
    27
See reviews for
124
94
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

If you're looking for a quiet little romantic retreat, this may not be your place. However, if you are bringing your children to Kennebunk for a family vacation or hooking up with family or friends for a wonderful place to make memories, you need to be here. What can I say: Indoor pool and hot tub. Outdoor pool and hot tub: Outdoor bar and restaurant which seems more like a family gathering than a commercial establishment. The value is outstanding and no matter what the noise outside, the rooms are quiet. It's clean and wonderful. Parking is abundant and for $5 a day you can get a pass for Kennebunk beach. You may not be able to walk to everything, but you can drive. I just can't say enough about it. If you are planning a family reunion or a gathering I would recommend this place above any other in New England. Oh, and lest I forget, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean with great water pressure and the TV channels were abundant for those less social. As Frasier Crane once said, "the only thing better than perfect, is almost perfect with one little flaw you can pick at all day". Breakfast is included but sparse... There are a million places to find great breakfast though and that shouldn't deter anyone at all. Also, the staff is amazing!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the bottom floor if you want to party. Ask for the top floor if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe_the_wonder_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBull, Owner at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate us. We have had many happy guests this summer, many of whom came back and see us annually. I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

On the plus side. This resort is low key and family friendly. This is our 5th time staying at this resort.
Although its not too close to town it is easily bikable, making dealing with the parking mess downtown manageable. The roads are narrow enroute so take care in biking, its a stunning bike ride along the shore and not to be missed. The jacuzzi is enourmous and on the private side and very enjoyable. Also the admirals dinner at the pool bar is not to be missed. Its a good value and convenient and very tasty. The breakfast included in the stay is above average for a "free" continental breakfast. We love the green open space surrounding the pool and picnic tables available to play family card games as well as space to throw a frisbee or play bocce or ring toss that we always bring along with us. Its a great vibe and atmosphere folks.

On the needs improvement side: The wifi was weak or not readable if your room is located on the lower, back part of the resort where we were this time. Also a fair amount of rooms could do with some tlc paint jobs on the trim around outside doors and the like. Lastly in the past, the main (and very nice large pool) was heated significantly higher than our recent stay. Several of the guests we talked with felt as we did, it was a bit on the cold side. To be fair we didn't bring it to mgmts attention.

Regarding down town. The pottery shop on the second floor, sort of across ben and jerrys has amazingly unique coffee and tea mugs and we get a new one each time we come here. Also the coffee shop next to the candy store makes incredible coffee. Instead of high price restaurants for lunch, we often go to the fish store next to Mable's, just outside of town and get amazing lobster rolls at fair prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBull, Owner at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're happy you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we realize that some of our trim needs painting and much of it was done during the spring. However, the rain hindered us from completing it all. We will take it up again this fall during the slower season. I'm sorry the sleep quality was not to your liking. It's one of the compliments we get most often, "We had a great night's sleep", or "comfortable beds". We will look into your room number and evaluate. We listen and act on all comments, so thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Loved staying here this past weekend. Kate at the front desk was incredible helpful in finding and reserving dinner plans, and our room was clean and spacious. The internet didn't work in our room but they have a computer in the lobby, and we loved being so close to the ocean without being stuck in the town traffic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickledapologies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The Rhumb Line is a throwback to the 1950's style resort, and outwardly nothing much has changed since then. It is definitely not Marriott quality, but it does have a rustic charm that we came to enjoy. The facilities and rooms are clean,and the beds were particularly comfortable. Sleeping was excellent with the cool Maine air. The outdoor area caters to families with its large pool, open air eating (the food was very good and you cant beat the convenience) and friendly bar, as well as whiffle ball, bean bag games, and plenty of room to play Red Rover. There is also an indoor pool and workout room for those so inclined. While the resort is a little isolated from town, it is only a short five minute ride to the village with it myriad of restaurants and shops. The 'Trolley' tour which picks up and drops off at the Rhumb Line is a bit over priced (be sure to ask about family rates and/or senior discounts), and acts too much like an ad agency for the local businesses, still it was a worthwhile way to hear of the history and to get your bearings, as it circles the entire Kennebunkport/Kennebunk area. The staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. We had a few minor problems that were addressed quickly. It was apparent that they all wanted to make our stay pleasant and to that end it was 'mission accomplished'!

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Speddaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay for the price. There was free Internet and free parking. Lack of an elevator was a problem with luggage because we were on the third floor. Ask for the newer rooms when checking in, the older ones are very dated. The best thing about the resort was the lobster bake. It was so tasty and reasonably priced. The young men working the bake and the bartender were outstanding. They even grilled our lobster after they steamed it. It is a very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binny04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leland, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Rhumb Line on our first visit to Kennebunkport, ME. Although it is a little bit out of town, it was very easy to find our way to town and several good restaurants recommended by Katie. From our first contact with Katie we knew we had found our own personal concierge who happily picked up the phone and made reservations for 2 dinners and the whale watching cruise. She also made sure that the restaurants could accommodate my need for gluten-free food. She was very funny and very engaging even when others needed her attention. We did eat one night at the pool restaurant, which was also very good-I had steamers and my husband had a burger. The only negative was the lack of cell phone service and spotty internet access. But they do provide and outgoing 800# for any calls you may need to make.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenreichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
199 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
498 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhumb Line Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhumb Line Resort

Property: Rhumb Line Resort
Address: 41 Turbats Creek Rd, Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6502
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rhumb Line Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Affordable Resort and only resort with indoor & outdoor heated pools, hot tubs and fitness center. Deluxe accommodations in a quiet wooded setting, short walk to ocean. On Ocean Ave, 1 mile to Walker's Point. Rooms with 2 queens or 1 king, AC/Heat, CCTV, mini fridge, coffee maker, deck or patio. Rooms include Continental Breakfast. On the Trolley Route. Kids 16 & Under Stay Free. Groups Welcome. Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rhumb Line Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhumb Line Hotel Kennebunkport
Rhumb Line Resort Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing