We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Same Yachtsman!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Ranked #11 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Yachtsman about 3 times over the past 10 years or so and decided to stay there again on our recent visit to Kennebunkport because we had nice memories of the place. It has definitely changed. The room needs some updates and the staff needs to be trained in customer service, especially when you are paying $300+/night. Granted, the staff was pretty young, but when you ask one of them a question and they ignore you, not once but twice, because they are texting, that is totally unacceptable. We also thought there were way too many dogs in the breakfast area while we were eating. On the bright side, the Yachtsman has great views from the patio and is walking distance to town. Hopefully, the management can bring the property back to life.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

Second time we have stayed here. Great views comfortable rooms with above average fittings. Easy to walk to town and restaurants. Why they don't see the little annoyances is beyond me. Lose toilet seats. Lose faucets, moldings in need of repair and paint. Still a great place and a good value for the area. Will go back next time in area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We are not boaters, ourselves, but, we sure do like to see Yachts! This lovely, very clean motel-like inn and lodge provides beautiful, picturesque patios with the view of lots of boats, ship and yachts right outside each room. There is breakfast on their patio included, as well as tea and cookies in the early afternoon and brandy, cheese & crackers later on. We always stay at the Colony Hotel, but, they graciously recommended this great place when I said .."very clean is a prerequisite" for us. The roos all have king size beds, refrigerators, coffee service and patio doors. It was so nice to sit out our door, sip a cup of coffee, watch the ducks, sea gulls and activity on the ships. Perfect, and for a place that allows dogs...so beautifully kept! The price is not cheap,but, during the summer, if you want a nice place this is about average.

Room Tip: The middle section is probably best...stay away from the ice machine and laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfaiella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Their prices rival those of a W hotel or Ritz Carlton, but this unfortunately is just a glorified motel. The rooms are clean, but have that musty humid motel smell to them. If you have a dog, suck it up and stay here, every room as a patio with direct access to grass. The rooms have a beautiful view and the motel is short walk into town. But if you have the option to stay elsewhere, there are a lot of hotels in the area charging the same price or less for a much higher quality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VACATI0NG0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

the motel was face lifted from many years ago. very nice except for the fact that is is more of a pound for dogs than for people. i was promised a dog free section of the motel and a dog free room which had never housed a dog and was given a room that had barking dogs everywhere i looked. the lady linda who booked my room just happened to have moved back to europe 3 days after i booked my room and was promised a pet free room. i did not realize this place is also owned by the white barn inn owner who is not particularly pleasant. experiences at the white barn inn many many years ago were horrific he also owns other inns and eateries in the area so be careful. the plants on the patio were all dead as a doornail and the early evening in house cocktails were old sweet brandy and port....nothing special except that President Bush houses his boat there so it was nice to see him again. if only the owner and the policies were honest, this could be a wonderful place.

Room Tip: don't believe when they tell you they will give you a pet free room...it is one of the only plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voovoomel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We travel to Maine twice a year and always have our Golden Retriever(s) with us. We have been coming to this area for many years now. The Yachtsman is incredibly clean and the rooms are beautiful; right on the Kennebunk River. Each room has a little covered patio in which to sit and watch the fishing boats/yachts go by. The rooms are equipped with a small fridge, coffee maker, tv and a great bed with wonderful bedding. Each morning there is a continental breakfast and there's afternoon tea. You are within walking distance to Dock Square and all the great restaurants and shopping. The staff is very accomodating and friendly. I cannot stress enough how pet friendly this place is. President HW Bush keeps his fishing boat right there at the marina. We have seen him several times and is very friendly.If you are a biker or runner you will not be disappointed staying in this area. Being a guest of the Yachtsman, you can also use the fitness center at The Breakwater Inn just down the road, again within walking distance. For us, and since we bring our pets with us on all our travels, this place is #1.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAINE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here and the location was lovely. You are right at the marina and yacht club. We even saw Secret Service boats docked outside of our room. There was a nice grassy area and a lovely porch with comfortable chairs to sit out on. We were greeted by ducks in the evening right on the water outside of our door, The bed was comfortable though the room was small, Our television was an older model and there was no remote for it. This was a pain because you had to walk over to the tv every time you wanted to change the station and lower the volume. This was particularly inconvenient at night while in bed. The amenities in the room were of good quality and it was very peaceful. We would stay again but wish the management would invest in some universal remotes that cost about 5.00 a piece at Rite Aid. The hotel offered a tea in the afternoon and a continental breakfast in the morning all included in your room price. You had parking right at your door and no one over your head. The hotel also seems to cater to adults and their pets so it was quiet and serene with no children screaming and running around. The room was very clean.

Room Tip: Hotel is very pet friendly. They have dog beds and dishes and your pet is given a toy and sailboat d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelleranddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#13 of 25 in Kennebunkport
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yachtsman Lodge & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yachtsman Lodge & Marina

Address: 59 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6146
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: £85 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yachtsman Lodge & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yachtsman Lodge & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachtsman Lodge And Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina Hotel Kennebunkport
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing