We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Ocean Cape Arundel Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Cape Arundel Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: If you’ve ever dined on a luxury ocean liner, you know: Water all around piques your appetite, invites you to slow down and enthralls throughout a meal like no other show on earth. And if you haven’t, that experience awaits at the Cape Arundel Inn & Resort’s glass-walled, waterfront, fine dining restaurant: Ocean. Memorable evenings at Ocean begin with cocktails, like our Maine maple syrup-sweetened Amber Sky, on the inn’s relaxing front porch or at the bar. Continue your culinary journey in the dining room, where every table has a view of the frothy blue sea. Chef Pierre Gignac’s creative menus change with the seasons, showcasing not only Maine-caught seafood in signature dishes like Lobster Thermidor, but the best of what is grown, raised and produced locally. His eye-pleasing creations take inspiration, too, from across the Atlantic. Expect the familiar flavors of southern France and the Mediterranean with intriguing new twists, plus an international selection of wines.
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great location, wonderful service, great food - highly recommended! This was a 50th birthday dinner and was a wonderful experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank arfur64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drock69, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We are very pleased to hear, that we could make your Birthday celebration very special. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

As much as the place is fancy and it sits on a gorgeous location, the service was friendly, we just weren't awed by the whole experience. We made dinner reservations for 8, showed up 5 minutes early, had drinks with some tapas, and somehow still waited over 25 minutes for the dinner to come. Even though the restaurant did apologize for the wait and gave us complementary dessert for the trouble, it was unfortunate that we didn't eat until 9:20.

Thank kiwiluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drock69, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. It's unfortunate to hear that your meal wasn't presented to you in a timely manner. We would like to get you back at Ocean to make it right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The concept of the chef table on friday night is an excellent idea.
Prix fixe menu. Family style dining. Also a great way to meet new people.
Food was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Skippounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drock69, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for the compliments. Pierre's table is a unique dining experience. He puts a lot of personal touch in to it. We will be continuing with chef table every Friday night till end of May. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Sometimes pretentious, tasty food. Staff are efficient. Creative menu. Make reservations, and ask for a seat by the windows for the best views.

Thank drsharonleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drock69, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thanks for the great feedback. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

After 18 years at 98 Provence in Ogunquit, Chef Pierre Gignac has opened a new Mediterranean cuisine restaurant, at Cape Arundel Inn. Some of his excellent staff followed him to Ocean. The night we were there, a huge full moon rose over the sea, adding a breathtaking view to a fabulous meal. We started with the “sea scallops, apple butter meunière with chestnut gnocchi and mustard”. This dish was the hit of our evening. Its balance of flavors was just perfect. Our other appetizer was “roasted red beets, pickled gold beets, watercress, Mitica goat cheese and french walnut oil”. Roasted and pickled beet salads are all the rage in New England restaurants, this season, it seems, and the “Ocean” version was the lightest and tastiest we had, anywhere. For the main course, we both ordered the “lobster “Aumônière”, root vegetables and mushroom fondue in a red wine lobster sauce”, a very creative, fusion dish. Half of the lobster tail was left in its shell and had been seared on one side, while a large lobster “wrap” in an egg roll type of pastry, completed the dish. The red wine sauce was a truly inventive touch, here. The entire dish was delicious, the lobster moist and tasty, though we would have liked to get the second half of the lobster tail (some of which had probably ended up in the “wrap”, anyway). The restaurant's wine list is interesting but overpriced. This said, our meal and the entire experience at Ocean was one of the finest we had on this trip to the coast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Cape Arundel Inn also viewed

 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Ocean Cape Arundel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing