We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing restaurant!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Cape Arundel Inn

Ocean Cape Arundel Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Cape Arundel Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the heart of this mostly residential enclave, in a converted circa-1895 Shingle Style house, sits Ocean. Though the Inn has existed in one permutation or another since the 1950s, and it has long held a reputation for well-appointed lodgings and fine dining. The Innkeepers have filled the building with a striking art collection that could make small New England museums envious, while Chef Gignac uses the dining room—with its awe-inspiring views—as a canvas upon which to create epicurean masterpieces. Pierre Gignac graduated from the Institut d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme du Québec. Pierre chose to open his first restaurant in Ogunquit, Maine “98 Provence," which pleased locals, tourists and critics for 18 years, until it closed in 2012.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

LOVE this restaurant!! We started with drinks on the porch, and were given warmed fleece blankets to stay warm. The staff were warm and friendly throughout the evening.
The meal was exceptional. The best salmon I have ever tasted. I will say that the vegetarian dish my partner had was good, although simple and not really special. Everything else was incredible.
We would go back to Ocean in a second! Thank you for a memorable evening!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillkc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
I LOVE your enthusiasm! I'm so happy you had a memorable time. It's comments like this that keep us trying our best to surprise and delight our guests with exceptional food and warm hospitality.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    62
    29
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Neighbors Like It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We, a party of six, had a very enjoyable evening at the Ocean Restaurant located in the Cape Arundel Inn. The location is fantastic. We arrived just after sunset and missed the chance for some magnificent sunset views over the Atlantic. I encourage you to plan your visit better than we did, so that you can enjoy a nice sunset cocktail on the porch overlooking the ocean.

The service was attentive and helpful. I read earlier reviews complaining about immature or unprofessional service. We observed nothing at all like that. Our server was very professional and helpful. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and his recommendations were well thought out.

The quality of the food was very good, if not spectacular. Several of us had a beef combination plate - short ribs and a small strip of wagyu beef. Others enjoyed a couple of different fish dishes. The halibut and salmon got very good comments. Interestingly, I don't think anybody tried lobster that night. After 3 days in Maine, we were ready for alternatives.

I've always felt that the presence of "locals" in a resort area restaurant is an indicator that the food will be reliable. We couldn't help but notice the presence of a couple who live just down the street, on Walker Point. If the place is good enough to attract our 41st President and his lovely wife, it certainly passes the "locals" test.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TCYVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
I'm so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable evening. Thank you for your compliments, we promise to continue to deliver the high quality food and service you expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Salmon I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We ate at Ocean Restaurant two nights, September 25 and 25. Both meals were delicious and the service was very attentive. The view from the restaurant is beautiful - make your reservation early enough to enjoy the view before it get dark.

I have dietary restrictions (gluten free and no salt), and they were very accommodating about meeting my needs.

I had the butter lettuce salad (delicious) and the poached salmon. The salmon was the best that I have ever tasted - and I have eaten salmon in Seattle and Alaska, where you can get the best. The sauce on the salmon was delicate and enhanced the flavor perfectly. My mouth is watering right now just thinking about it.

In all, it was a very romantic, relaxed dinner with excellent food. I wish we lived in the area so we could go back often!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank knoemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We are very grateful for this review. We also wish you could live closer! We have made the salmon entree one of our signature dish, so, next time you visit us you will be able to sample it again.
The team at Ocean extends its gratitude, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place for a Cocktail”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Visited Kennebunkport in late August and had made reservations here one evening during our stay. We arrived 45 minutes early because it was a full moon that evening and we wanted to watch it rise over the Atlantic. The view from the porch was spectacular! Problems started when it seemed like the hostess (a little ditsy) had forgotten we were there. Only when we approached the hostess stand did she take the time to seat us which was at least 15 minutes past our reservation time. Upon entering the dining room there were 2 tables for 2 open by the front window, but we were told these weren't for us. Why? Good question. We were told it was someone's 60th anniversary. So, they require both tables? As it turned out, the couples that sat there were nowhere near their 60 anniversary. Irritating to say the least. The food was average at best. I had the Lobster Ratatouille...what a terrible thing to do to lobster...it was horrible. My girlfriend had the Fisherman Stew which was bland...another disaster. Our recommendation? Have a cocktail on the deck, but eat somewhere else. Oh, one more thing. Our last night there we went to the Pilot House, a local hangout which offers twin steamed lobsters for $21.95...nothing fancy, but sometimes simple is the best. Anyway, we met a local couple who told us the chef that had been at Ocean left to open his own restaurant...need I say more?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. We are very sorry that you felt forgotten on the porch. Our goal is to let our customers enjoy their time, at their own pace, until they are ready to join us for their reservation. All of our tables at Ocean have an extraordinary view of the water, a few are by the windows and we always try to accomodate our guests as much as possible. We are also very sorry that you did not enjoy your food, the lobster and the fisherman's stew were two of our most popular entrees that received great reviews over the summer.
Hopefully you will be able to join us again for the fall menu. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Second visit even better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The beet salad a must, followed by a work of art that will melt in your mouth...lobster( in monks pocket). The view overlooking the ocean only enhances the whole experience..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Ocean. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the food, especially a second time around! The Chef strives to give our clientele a consistent experience of exellence everytime they join us for dinner.
From the whole team at Ocean, we would like to thank you and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Cape Arundel Inn also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Ocean Cape Arundel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing