We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Rhumb Line Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rhumb Line Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed for two nights. Michelle at the front desk during the day was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms do need some updating but were very clean, large and comfortable. The continental breakfast was adequate. Yogurt and fruit would have been a nice addition. Our last morning we met Mrs. Barbara Bush in the lobby. Made our day! This is a great location for families with children.

Room Tip: The hotel only has two floors. We were on the upper floor and it was very quiet and very easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC4867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    77
    48
    38
    24
See reviews for
119
91
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My mother and I take a vacation together in the summer. Rhumb Line Resort was the perfect place to relax and have fun. The layout of the Resort is nice, beautiful pools, indoor and outdoor as well as the 2 hot tubs very clean temperature just right. We loved the family style eating area, the food was great cooked on an outside grill, staff very friendly, it was nice to stay there and have a burger/steak and enjoy the pools. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was nice and welcoming. It was also convenient to catch the trolley to town right from the Resort so we didn't worry about parking. We think next time we will bring our husbands and other family members!

Room Tip: There are two floors, we stayed on the ground level, it was nice to just walk out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My father,a hotel industry executive, first discovered the Rhumb Line 25 years ago. He recognized the Rhumb Line as a classic,unpretentious Maine gem. Not surprisingly,my family has been coming to the Rhumb Line ever since. This is not unusual at the Rhumb Line;many guests at the Rhumb Line have been longstanding visitors. In fact, "How many years have YOU been coming?" is a common question in the breakfast room. That being said, first time visitors are heartily welcomed.
The Rhumb Line is a family-owned business which is manifested in the attention to detail. In typical Maine tradition,the Rhumb Line is not fancy.However,management has clearly provided the amenities that guests are seeking in a family vacation.The rooms are immaculate and spacious, and the bed is particularly comfortable. I also appreciate the mini-frig so that I can bring provisions for the daily beach picnic.The terrace or patio is also a delightful venue for a snack or pre-dinner drinks.
The Rhumb Line offers a choice of pools: a sparkling and delightfully heated outdoor pool which never seems to be crowded, large outdoor hot tub,indoor heated pool, indoor hot tub.The pools provide endless entertainment for all ages in all weather. In fact, we have visited the Rhumb Line in the winter on our way to Maine ski resorts. The indoor pool was a delightful respite from the February freeze.
The Rhumb Line's location is also part of its appeal.It is nestled in a wooded residential area down the street from the Bush estate. When I visit the Rhumb Line,I enjoy walking past jaw-dropping mansions on my way to scenic beach vistas. The hubbub of Dock Square is easily accessible by car or an energetic walk.
You can visit the Kennebunk beaches However,if you prefer a serene beach that is perfect for kite flying,strolling,reading or swimming, you will love Goose Rocks Beach. It is a trip back in time to halcyon summer days. It is picturesque and never crowded (partly because visitors need to purchase a parking pass).
Food--- it's always part of the vacation experience! The room at the Rhumb Line includes a continental breakfast with no additional charge. Guests are happy in the breakfast room! The selection offers something for everyone:muffins,bagels,cereal,fruit, toaster waffles and french toast sticks, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs etc. My favorite is going downstairs at 7 to the plentiful,full-bodied coffee. My father (who has a degree in Hotel and Restaurant Administration) prides himself on recognizing good restaurants.He is an ardent fan of the Admiral's Table, the outdoor restaurant at the Rhumb Line. The Admiral's Table offers poolside dining and beverage service for lunch and dinner.Children prance up to the tables,eagerly seeking ice cream. Their parents are equally happy with the wide selection of beverages.Of course,the Admiral's table serves the traditional Maine lobster feast (chowder,steamers, lobster,corn,strawberry shortcake). My family also adores the fresh-cut fries and the grilled cheese. It is interesting to note that the patrons at the Admiral's Table include locals as well as guests. The locals seem to flock to the Rhumb Line for a cold beer and a juicy,grilled "Rhumb Burger.
The Rhumb Line is a cherished family destination for all ages.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thompson, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

First off check in was seamless. We shared a two bedroom suite with our daughter, son in law, and 16 month old grandson. The rooms were clean, neat, and comfortable. The hotel was laid out nicely. The pools and hot tubs were awesome and clean. The continental breakfast was very good and was held in a large room overlooking the pool. We wanted for nothing. I highly recommend the Rhumb Line resort to anybody visiting that part of southern Maine. It is a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We've been going to the Rhumb Line for a few decades now and have consistently found it a nice casual family place with great amenities. Rooms are a good size, comfortable and clean. Food and drinks at the poolside restaurant are very good. Great for families with kids, but now that our kids are grown we still enjoy it and find it's a good value. Thanks to Katie at the front desk for bring so attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZanneStA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I happened upon the Rhumb Line, on an impromptu trip to Kennebunkport.
The service was great, and the rooms were very clean and comfortable...and the price was right. We were delighted when we arrived, to find the staff so helpful and the beds so comfortable. We will return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbletown420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Family friends and I decided to stay at the Rhumb Line last weekend, because we were attending a charity event being held there. We had a wonderful experience during our stay. The staff did a great job anticipating our needs and making us feel welcomed. Our room faced a large courtyard area, which I loved because it provided easy access to the pool and the Admiral Table (an outdoor restaurant/bar). As for a place to host an event The Rhumb Line exceeded my expectations. The lay out of the resort created the perfect environment for the rather large fundraising event. There was plenty of room for the large “party tent” and the Admiral Table bartenders handled the large crowd very well. I definitely plan on staying at the Rhumb Line again!! And would highly recommend it to anyone planning on staying in area!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front are quieter, but I prefer the easy access to pool and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.2 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.4 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhumb Line Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhumb Line Resort

Property: Rhumb Line Resort
Address: 41 Turbats Creek Rd, Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6502
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rhumb Line Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Affordable Resort and only resort with indoor & outdoor heated pools, hot tubs and fitness center. Deluxe accommodations in a quiet wooded setting, short walk to ocean. On Ocean Ave, 1 mile to Walker's Point. Rooms with 2 queens or 1 king, AC/Heat, CCTV, mini fridge, coffee maker, deck or patio. Rooms include Continental Breakfast. On the Trolley Route. Kids 16 & Under Stay Free. Groups Welcome. Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Rhumb Line Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhumb Line Hotel Kennebunkport
Rhumb Line Resort Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing