We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly restaurant”

Mabel's Lobster Claw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are a family owned seafood restaurant opened 11:30am to 9pm!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

had lobster here on our first day of vacation. delicious. very friendly wait staff. simple restaurant and good food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank susieQusieTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    328
    164
    37
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious little hole in the wall restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

On our first night in Maine we wanted to eat lobster, of course. The little restaurant was just delicious. Our waiter was wonderful, knowledgable and very friendly. The food was great and plentiful. If we ever make it back to Kennebunkport we'll eat there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rabbijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new england
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit over-rated”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Mabels has a lot of history for the area and yes, it serves all types of seafood. My husband ordered the fried clams....although there was a heap on the plate, there were maybe 5 full clams and the rest was fried pieces. I had a crab roll, it was fine but not very flavorful. It is a bit expensive and I am sure there are many, less famous places, that serve better food for the same or a lower price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was taken to Mabel's by my family on Mother's Day. We arrived late in the afternoon and were quickly seated. We all ordered sea food and it was delicious! Service was superb especially in view of the special day.

It was so good that a friend and I returned soon thereafter. She had never been there and I'd raved about it. On this return visit, he food was less than mediocre and the service was equal to the meal. I was embarrassed because I had raved about Mabel's (we are local residents) and this was a disappointment.

Neither of us has been back to Mabel's nor have we recommended it to others. Too bad the service and food quality vary so much. FYI - parking can be a challenge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DownEastWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
707 reviews
437 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“The Bush's favorite local restaurant, can get expensive”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We heard great things about this place so we dropped by for dinner on our way farther up into Maine. This is an old restaurant with the traditional wood paneling and pictures hung throughout the restaurant, some of the Bush's whose compound Walkers Point is a short drive away. The food was good, but not as great as so many had led us to believe.

Tip: If you get the Lobster Savannah split it and have the other person get another item. It is very heavy and better shared! Also get a side of the lobster mac, that was our favorite item.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXMARTINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mabel's Lobster Claw also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Mabel's Lobster Claw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing