We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
Review of Rhumb Line Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rhumb Line Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Minneapolis, Mn
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for a family reunion. Bush home is a mile down the road. clean room. was a little outdated, old. the room door had to be pushed shut good or it wouldn't stay closed. staff was very nice and accommodating. breakfast was good - nothing warm. we ate at the restaurant and the food was very good. Lobster was fantastic! Meeting room was great for reunions. Indoor pool had too much chlorine. It hurt eyes. Outdoor pool was good. We would stay here again. Trolley stop at the front of the hotel was fun. Little tour + getting into town for shops, restaurants.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room. no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibm600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    78
    48
    38
    24
See reviews for
119
92
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The good: clean room and comfortable bed, clean looking outdoor pool. Restaurant was low key and friendly. The not-so-good: a bit down in the heels, room door had to be shoved closed. The indoor pool area was so suffocating I couldn't stand to walk through it let alone use it. The free breakfast was laughably bad. I understand why families would stay there, but not much to offer couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBull, Manager at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for the "good" comments. I know what you mean about the indoor pool. When the humidity is high outside, it makes the pool area seem even more humid. We keep the indoor pool at 82 degrees year round mostly for the swimmers sake. We serve a continental breakfast with yogurts, fruit salad, breads, etc. Many people who like to have a hot breakfast will go to one of the local breakfast restaurants. We will look into the door issue. Thanks for taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
395 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

At the Admirals Table Restaurant you can get great value meals, especially for families. Menu is limited, but Hot Dogs for $3! Grilled Cheese sandwich $3! Quiet little outdoor restaurant and bar, cooking done on the grill by the seating area. Maine Lobster dinners with appetizer and dessert for $30, unbeatable prices. I live around the corner, so did not stay here, cannot comment on rooms. Except to say, that it looks as if all rooms have balconies overlooking the pool. Motel is tucked behind a tiny stone church off Turbatts Creek Road. Close to beaches.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBull, Owner at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Admiral's Table. We hope you share with friends and we hope you come back to see us again. If you didn't try our "fresh" fries, you may want to the next time. We've heard they are the best in the Port.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Melanie and all the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and just plain great..The beds were very comfortable, the pools and hot tub very clean and maintained..indoor pool area too warm..maybe somehow get fans in there but everything else just AWESOME..breakfast in the morning came with the room rate and everything was fresh and delicious..Next time going to come later in June to have the restaurant and bar area open as I have heard the food there is great..Thank you to the entire staff..The resort is very clean and is a hidden jewel ..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irene1040x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBull, Owner at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, Melony is a gem as is the rest of my staff. Our Admiral's Table is open and running strong.

We actually keep the indoor pool warm for the swimmers after their swim. It stays at about 82 degrees year round.

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. It is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly. The pools were very spacious and well taken care of. The Admirals Table was outstanding the clam chowder was amazing. The prices were affordable. When we were here we were very happy at this resort, Kate at the front desk was very very friendly. And it's only 5 minutes away from George W. Bush. Next to their house is a good beach to pick out shells which was fun for us. Other than that it was a great place to relax while the kids are in the pool! The rooms are very nice. There was a tv that worked very well. The maids were very nice by keeping the beds nice and clean. The beds were really comfortable it was like heaven. The kids were very excited to come here. We can't wait to come again!!! (written by my 11 year old)

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KingSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBull, Owner at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are so happy that you all enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

There were many choices, and because of past reviews, decided to choose this hotel. Very happy we did. It was very clean, and it was a beautiful property. The front desk was extremely helpful with restaurant choices and reservations. It was also in a great location, not walking distance but a very short drive.

Room Tip: We had a room across from pool on ground floor. Next time I would ask for the second floor, as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Me and my husband have found this place by accident about 6 years ago. We ve been coming here with our two kids since then every may. Its a quiet place away from all the main area. The rooms are clean and spacious, the balcony is a nice add on. Their breakfast is good even when its slow all the stuff is still out. Their pools are clean and nice, their hot tub outside is cute at night time with all the lightsaround it. We ll be coming back this may . Would recommend it to anyone who likes to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBull, Owner at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We love to hear from our return guests. Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. See you next month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.2 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.4 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhumb Line Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhumb Line Resort

Property: Rhumb Line Resort
Address: 41 Turbats Creek Rd, Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6502
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rhumb Line Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Affordable Resort and only resort with indoor & outdoor heated pools, hot tubs and fitness center. Deluxe accommodations in a quiet wooded setting, short walk to ocean. On Ocean Ave, 1 mile to Walker's Point. Rooms with 2 queens or 1 king, AC/Heat, CCTV, mini fridge, coffee maker, deck or patio. Rooms include Continental Breakfast. On the Trolley Route. Kids 16 & Under Stay Free. Groups Welcome. Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Rhumb Line Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhumb Line Hotel Kennebunkport
Rhumb Line Resort Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing