We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but eh”

Ocean Cape Arundel Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Cape Arundel Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: If you’ve ever dined on a luxury ocean liner, you know: Water all around piques your appetite, invites you to slow down and enthralls throughout a meal like no other show on earth. And if you haven’t, that experience awaits at the Cape Arundel Inn & Resort’s glass-walled, waterfront, fine dining restaurant: Ocean. Memorable evenings at Ocean begin with cocktails, like our Maine maple syrup-sweetened Amber Sky, on the inn’s relaxing front porch or at the bar. Continue your culinary journey in the dining room, where every table has a view of the frothy blue sea. Chef Pierre Gignac’s creative menus change with the seasons, showcasing not only Maine-caught seafood in signature dishes like Lobster Thermidor, but the best of what is grown, raised and produced locally. His eye-pleasing creations take inspiration, too, from across the Atlantic. Expect the familiar flavors of southern France and the Mediterranean with intriguing new twists, plus an international selection of wines.
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice, but eh”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As much as the place is fancy and it sits on a gorgeous location, the service was friendly, we just weren't awed by the whole experience. We made dinner reservations for 8, showed up 5 minutes early, had drinks with some tapas, and somehow still waited over 25 minutes for the dinner to come. Even though the restaurant did apologize for the wait and gave us complementary dessert for the trouble, it was unfortunate that we didn't eat until 9:20.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiwiluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drock69, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It's unfortunate to hear that your meal wasn't presented to you in a timely manner. We would like to get you back at Ocean to make it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    65
    29
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Chef Table”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The concept of the chef table on friday night is an excellent idea.
Prix fixe menu. Family style dining. Also a great way to meet new people.
Food was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skippounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drock69, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for the compliments. Pierre's table is a unique dining experience. He puts a lot of personal touch in to it. We will be continuing with chef table every Friday night till end of May. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
171 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“beautiful views.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Sometimes pretentious, tasty food. Staff are efficient. Creative menu. Make reservations, and ask for a seat by the windows for the best views.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank drsharonleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drock69, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for the great feedback. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fine Mediterranean Cuisine”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

After 18 years at 98 Provence in Ogunquit, Chef Pierre Gignac has opened a new Mediterranean cuisine restaurant, at Cape Arundel Inn. Some of his excellent staff followed him to Ocean. The night we were there, a huge full moon rose over the sea, adding a breathtaking view to a fabulous meal. We started with the “sea scallops, apple butter meunière with chestnut gnocchi and mustard”. This dish was the hit of our evening. Its balance of flavors was just perfect. Our other appetizer was “roasted red beets, pickled gold beets, watercress, Mitica goat cheese and french walnut oil”. Roasted and pickled beet salads are all the rage in New England restaurants, this season, it seems, and the “Ocean” version was the lightest and tastiest we had, anywhere. For the main course, we both ordered the “lobster “Aumônière”, root vegetables and mushroom fondue in a red wine lobster sauce”, a very creative, fusion dish. Half of the lobster tail was left in its shell and had been seared on one side, while a large lobster “wrap” in an egg roll type of pastry, completed the dish. The red wine sauce was a truly inventive touch, here. The entire dish was delicious, the lobster moist and tasty, though we would have liked to get the second half of the lobster tail (some of which had probably ended up in the “wrap”, anyway). The restaurant's wine list is interesting but overpriced. This said, our meal and the entire experience at Ocean was one of the finest we had on this trip to the coast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coconut grove
Level Contributor
124 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very fine dining”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Enjoyed the view and excellent service. Good quality and creative food, good service, beautiful location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 33map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice M, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We at Ocean appreciate your review. For someone as traveled as yourself, it is affirming to hear that you enjoyed the food and service. The view is universally enjoyable.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Cape Arundel Inn also viewed

 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Ocean Cape Arundel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing