We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rhumb Line Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Nonantum Resort(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King's Port Inn(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
US$185
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa(Kennebunk)
US$351
US$317
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kennebunkport Inn(Kennebunkport)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tides Beach Club(Kennebunkport)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colony Hotel(Kennebunkport)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
77
85
53
41
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
85
53
41
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadmirals tablepools and hot tubscontinental breakfastfrench toast stickslobster bakeenglish muffinsbeds were comfortablebit datedyogurtoff seasonpool sidefire pitkennebunkport areaget awaynew englandtowncorn
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

First off check in was seamless. We shared a two bedroom suite with our daughter, son in law, and 16 month old grandson. The rooms were clean, neat, and comfortable. The hotel was laid out nicely. The pools and hot tubs were awesome and clean. The continental breakfast was very good and was held in a large room overlooking the pool. We wanted for nothing. I highly recommend the Rhumb Line resort to anybody visiting that part of southern Maine. It is a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dcquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We've been going to the Rhumb Line for a few decades now and have consistently found it a nice casual family place with great amenities. Rooms are a good size, comfortable and clean. Food and drinks at the poolside restaurant are very good. Great for families with kids, but now that our kids are grown we still enjoy it and find it's a good value. Thanks to Katie at the front desk for bring so attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZanneStA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I happened upon the Rhumb Line, on an impromptu trip to Kennebunkport.
The service was great, and the rooms were very clean and comfortable...and the price was right. We were delighted when we arrived, to find the staff so helpful and the beds so comfortable. We will return again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbletown420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Family friends and I decided to stay at the Rhumb Line last weekend, because we were attending a charity event being held there. We had a wonderful experience during our stay. The staff did a great job anticipating our needs and making us feel welcomed. Our room faced a large courtyard area, which I loved because it provided easy access to the pool and the Admiral Table (an outdoor restaurant/bar). As for a place to host an event The Rhumb Line exceeded my expectations. The lay out of the resort created the perfect environment for the rather large fundraising event. There was plenty of room for the large “party tent” and the Admiral Table bartenders handled the large crowd very well. I definitely plan on staying at the Rhumb Line again!! And would highly recommend it to anyone planning on staying in area!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front are quieter, but I prefer the easy access to pool and restaurant
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This will be a fairly long review, but hang in there, we've got pictures!

We stayed the last week in July for 2 nights, 3 days. We booked through a daily deal site, and its a crapshoot we've found, usually you know you'll get the worst room in the place, however this one specifically said the room was 'updated' and 'remodeled' last year. HA! We've had some great hotels in the area using deal sites (Juniper Hills, Inn by the Sea) and for the ones we like, we have gone back many times. Unfortunately we will not be returning to Rhumbline.

Pulling up, the grounds are very nice, there is a giant picture window near the entrance that looks in to... stacks of boxes and filing cabinets scattered all over the place. Apparently it is the management office. Not a great first impression.

Check-in went fine, we had a 2nd floor room, we had to drive around to get near the room. We saw two front desk people during our stay, one was ok, the other outright nasty. At one point a room key stopped working in the door, leaving us with a wet 2 year old stuck in the hall. I ran to the front desk to be yelled at because it was slightly bent, then told I was wrong when the card worked in their machine. My other time looking for front desk assistance (we wanted an additional trash bag so we could clean up) nobody was there, at 9:45pm. We wondered around until we found an unlocked housekeeping closed, found a trash bag.

The weather was crappy for half our stay, obviously not the fault of the hotel. the indoor pool was a savior for our child. However it was so humid and warm the air was unbreathable and we could only stay down there for limited time. The outdoor pool looked nicer, and was used when the weather cleared.

After seeing the room (coming soon) and the continental 'breakfast' (soon) we stayed far away from the food for sale at the 'resort. We highly recommend All Day breakfast, Allissons restaurant, and Salt & Honey. Reviews for those coming soon. For our rainy day we made the trip to the portland children's museum, a hit for the 2 year old.

On to the room:

Let me start off by saying 'remodel' and 'renovate' does not mean taking an existing room, throwing a feather bed topper and a flat screen TV and calling it a day. That appears what was done here. We stepped in to the room, which was a decent size. Immediately had to open the windows as the room stank, a very musty, dirty smell. My wife then spent 15 minutes clearing the walls and corners of the 15-20 spiders that were apparently also renting the room that night. (see pictures). We went on the balcony and found a few hundred of those spiders relatives hanging outside (see pics), the balcony may have been recently painted, but rotted wood abounded. It also clearly had not been cleaned in months, if not longer. The door to the balcony, apparently original the the Motels 1970's origin (yes motel, they clearly just built a 3-season hallway to enclose the motel entrance so they could call it a 'hotel') had rotted seals, see the nice picture where the door is fully shut and locked, but light (and bugs) can get through.

The beds were very old and lost any support, even with the feather beds on top they were painful to sleep on. Wifi access was broken 90% of the time and virtually useless (if I hit refresh a dozen times I could get half of cnn.com to load, with no pictures, who needs those?). Bathroom had slow draining sink, shower was very old and not very clean (notice a theme?).

In the morning I went down to get some 'continental' breakfast for the little one and wife. Down in the basement I found: coffee (ok), three types of cereal in unmarked tupperware, a plate of pastry that looked like it came from a vending machine, bagel/toast (the only thing we dared ourselves to ear), a bowl of canned fruit in heavy syrup, a bowl of hard-boiled eggs (really??), and a microwave where we were instructed to cook frozen pancakes?!?!?! What a high class place. All Day breakfast it was.

Please take a look at the pictures, only a few of the many we took, and keep this little tidbit in mind. Our first night we were flipping through the tv and found 'Hotel Hell' with Gordon Ramsey. Not only would this place be a great candidate (do we get a referral fee?), we actually both commented we'd have rather been at the hotel on the tv (before the changes) than Rhumb Line Resort.

Note: we did not take these concerns to the hotel staff for several reasons. They had already been extremely rude to us (even yelling when their door key failed), we had prepaid through a deal site (though it was certainly not cheap, checking prices while in town we paid about the going rate for a nice hotel on the waterfront), and we were able to see several other rooms as housekeeping was working on them (we also got to hear how much they hate the guests, how dirty they are, how they hate their managers, etc), they all looked similar, and talking to other hotel guests this was not a single room issue, but a 'resort' wide neglect problem.

Please keep in mind before spending hard earned vacation time on tourist traps like this. It takes a lot to get me to leave a negative review, but Rhumb Line resort certainly, in our opinion, qualifies.

Room Tip: Try down the street at a nicer place.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank dooley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews